3900X Temperature Reading - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

3900X Temperature Reading

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-06-2019, 07:19 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
mngdew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 36
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
3900X Temperature Reading

There is quite a bit of temperature reading difference between Ryzen Master and HWiNFO64. I don't know which one is correct.

The screenshot was taken during the Geekbenching.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Annotation 2019-08-06 185131.jpg
Views:	72
Size:	68.1 KB
ID:	286810  

mngdew is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-06-2019, 08:14 PM
Overclocker in training
 
ThrashZone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 6,983
Rep: 62 (Unique: 48)
Hi,
Might ask the hwinfo developer
https://www.overclock.net/forum/21-b...64-thread.html

Vaper
(4 items)
CPU
i9-9940x With evo and koolance vrm water blocks
Motherboard
ASUS x299 TUF Mark 2
GPU
Titan Xp with copper Water Block
RAM
Trident Z 3600C16 4x8gb's b-die default timings 16-16-16-36
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
Power Supply
evga 1200-P2
Cooling
2-280GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads with D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 pro & 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion spectrum
Mouse
Redragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
Audio
Built in realtek with Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
CPU
i7-5930k with evo and koolance vrm water blocks
Motherboard
X99 Sabertooth
GPU
EVGA 1080ti FTW3 with Water block
RAM
Trident-Z 3200C14 4x8gb's b-die default timings 14-14-14-34
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 500gb M.2 for os/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Power Supply
EVGA 1000-P2
Cooling
2-240 GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads/ D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
Corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 and 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz
Mouse
Red Dragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
Hard Drive
eLeaf MELO-3 4ml
Power Supply
SE US18650VTC6 3120mAh 30A 3.6V 18650 Li-ion Battery - GREENx4
Case
ANGIS Legion MOD 200w Geek Vape
Operating System
VapeWild RazzleBerry 50-50-0mg nic
▲ hide details ▲
ThrashZone is online now  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-07-2019, 01:54 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
thomasck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 320
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
One software leads the another one to make incorrect readings they say. I don't notice that. But, if you don't need ryzen master open try leaving hwinfo opened then. They also say hwinfo triggers the cpu making it spike in clock and consequently in temps. I didn't notice any difference. Also hwinfo records max temp which is important for me.

I see you 3900x is 80+ in maximum, are you all stock settings/voltages aren't you?

Sent from my HTC U11 using Tapatalk

PCDEBAIANO
(7 items)
CPU
Ryzen 3900X
Motherboard
Taichi X370
GPU
AMD Radeon VII
RAM
HyperX Predator 4000
Cooling
3x360mm
Case
Lian Li o11d
Monitor
HANNspree HG324
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by thomasck; 08-07-2019 at 02:30 AM.
thomasck is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-07-2019, 02:11 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
upgraditus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: North Yorkshire
Posts: 176
Rep: 7 (Unique: 5)
RM is reporting an average across all sensors, hwinfo is showing peak temp (Tdie)

- Ryzen 7 3700X - Prime X470 Pro - 16GB Crucial BSLT - 1080Ti Amp Extreme - Aerocool Project7 P650 - Fractal Define XL (USB3) -

Last edited by upgraditus; 08-07-2019 at 04:29 AM. Reason: Auto correct thinks it knows better
upgraditus is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-07-2019, 10:22 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
mngdew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 36
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by thomasck View Post
One software leads the another one to make incorrect readings they say. I don't notice that. But, if you don't need ryzen master open try leaving hwinfo opened then. They also say hwinfo triggers the cpu making it spike in clock and consequently in temps. I didn't notice any difference. Also hwinfo records max temp which is important for me.

I see you 3900x is 80+ in maximum, are you all stock settings/voltages aren't you?

Sent from my HTC U11 using Tapatalk
Yes, all stock. I also like hwinfo because it reports the max temp.
mngdew is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-08-2019, 12:22 AM
Padawan Overclocker
 
Catscratch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: istanbul
Posts: 2,737
Rep: 138 (Unique: 110)
It is said you could configure hwinfo like ryzen master, getting averages, in the sensor settings.

What I'm curious about is, even on ryzen when/hwmonitor/hwinfo when clock shoots up, temp also shoots up. Like it's 40c and its up to 64c like in a blink. How can the temp shoot up like in miliseconds

This cat scratches free.
AMD Back Again
(14 items)
Summer 21-06-2011
(13 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600 @ stock
Motherboard
MSI MPG x570 Gaming Plus
GPU
Sapphire 280x Trix (non-boost version)
RAM
Gskill F4-3200C16D-16GFX
Hard Drive
WD5001AALS & ST3250410AS
Hard Drive
Kingston HyperX Savage
Optical Drive
Asus DRW-1814BLT
Power Supply
Enermax Infiniti 650w
Case
Cooler Master HAF912+
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro (1903)
Monitor
Asus VH242H
Keyboard
(no name)
Mouse
(no name)
Other
Cooler Master MasterAir MA410M
CPU
i5 2500k 4ghz @ Offset -0.015
Motherboard
Asus P8P67 Evo (bios 3207)
GPU
Sapphire HD6850 1GB (835/1100)
RAM
G.Skill RipjawsX 2x2gb 1866mhz 8-9-8-24-2n @ 1.6v
RAM
G.Skill RipjawsX 2x4gb 1866mhz 9-10-9-28-2n @ 1.6v
Hard Drive
WD5000AAKX-001CA0
Hard Drive
WD5001AALS-00L3B2 (Now External)
Hard Drive
WD20EARS
Optical Drive
ASUS DRW-1814BLT
Power Supply
Enermax Infiniti 650 (28a,28a,30a)
Cooling
Noctua NH-u12p SE2
Case
Cooler Master haf 912 Advanced
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
Monitor
Asus VH242H Wobbly Stand :)
Keyboard
Microsoft Ergo 4000
Mouse
A4tech x7 F3
CPU
Phenom II x6 1090t BE 3.6/4.0 [email protected]
Motherboard
MSI K9A2 Platinum v1
GPU
Sapphire HD6850 1GB 850/[email protected]
RAM
Kingston 2x2gb Hyperx 1066 5-5-5-15
Hard Drive
WD5001AALS & ST3250410AS
Optical Drive
Asus DRW-1814BLT
Power Supply
Enermax Infiniti 650w (28a,28a,30a)
Case
Thermaltake Kandalf SuperTower
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
Monitor
Asus VH242H 23.6" Wobbly Stand :D
Keyboard
Microsoft Ergo 4000
Mouse
A4 tech Swop-3
Mouse
(no name)
▲ hide details ▲
Catscratch is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-08-2019, 02:07 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
upgraditus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: North Yorkshire
Posts: 176
Rep: 7 (Unique: 5)
Quote: Originally Posted by Catscratch View Post
It is said you could configure hwinfo like ryzen master, getting averages, in the sensor settings.

What I'm curious about is, even on ryzen when/hwmonitor/hwinfo when clock shoots up, temp also shoots up. Like it's 40c and its up to 64c like in a blink. How can the temp shoot up like in miliseconds
Cores can go from sleep state to full boost in ~2ms.

- Ryzen 7 3700X - Prime X470 Pro - 16GB Crucial BSLT - 1080Ti Amp Extreme - Aerocool Project7 P650 - Fractal Define XL (USB3) -
upgraditus is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-08-2019, 02:30 AM
Padawan Overclocker
 
Catscratch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: istanbul
Posts: 2,737
Rep: 138 (Unique: 110)
Quote: Originally Posted by upgraditus View Post
Cores can go from sleep state to full boost in ~2ms.
Yes, the clock can go up in whatever ms, however im used to temp gradually catching up in 30 sec or 60 1ms 40c 1ms 65c 1ms 42c 1ms 71c. Weird behavior.

This cat scratches free.
AMD Back Again
(14 items)
Summer 21-06-2011
(13 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600 @ stock
Motherboard
MSI MPG x570 Gaming Plus
GPU
Sapphire 280x Trix (non-boost version)
RAM
Gskill F4-3200C16D-16GFX
Hard Drive
WD5001AALS & ST3250410AS
Hard Drive
Kingston HyperX Savage
Optical Drive
Asus DRW-1814BLT
Power Supply
Enermax Infiniti 650w
Case
Cooler Master HAF912+
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro (1903)
Monitor
Asus VH242H
Keyboard
(no name)
Mouse
(no name)
Other
Cooler Master MasterAir MA410M
CPU
i5 2500k 4ghz @ Offset -0.015
Motherboard
Asus P8P67 Evo (bios 3207)
GPU
Sapphire HD6850 1GB (835/1100)
RAM
G.Skill RipjawsX 2x2gb 1866mhz 8-9-8-24-2n @ 1.6v
RAM
G.Skill RipjawsX 2x4gb 1866mhz 9-10-9-28-2n @ 1.6v
Hard Drive
WD5000AAKX-001CA0
Hard Drive
WD5001AALS-00L3B2 (Now External)
Hard Drive
WD20EARS
Optical Drive
ASUS DRW-1814BLT
Power Supply
Enermax Infiniti 650 (28a,28a,30a)
Cooling
Noctua NH-u12p SE2
Case
Cooler Master haf 912 Advanced
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
Monitor
Asus VH242H Wobbly Stand :)
Keyboard
Microsoft Ergo 4000
Mouse
A4tech x7 F3
CPU
Phenom II x6 1090t BE 3.6/4.0 [email protected]
Motherboard
MSI K9A2 Platinum v1
GPU
Sapphire HD6850 1GB 850/[email protected]
RAM
Kingston 2x2gb Hyperx 1066 5-5-5-15
Hard Drive
WD5001AALS & ST3250410AS
Optical Drive
Asus DRW-1814BLT
Power Supply
Enermax Infiniti 650w (28a,28a,30a)
Case
Thermaltake Kandalf SuperTower
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
Monitor
Asus VH242H 23.6" Wobbly Stand :D
Keyboard
Microsoft Ergo 4000
Mouse
A4 tech Swop-3
Mouse
(no name)
▲ hide details ▲
Catscratch is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-08-2019, 03:18 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
thomasck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 320
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
What I did to reduce cpu temp cause was too high was set a offset of -0.1. Yeah in not recommended cause you'll lose performance but I didn't notice anything, and bench numbers are fine considering around -12c after offset. And it stays even better when set to 4.3ghz 1.3v.

Sent from my HTC U11 using Tapatalk

PCDEBAIANO
(7 items)
CPU
Ryzen 3900X
Motherboard
Taichi X370
GPU
AMD Radeon VII
RAM
HyperX Predator 4000
Cooling
3x360mm
Case
Lian Li o11d
Monitor
HANNspree HG324
▲ hide details ▲
thomasck is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-08-2019, 03:28 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
mngdew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 36
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by thomasck View Post
What I did to reduce cpu temp cause was too high was set a offset of -0.1. Yeah in not recommended cause you'll lose performance but I didn't notice anything, and bench numbers are fine considering around -12c after offset. And it stays even better when set to 4.3ghz 1.3v.

Sent from my HTC U11 using Tapatalk
Does the offset affect the performance of the manual overlocking like it does to the stock?
mngdew is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off