Help with undervolting FX-9590 - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Help with undervolting FX-9590

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 19 (permalink) Old 07-25-2019, 04:40 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Cobra26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 248
Rep: 8 (Unique: 6)
Definitely not overclocking this beast all i want is lower the voltage to around 1.4 at 4.7GHZ yet i dont know how i did try to enter 1.4v instead of 1.5+ then i get a bunch of numbers...
Even with full custom water loop temps are okay-ish i think... when the temp outside the house is around 37c damn hot summer.

I followed the advise disable turbo and set it at 4.7GHZ and drop voltage to 1.4v thing is i don't know how exactly since i get numbers i don't trust...
So please any one can some one guide me a bit to where i should go in the BIOS and what to change and how? And what i should be seeing if i correctly changed it ie number?
I know most of you this is a peace of cake but please bare with me.
Cobra26 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 19 (permalink) Old 07-25-2019, 07:37 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Heuchler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,872
Rep: 255 (Unique: 187)
ASUS 990FX BIOS settings but the CPU is a FX-8320e (much lower leakage than your FX-9590)

Quote: Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post
Ai Tweaker -> DIGI+ Power Control

- CPU Load Line Calibration = High
- CPU/NB Load Line Calibration = Regular
- CPU Current Capability = 100%
- CPU/NB Current Capability = 100%
- CPU Power Phase Control = Extreme (Disabled phase-shedding)
- CPU Voltage Frequency = 300kHz
- CPU Power Duty Control = Extreme (irrelevant when phase-shedding is disabled, but set anyway)
- CPU Power Response Control = Regular (irrelevant when phase-shedding is disabled, but set anyway)
- CPU/NB Power Response Control = Regular
- CPU Power Thermal Control = Set to minimum, most likely 130°C which is silly high already

Depending on the leakage characteristics of your CPU setting load-line to high results in either quite exact or slightly undershooting (<30mV) core voltage. You can set it to ultra high if necessary, however it will result in some overshoot (<20mV). Never use Extreme as it disables the load-line completely, resulting in a massive overshoot (<120mV).



I would stick to above settings from The Stilt. Below is an older guide. I'm just posting the link as it might explain some settings and terms.



AMD Bulldozer and Piledriver Overclocking Guide - Asus Motherboard
https://www.overclock.net/forum/10-a...therboard.html

Overclocking History (Click to show)
Intel 386DX/16 @ 20 MHz
CX486SLC/50 @ 50 MHz
AM486DX2/80 @ 100 MHz
AM486 DX4-100 @ 120 MHz
AK5x86-P75 [email protected] 160 MHz
Pentium 90 @ 120 Mhz
IBM 6x86L P166+ [email protected] 160 MHz
Celeron 300a @ 454 MHz
Pentium 3 700 @ 933 MHz
Athlon XP 1400+ @ 1600 MHz
Athlon XP 1800+ @ 2088 MHz
Athlon XP 2500+ @ 2200 MHz
Athlon 64 3000+ @ 2603 MHz
Athlon X2 BE2300 @ 1900 MHz
Athlon X2 4200+ @ 2210 MHz
Athlon X2 5000+ @ 2600 MHz
Core 2 Duo E4300 @ 3000 MHz
Core 2 Duo E6750 @ 3600 MHz
Core 2 Duo E8400 @ 4000 MHz
Xeon C2Q L5408 @ 3200 MHz
Xeon C2Q X5450 @ 3300 MHz
Xeon C2Q E5440 @ 3400 MHz
Xeon C2Q E5450 @ 3600 MHz
Phenom2 X4 B50 @ 3700 MHz
Phenom2 X6 1045T @ 4050 MHz
Core i5-2500K Sandy @ 4500 MHz
X5650 6-Core Westmere @ 3982 MHz
AMD FX 8320E Black Edition

FX-8320E @4.5GHz, X5650 @ 4.0GHz, X6 1045T @4.0GHz, i7 [email protected]
Thinkpad T420p with i7-2720QM overclocked because this is OCN
Heuchler is offline  
post #13 of 19 (permalink) Old 08-06-2019, 08:20 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
BUFUMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 503
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Buy if you can afford it a new cpu.
Bulldozer is mega crap. A old i7 2600k beat the **** out of it.... And you don't have another heater inside your house

Check new ryzen cpus. R5 3600 for example.

Gesendet von meinem LYA-L29 mit Tapatalk

RYZENBUFU: R7 1700X @ 3800Mhz| Noctua NH-U14S (Push-Pull) - BeQuite SilentWings 3 - 140MM | ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Hero UEFI 7003 | 16GB G.Skill TridentZ [G.SKILL F4-3200C14-GTZ (2x8GB)] @ 3333Mhz CL14 T1 | Zotac AMP Extreme GTX 1080 | NVME & SSD's & HDD's | Be quite Dark Power P11 850W | Phanteks Evolv ATX with BeQuite SilentWings 3 - 140MM | Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 | Beyerdynamic DT-770 Pro | Logitech Z 2300 2.1 THX | Asus ROG Strix XG32VQ

Last edited by BUFUMAN; 08-06-2019 at 08:26 AM.
BUFUMAN is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 19 (permalink) Old 08-06-2019, 04:32 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Heuchler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,872
Rep: 255 (Unique: 187)
Sandy Bridge with Meltdown and Spectre aren't good. Nobody should be buying a quad-code in 2019

OP might be able to get a FX-8370e or FX-8320e for real cheap or trade his current FX for it. ECC UDIMM is supported on his motherboard.


https://www.planet3dnow.de/vbulletin...ck-oder-System
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	FX-8320e Spannung.PNG
Views:	3
Size:	20.3 KB
ID:	286736  


Overclocking History (Click to show)
Intel 386DX/16 @ 20 MHz
CX486SLC/50 @ 50 MHz
AM486DX2/80 @ 100 MHz
AM486 DX4-100 @ 120 MHz
AK5x86-P75 [email protected] 160 MHz
Pentium 90 @ 120 Mhz
IBM 6x86L P166+ [email protected] 160 MHz
Celeron 300a @ 454 MHz
Pentium 3 700 @ 933 MHz
Athlon XP 1400+ @ 1600 MHz
Athlon XP 1800+ @ 2088 MHz
Athlon XP 2500+ @ 2200 MHz
Athlon 64 3000+ @ 2603 MHz
Athlon X2 BE2300 @ 1900 MHz
Athlon X2 4200+ @ 2210 MHz
Athlon X2 5000+ @ 2600 MHz
Core 2 Duo E4300 @ 3000 MHz
Core 2 Duo E6750 @ 3600 MHz
Core 2 Duo E8400 @ 4000 MHz
Xeon C2Q L5408 @ 3200 MHz
Xeon C2Q X5450 @ 3300 MHz
Xeon C2Q E5440 @ 3400 MHz
Xeon C2Q E5450 @ 3600 MHz
Phenom2 X4 B50 @ 3700 MHz
Phenom2 X6 1045T @ 4050 MHz
Core i5-2500K Sandy @ 4500 MHz
X5650 6-Core Westmere @ 3982 MHz
AMD FX 8320E Black Edition

FX-8320E @4.5GHz, X5650 @ 4.0GHz, X6 1045T @4.0GHz, i7 [email protected]
Thinkpad T420p with i7-2720QM overclocked because this is OCN
Heuchler is offline  
post #15 of 19 (permalink) Old 08-06-2019, 05:18 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
fra z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 638
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Hi,

I have some FX CPU's including a 9590 but I've not got round to overclocking it yet.

If I remember correctly some users had problems so it was best to switch turbo mode off.

I suppose it's best to find the point at which the CPU is running most efficiently on the lowest v_core for the lowest temps.

9590 is already overclocked by AMD so if you play around with the v_core (if AMD call it this) and find the lowest that will remain stable under stress tests like P95 OCCT or what ever >>then you'll find the lowest possible voltage for the 4.7 Ghz.

One day I'll OC my FX8350 & 9590 etc.......I really missed the boat on this one but have been OC'ing some Intel CPU's and would apply the knowledge to OC'ing AMD CPU's
fra z is offline  
post #16 of 19 (permalink) Old 08-06-2019, 07:12 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
cssorkinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9,398
Rep: 462 (Unique: 262)
Quote: Originally Posted by Heuchler View Post
Sandy Bridge with Meltdown and Spectre aren't good. Nobody should be buying a quad-code in 2019

OP might be able to get a FX-8370e or FX-8320e for real cheap or trade his current FX for it. ECC UDIMM is supported on his motherboard.


https://www.planet3dnow.de/vbulletin...ck-oder-System
Best FX's going for everyday use. Good information close to my 8370e as far as a curve goes, but mine is a little better on V-core , that or i had better cooling and power.
cssorkinman is offline  
post #17 of 19 (permalink) Old 08-06-2019, 07:35 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ssateneth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 873
Rep: 43 (Unique: 38)
I saw someone bring up LLC / vdroop earlier in this thread. Voltage droop is not some engineering failure, or fault of a "VRM that can't keep up". Droop is created on purpose, in order to fight the potential of large voltage swings that occur with transient loads. At the same set voltages, a "flat" droop curve will have higher power consumption because of higher voltage, and will have VERY high transients when a load disappears, compared to a "normal" droop curve, which will operate at lower voltage under load, so when the load disappears, the transient will be better controlled. Sure, you can set a "flat" droop curve and set lower voltage, but then you get negative transients when a load begins, which can cause a system crash due to low voltage. Again, a "normal" droop curve fights this, because it will be idling at a higher voltage (provided you didn't lower it the same amount as a flat droop curve).

Ultimately, I'd argue that you need SOME level of droop. Enough that you have favorable transients, but not uncomfortable amounts of idle voltage if you are pushing very high frequencies that need high voltage.

I have an older FX-8150, and the board I have kinda sucks in that in only offers "offset" style of voltage control (ASUS 890GX based board). It's not the best chip either. It's running about 4.5GHz with a "normal" droop curve. It runs about 1.47 volts idling, but under load, it droops to about 1.35, so both transients are handled well. It's a +0.275 offset.

Intel Core i9-9900k (Silicon Lottery 5.1GHz @ 5.3GHz 1.36 VCore)
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS XI APEX
G.SKILL F4-4000C19D-32GTZSW (2x16GiB 4000MHz 19-19-19-39 2T, tuned to 4133MHz 14-17-17-31 2T)
EVGA NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3
Seasonic PRIME 1300W 80+ Platinum
ssateneth is offline  
post #18 of 19 (permalink) Old 08-06-2019, 11:31 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Heuchler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,872
Rep: 255 (Unique: 187)
Quote: Originally Posted by cssorkinman View Post
Best FX's going for everyday use. Good information close to my 8370e as far as a curve goes, but mine is a little better on V-core , that or i had better cooling and power.
As far as I recall the 8370e got a free 100 MHz at the same vCore over the 8320e. Still feel like I should got the 8370e. They got expensive later on. But can't complain as I sold my 1045T for the same price I paid for the 8320e.


Tom Clancy's The Division with GTX 1080 (Ryzen 1000-series launch, things improved fast for it but FX performance on Massive Snowdrop engine isn't bad).
https://www.guru3d.com/articles-page...review,19.html


FX beating both i7-6900K and i5-7600K
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Tom Clancy's The Division with GTX 1080.png
Views:	4
Size:	34.0 KB
ID:	286856  


Overclocking History (Click to show)
Intel 386DX/16 @ 20 MHz
CX486SLC/50 @ 50 MHz
AM486DX2/80 @ 100 MHz
AM486 DX4-100 @ 120 MHz
AK5x86-P75 [email protected] 160 MHz
Pentium 90 @ 120 Mhz
IBM 6x86L P166+ [email protected] 160 MHz
Celeron 300a @ 454 MHz
Pentium 3 700 @ 933 MHz
Athlon XP 1400+ @ 1600 MHz
Athlon XP 1800+ @ 2088 MHz
Athlon XP 2500+ @ 2200 MHz
Athlon 64 3000+ @ 2603 MHz
Athlon X2 BE2300 @ 1900 MHz
Athlon X2 4200+ @ 2210 MHz
Athlon X2 5000+ @ 2600 MHz
Core 2 Duo E4300 @ 3000 MHz
Core 2 Duo E6750 @ 3600 MHz
Core 2 Duo E8400 @ 4000 MHz
Xeon C2Q L5408 @ 3200 MHz
Xeon C2Q X5450 @ 3300 MHz
Xeon C2Q E5440 @ 3400 MHz
Xeon C2Q E5450 @ 3600 MHz
Phenom2 X4 B50 @ 3700 MHz
Phenom2 X6 1045T @ 4050 MHz
Core i5-2500K Sandy @ 4500 MHz
X5650 6-Core Westmere @ 3982 MHz
AMD FX 8320E Black Edition

FX-8320E @4.5GHz, X5650 @ 4.0GHz, X6 1045T @4.0GHz, i7 [email protected]
Thinkpad T420p with i7-2720QM overclocked because this is OCN
Heuchler is offline  
post #19 of 19 (permalink) Old 08-07-2019, 12:38 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
BUFUMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 503
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
I did not told him to buy a i7 2600k.....
Just told him that this cpu is faster.

I told him to look around for a ryzen 5 3600....

Gesendet von meinem LYA-L29 mit Tapatalk

RYZENBUFU: R7 1700X @ 3800Mhz| Noctua NH-U14S (Push-Pull) - BeQuite SilentWings 3 - 140MM | ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Hero UEFI 7003 | 16GB G.Skill TridentZ [G.SKILL F4-3200C14-GTZ (2x8GB)] @ 3333Mhz CL14 T1 | Zotac AMP Extreme GTX 1080 | NVME & SSD's & HDD's | Be quite Dark Power P11 850W | Phanteks Evolv ATX with BeQuite SilentWings 3 - 140MM | Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 | Beyerdynamic DT-770 Pro | Logitech Z 2300 2.1 THX | Asus ROG Strix XG32VQ
BUFUMAN is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off