Partial fix for high idle vcore with Steam, iCue, etc - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Partial fix for high idle vcore with Steam, iCue, etc

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 07-19-2019, 05:32 AM - Thread Starter
Triple Screen Enthusiast
 
0S1R1S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 40
Rep: 0
Partial fix for high idle vcore with Steam, iCue, etc

Enable Windows High Performance Power Plan, Set CPU Min/Max states to 1/100. At idle your vcore/clocks should drop. But as soon as you move the mouse or do anything it spikes back up. But this seems to be the only Power Plan that behaves this way at idle when Steam is open. They all behave different than one another even with the same CPU Min/Max states set on some. I posted this to Reddit and a few people said it worked, while other people said their power plans behaved different from what I have described.

I made a quick gif to demonstrate. At the start of the gif, Ryzen High Performance mode is set with CPU State Min/Max 1/100 - the vcore and clocks are fluctuating a bit, like normal. Then I open Steam and iCue. You can see the vcore and clocks max out. A few seconds later I change plans to Windows High Performance 1/100 and the vcore and clocks instantly drop to a normal idle. See my ramblings below for more info on each power plan behavior.

https://gfycat.com/competentneedydolphin

System Info: 3800X / Aorus I X570 Pro Wifi / F4h BIOS / 3600 C14 / Windows 10 1903 / 'Normal' voltage set in BIOS / Chipset + Power plans reinstalled / Windows Plans set to default.

[Ryzen High Performance] at Min/Max 100/100 (Default) has clocks and core voltages bouncing between 1.100v-1.488v and 3513-4441Mhz. At 1/1 and clocks and voltage lock to 0.948v/3515MHz.

[Ryzen Balanced] at State 0/100 (Default) and 1/1 behave identical - it doesn't drop clocks or voltage on either setting beyond normal fluctuations 3513-4441Mhz. Acts the same as High Performance 100/100 on any setting.

[Ryzen Power Saver] acts exactly like High Performance; CPU state 0/100 (Default) gives the same clock and core read outs and 100/100, and 1/1 will drop the clocks to 0.948v/2195MHz.

[Windows Balanced] at State 5/100 (Default) and 1/1 behave identical; the clocks/core don't drop. Acts the same as 100/100. (Note: this is the plan AMD Robert said to set at 85/100 to 'fix' vcore, but it behaves the same for me regardless of the settings; 1/1, 85/100, 100/100).

[Windows Power Saver] Here's where things get a bit weird. The Max setting doesn't seem to have an effect on anything. Default is 5/100, but it acts the same as the other plans on 1/1 and core/clocks lock to 0.931v/2196MHz. But if the Min state is set to anything higher and your vcore stays locked at 0.948v until about 80 and your clocks rise. State 99 @ 1.092v, and 100/1 sends the vcore back up to 1.488v/4441Mhz

[Windows High Performance] Acts like every other plan @ 100/100. But curious enough, you set it to 1/100 and it starts to behave like a normal power plan. Cores drop to 0.948v and speeds to 2196Mhz when actually at idle with Steam and iCue open.

So TLDR; I set every power plan to 1/100, sat idle, and Windows High Performance was the only plan to actually idle with Steam/iCue open. When those apps are closed the idle is pretty normal on all plans at any 1/100 setting. Also, don't change your power plans with the drop down menu. Go back to the menu with the radio buttons. Selecting from the drop down only changes settings, but doesn't apply the plan.

Last edited by 0S1R1S; 07-19-2019 at 10:10 AM.
0S1R1S is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 07-19-2019, 05:57 AM
Manual breath enabled
 
Streetdragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: In my celler
Posts: 1,161
Rep: 26 (Unique: 22)
looks promessing. I must test that

Gameingcube
(18 items)
CPU
Ryzen 3900X
Motherboard
Aorus X570 Master
GPU
1080 TI Founders Edition
GPU
1080 TI Founders Edition
RAM
F4-3600C16Q-32GTZR
Hard Drive
2000GB Seagate Barracuda Compute ST2000DM008 256MB
Hard Drive
2000GB Seagate Barracuda Compute ST2000DM008 256MB
Hard Drive
samsung m2 970 evo
Power Supply
Leadex 80 Plus Platinum Netzteil, schwarz - 1200 Watt
Cooling
heatkiller IV pro
Cooling
EK-FC1080 GTX Ti - Nickel
Cooling
EK-FC1080 GTX Ti - Nickel
Cooling
Alphacool Eisbecher D5 250mm Plexi
Cooling
Alphacool NexXxoS XT45 Full Copper 480mm
Cooling
XSPC Multiport Radiator EX240
Cooling
Scythe Grand Flex 4Pin PWM
Case
thermaltake core x9
Operating System
Windows 10
▲ hide details ▲
Streetdragon is offline  
post #3 of 24 (permalink) Old 07-19-2019, 06:33 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Boxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 88
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
I don't understand this obsession. Under Windows Balanced without the CPU being boosted by apps, it runs at 30-ish Watt idle. On Ryzen Balanced with the snappy frequency switching and an app doing its thingamajing, it runs on average 40ish Watt idle.

Why are you all so worried about that?
Boxman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 24 (permalink) Old 07-19-2019, 06:43 AM
Overclocker in training
 
ThrashZone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 7,010
Rep: 62 (Unique: 48)
Hi,
Yeah I don't really understand 0/100 or 1/100 usage
Jacking up to 100% just moving the mouse is interesting but is it really on a performance power plan which default is 100/100 surprising

Vaper
(4 items)
CPU
i9-9940x With evo and koolance vrm water blocks
Motherboard
ASUS x299 TUF Mark 2
GPU
Titan Xp with copper Water Block
RAM
Trident Z 3600C16 4x8gb's b-die default timings 16-16-16-36
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
Power Supply
evga 1200-P2
Cooling
2-280GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads with D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 pro & 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion spectrum
Mouse
Redragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
Audio
Built in realtek with Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
CPU
i7-5930k with evo and koolance vrm water blocks
Motherboard
X99 Sabertooth
GPU
EVGA 1080ti FTW3 with Water block
RAM
Trident-Z 3200C14 4x8gb's b-die default timings 14-14-14-34
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 500gb M.2 for os/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Power Supply
EVGA 1000-P2
Cooling
2-240 GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads/ D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
Corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 and 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz
Mouse
Red Dragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
Hard Drive
eLeaf MELO-3 4ml
Power Supply
SE US18650VTC6 3120mAh 30A 3.6V 18650 Li-ion Battery - GREENx4
Case
ANGIS Legion MOD 200w Geek Vape
Operating System
VapeWild RazzleBerry 50-50-0mg nic
▲ hide details ▲
ThrashZone is offline  
post #5 of 24 (permalink) Old 07-19-2019, 06:45 AM - Thread Starter
Triple Screen Enthusiast
 
0S1R1S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 40
Rep: 0
Did you not see the gif? If I let my PC sit idle with Steam open and monitor my vcore with HWinfo, Min/Max/Avg were all 1.488v. It never once fluctuates or lowers. Enable the settings above and my vcore instantly drops to 0.938v at idle.
0S1R1S is offline  
post #6 of 24 (permalink) Old 07-19-2019, 06:51 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Boxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 88
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Yes, but what is the main issue here? You just don't like the numbers in your monitoring tool, or? Even though AMD said those numbers are fine and don't harm the CPU one bit? The CPU works fine. Doesn't really use a significant amount of more power. And by choosing another power plan you're disabling the 1ms frequency swithing which is a new feature. Yep, some apps don't play well with that new feature yet and ask for boost too many times. Yep, this also throws off your monitoring software and makes your CPU use slightly more idle power.

In the meantime, there is nothing wrong with your CPU at all. 1.5v is fine under low load / idle. People are unhealthily obsessed with what their monitor tools tell them, even after being reassured time and time again by AMD personnel that it's *fine*.

You can do the 'fix' you proposed, or the one that AMD_robert proposed, but it does nothing to help your processor. It couldn't care less either way, except that you're removing a feature. This is a fix for the collective obsession with reported numbers, nothing more.
Boxman is offline  
post #7 of 24 (permalink) Old 07-19-2019, 07:10 AM
Overclocker in training
 
ThrashZone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 7,010
Rep: 62 (Unique: 48)
Hi,
Yeah I get why you want the drop in vcore
Intel has enhanced speed step we usually disable while enabling speed shift and C states which does the same thing you're doing but I don't alter performance power plan to get the vcore drop it's done by bios settings.

Vaper
(4 items)
CPU
i9-9940x With evo and koolance vrm water blocks
Motherboard
ASUS x299 TUF Mark 2
GPU
Titan Xp with copper Water Block
RAM
Trident Z 3600C16 4x8gb's b-die default timings 16-16-16-36
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
Power Supply
evga 1200-P2
Cooling
2-280GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads with D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 pro & 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion spectrum
Mouse
Redragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
Audio
Built in realtek with Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
CPU
i7-5930k with evo and koolance vrm water blocks
Motherboard
X99 Sabertooth
GPU
EVGA 1080ti FTW3 with Water block
RAM
Trident-Z 3200C14 4x8gb's b-die default timings 14-14-14-34
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 500gb M.2 for os/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Power Supply
EVGA 1000-P2
Cooling
2-240 GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads/ D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
Corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 and 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz
Mouse
Red Dragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
Hard Drive
eLeaf MELO-3 4ml
Power Supply
SE US18650VTC6 3120mAh 30A 3.6V 18650 Li-ion Battery - GREENx4
Case
ANGIS Legion MOD 200w Geek Vape
Operating System
VapeWild RazzleBerry 50-50-0mg nic
▲ hide details ▲
ThrashZone is offline  
post #8 of 24 (permalink) Old 07-19-2019, 07:22 AM - Thread Starter
Triple Screen Enthusiast
 
0S1R1S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 40
Rep: 0
From the AMD Reddit Sticky:

"I'm specifically looking for reports where the voltage is stuck at a particular value, or a small range of values, around 1.4V--no matter how long you sit there and watch it. It is perfectly okay if your CPU is periodically using 1.4-1.5V to achieve boost frequencies, and you should see dips into sub-1.0V as the CPU goes into idle. EDIT 7/18/19 As a temporary workaround, you can use the standard Windows Balanced plan. Edit this plan to use 85% minimum processor state, 100% maximum processor state."

I followed the instructions for Windows Balanced Plan @ 85/100 and it does absolutely nothing for my issue. My CPU sits at 1.488v and I don't see dips into sub -1.0v like he states, using Ryzen Master, CPUZ, or HWInfo. 1.488v solid, for hours. Changing the Windows High Performance values fixes the idle vcore instantly. I go from 1.488v vcore and +20A current to 0.948v 5A current - doing the exact same thing - idling at desktop.
0S1R1S is offline  
post #9 of 24 (permalink) Old 07-19-2019, 07:25 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Boxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 88
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
You're not answering my most important question.

Quote:
Yes, but what is the main issue here? You just don't like the numbers in your monitoring tool, or? Even though AMD said those numbers are fine and don't harm the CPU one bit? The CPU works fine.
Since you're selectively quoting from that topic, i'll add one that you omitted:

Quote:
Please note that it is totally normal for your Ryzen to use voltages in a range of 0.200V - 1.500V -- this is the factory operating range of the CPU. It is also totally normal for the temperature to cycle through 10°C swings as boost comes on and off. You will always see these characteristics, as they're intended, so do not be surprised to see such values.
Boxman is offline  
post #10 of 24 (permalink) Old 07-19-2019, 07:32 AM
Manual breath enabled
 
Streetdragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: In my celler
Posts: 1,161
Rep: 26 (Unique: 22)
Yep its working for me too, i saw no performence loss/less "snappy".
i like it^^

Gameingcube
(18 items)
CPU
Ryzen 3900X
Motherboard
Aorus X570 Master
GPU
1080 TI Founders Edition
GPU
1080 TI Founders Edition
RAM
F4-3600C16Q-32GTZR
Hard Drive
2000GB Seagate Barracuda Compute ST2000DM008 256MB
Hard Drive
2000GB Seagate Barracuda Compute ST2000DM008 256MB
Hard Drive
samsung m2 970 evo
Power Supply
Leadex 80 Plus Platinum Netzteil, schwarz - 1200 Watt
Cooling
heatkiller IV pro
Cooling
EK-FC1080 GTX Ti - Nickel
Cooling
EK-FC1080 GTX Ti - Nickel
Cooling
Alphacool Eisbecher D5 250mm Plexi
Cooling
Alphacool NexXxoS XT45 Full Copper 480mm
Cooling
XSPC Multiport Radiator EX240
Cooling
Scythe Grand Flex 4Pin PWM
Case
thermaltake core x9
Operating System
Windows 10
▲ hide details ▲
Streetdragon is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off