[der8auer] Per CCX overclocking - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[der8auer] Per CCX overclocking

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-17-2019, 04:27 PM
⤷ αC
 
AlphaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 11,039
Rep: 897 (Unique: 589)
Better yet it is something that should be in the microcode. Why isn't it choosing the best cores to boost on I have no clue.

Quote: Originally Posted by Unoid View Post
I just tried 4.3 all 8 cores of 3800x at 1.35v all via ryzen master manual and it crashed on cinebench. I don't have much faith i'll get one ccx to 4.4-4.5ghz and the other ccx at 4.2 at 1.4v
It's still not a fully tested theory.

People are suggesting that AMD went ARM style with big.LITTLE where some cores are high performance and the others are low power. I think it's more that there's variance between chips such that you are held back by your weakest cores when manual overclocking (similar to Zen+). It's exacerbated on R9 3900X because you have 4 CCX (3 cores per CCX) whereas it's likely most if not all Ryzen 7 chips are 2x CCX and Ryzen 5 has no reason to be 2 CCDs or more than 2 CCX.


It's way too early to draw definitive conclusions when PBO is still pretty much broken across vendors.

► Recommended GPU Projects: [email protected] , [email protected] (FP64) (AMD moreso) ► Other notable GPU projects: [email protected] (Nvidia), GPUGrid (Nvidia) ► Project list


AlphaC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-17-2019, 04:41 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Reikoji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 891
Rep: 46 (Unique: 21)
FYI, Ryzen master does this.

Don't forget to ground yourself smile.gif

Reikoji is offline  
post #13 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-17-2019, 06:09 PM
Ryzen Overclocker
 
Ph42oN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 132
Rep: 5 (Unique: 4)
Anyone tested this on 3700x or 3600? Would be nice to see how other chips are doing with that.

Would be also nice if this was possible on older ryzens, i think my 1600x would do 4.2-4.3ghz on 1 ccx if it was possible.

RyzenAsus
(14 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard
Asus Prime X370-Pro
GPU
Asus RX 480 Dual 4GB
RAM
G.Skill Flare X 3200 CL14
Hard Drive
WD10EZEX
Hard Drive
ST3000DM008
Power Supply
XFX 550w
Cooling
chinese water pump
Cooling
Heatkiller IV
Cooling
Barrow Dabel-60a 360
Case
Cooler Master n300
Keyboard
Logitech G810
Mouse
CM Storm Xornet II
Mousepad
Blackstorm Iced
▲ hide details ▲
Ph42oN is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-17-2019, 06:50 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
gerardfraser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 644
Rep: 81 (Unique: 61)
Quote: Originally Posted by Ph42oN View Post
Anyone tested this on 3700x or 3600? Would be nice to see how other chips are doing with that.

Would be also nice if this was possible on older ryzens, i think my 1600x would do 4.2-4.3ghz on 1 ccx if it was possible.
I been using Ryzen Master ,because I like it better.
I was only showing 25Mhz over Max Boost on the box but works great.

3600X -5 CCX @ 4425Mhz with CPU 1.325v
https://www.overclock.net/forum/10-a...6-4200mhz.html

3600X-3 CCX @ 4425Mhz with CPU 1.4v
https://www.overclock.net/forum/10-a...er-gamers.html
gerardfraser is offline  
post #15 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-17-2019, 11:03 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: FIN
Posts: 145
Rep: 7 (Unique: 5)
Quote: Originally Posted by ShrimpBrime View Post
BECAUSE IT'S AMAZING BRO!!!
Spoiler!


Now I'm excited for the 3950X. If a good 3900X chip can do 4.5 GHz. Probably only the bench stable?

Miiksu is offline  
post #16 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-17-2019, 11:08 PM
Realist
 
chakku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 358
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Using the tool will still make this a manual OC right, aka OC Mode, not allowing SC boosts?

PC
(19 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen R7 3700X
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero (Wi-Fi)
GPU
ASUS ROG Strix GTX 1080 Ti OC
RAM
G.Skill Ripjaws V F4-3200C14D-32GVK
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Pro 512GB NVMe
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
Hard Drive
STOREMI (Intel 730 Series 240GB + Hitachi Ultrastar 7K4000 4TB)
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2
Cooling
Noctua NH D15 SE-AM4
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Evolv X Satin Black
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro 1809 64-bit
Monitor
Dell P2715Q
Monitor
Dell P2715Q
Keyboard
Topre Realforce 87U 55g Uniform (Norbaforce/BT-500 Bluetooth)
Mouse
Logitech G Pro Wireless
Mousepad
Artisan Hayate Kou
Audio
Benchmark DAC2 HGC
Audio
JBL LSR305
Audio
Sennheiser HD6XX
▲ hide details ▲
chakku is offline  
post #17 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-22-2019, 11:03 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Heuchler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,857
Rep: 255 (Unique: 187)
edit: Risk-to-Reward doesn't seem worth trying this tool.


Quote: Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post
In short: Unless you are certain that you are using manual voltage mode (VRM controller, from the bios) do not use the application ("worktool").

It is a CPU killer if the VRM controller is running in offset-mode.

I tried it with the voltage mode set to offset (or "Auto") and setting 4200MHz for CCX0/1 and 4050MHz for CCX2/3 resulted in 1.405V actual Vout during Cinebench R20.

The voltages during the default OC-Mode remain sane, regardless of the VRM controller operating mode.
This hack however causes the voltage governor to go insane.

I have no idea why someone thought it would be a good idea to release this to the public...



1usmus (developer of "DRAM Calculator for Ryzen") in TPU Forum said :

Delete this application and forget about existence, you will kill your processors!This is hacking FIT limits, the last line of protection for the processor

in the offset mode, the VRM controller goes crazy, supplying 1.4 volts to the AVX load, which is very much for this process technology. The FIT contains the maximum voltage for all cores of 1.325 volts, but this does not mean that we will see this voltage in AVX tasks. I strongly do not recommend using this horror.

https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/t.../#post-4085376

Overclocking History (Click to show)
Intel 386DX/16 @ 20 MHz
CX486SLC/50 @ 50 MHz
AM486DX2/80 @ 100 MHz
AM486 DX4-100 @ 120 MHz
AK5x86-P75 [email protected] 160 MHz
Pentium 90 @ 120 Mhz
IBM 6x86L P166+ [email protected] 160 MHz
Celeron 300a @ 454 MHz
Pentium 3 700 @ 933 MHz
Athlon XP 1400+ @ 1600 MHz
Athlon XP 1800+ @ 2088 MHz
Athlon XP 2500+ @ 2200 MHz
Athlon 64 3000+ @ 2603 MHz
Athlon X2 BE2300 @ 1900 MHz
Athlon X2 4200+ @ 2210 MHz
Athlon X2 5000+ @ 2600 MHz
Core 2 Duo E4300 @ 3000 MHz
Core 2 Duo E6750 @ 3600 MHz
Core 2 Duo E8400 @ 4000 MHz
Xeon C2Q L5408 @ 3200 MHz
Xeon C2Q X5450 @ 3300 MHz
Xeon C2Q E5440 @ 3400 MHz
Xeon C2Q E5450 @ 3600 MHz
Phenom2 X4 B50 @ 3700 MHz
Phenom2 X6 1045T @ 4050 MHz
Core i5-2500K Sandy @ 4500 MHz
X5650 6-Core Westmere @ 3982 MHz
AMD FX 8320E Black Edition

FX-8320E @4.5GHz, X5650 @ 4.0GHz, X6 1045T @4.0GHz, i7 [email protected]
Thinkpad T420p with i7-2720QM overclocked because this is OCN

Last edited by Heuchler; 07-23-2019 at 02:04 PM.
Heuchler is offline  
post #18 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-23-2019, 09:20 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
upgraditus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: North Yorkshire
Posts: 174
Rep: 6 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by Ph42oN View Post
Anyone tested this on 3700x or 3600? Would be nice to see how other chips are doing with that.

Would be also nice if this was possible on older ryzens, i think my 1600x would do 4.2-4.3ghz on 1 ccx if it was possible.
I tested quickly 4400 on the ccx with the gold star core but instant reboot even with 1.35v (don't want to input higher) so I'll stick with the stable 4.3 all core @ 1.325v for now.

- Ryzen 7 3700X - Prime X470 Pro - 16GB Crucial BSLT - 1080Ti Amp Extreme - Aerocool Project7 P650 - Fractal Define XL (USB3) -
upgraditus is offline  
post #19 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-23-2019, 02:38 PM
I <3 narcissists
 
bigjdubb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,568
Rep: 219 (Unique: 136)
I'd be interested in seeing some gaming results (the main purpose for the 3700x I'm waiting for). We might actually have a way to overclock and gain performance in gaming. I'll try it out once the feature makes it's way into a bios.


Could this be a reason for getting a 3800x.

Gaming Rig
(12 items)
Couch Gaming Rig
(10 items)
Work rig
(11 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 3700x
Motherboard
Gigabyte X570 Master
GPU
EVGA RTX 2080ti FTW3
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ RGB
Hard Drive
HP EX920 m.2
Hard Drive
Intel SSD6 m.2
Hard Drive
Intel SSD6 m.2
Power Supply
EVGA G3
Cooling
CORSAIR H150I PRO
Case
LianLi PC-O11 Dynamic
Operating System
Win 10 Home
Monitor
LG 32GK650G
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard
Asus x470i
GPU
Radeon VII
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ RGB
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 evo
Power Supply
InWin A1
Cooling
NZXT M22
Case
InWin A1
Operating System
Win10 Home
Monitor
Vizio 4k TV
CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard
Asrock X470 Taichi Ultimate
GPU
GTX 750
RAM
Patriot Viper
Hard Drive
HP EX920 M.2
Power Supply
EVGA G3
Cooling
CORSAIR H150I PRO
Case
NZXT Source 210
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
BenQ PD3200Q
Monitor
LG 32UD59
▲ hide details ▲


bigjdubb is offline  
post #20 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-23-2019, 08:57 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
VPII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 527
Rep: 5 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by Heuchler View Post
edit: Risk-to-Reward doesn't seem worth trying this tool.















1usmus (developer of "DRAM Calculator for Ryzen") in TPU Forum said :



Delete this application and forget about existence, you will kill your processors!This is hacking FIT limits, the last line of protection for the processor



in the offset mode, the VRM controller goes crazy, supplying 1.4 volts to the AVX load, which is very much for this process technology. The FIT contains the maximum voltage for all cores of 1.325 volts, but this does not mean that we will see this voltage in AVX tasks. I strongly do not recommend using this horror.



https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/t.../#post-4085376
I've been using this worktool on my 3600 and now 3900x but I always use a voltage set in the bios. I do not believe in offset voltages. I've also used a multimeter to check the vcore on the probelt and it is exactly what is set in the bios when using llc 5.

I will however try to see how Ryzen Master work just in case.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

AMD
(9 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair VII Hero
GPU
GALAX RTX 2080 TI OC
RAM
G.Skill f4-3200c14d-16gtzr tridentz rgb
Hard Drive
Crucial MX300 M.2 SSD
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200i
Cooling
CoolerMaster MLW-D24M-A20PC-R1 MasterLiquid ML240L 240mm RGB Liquid CPU Cooler
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Dell U2717D 27" UltraSharp InfinityEdge LED Monitor
▲ hide details ▲
VPII is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off