how good is this board with a 3900x? - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

how good is this board with a 3900x?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-14-2019, 05:16 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
ubbernewb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Escaped from XP Hell
Posts: 577
Rep: 9 (Unique: 8)
anyone interested Bestbuy has 3900x IN STOCK
ubbernewb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-16-2019, 09:22 AM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,743
Rep: 1099 (Unique: 636)
Quote: Originally Posted by VPII View Post
Well I put it to you like this. Search Buildzoid's analysis of the C7H and hear what he says....

Basing how good/bad a VRM is based on the number of amps it can handle is dumb and if you can find a Buildzoid quote in a video saying otherwise then please do share.

I'm not arguing if the CH7 is good or not, but it being able to theoretically handle 600 amps does not make it a good VRM especially when getting a CPU to draw that many amps on ambient cooling is never going to happen.

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(10 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 32GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
HP EX950 NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 480GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU
Monitor
Dell E2311H
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
SMSL SA50 + FiiO E10K
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Polk Audio PSW111
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Hard Drive
ADATA SU800 128GB M.2
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Operating System
MX Linux
Keyboard
Rii RKM709 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech M510
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is offline  
post #13 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-16-2019, 10:04 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
VPII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 610
Rep: 8 (Unique: 7)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Pook View Post
Basing how good/bad a VRM is based on the number of amps it can handle is dumb and if you can find a Buildzoid quote in a video saying otherwise then please do share.

I'm not arguing if the CH7 is good or not, but it being able to theoretically handle 600 amps does not make it a good VRM especially when getting a CPU to draw that many amps on ambient cooling is never going to happen.
Okay, my humble apology. I have no problem accepting the fact that I don't know everything and in Life I always try to teach others to do the same. We are all human which means we are not perfect.

Thank you for your view, I'll take it and think about it.....

However, in the same breath I'd like to add that the heat spreaders on the VRM for my C7H was never used.... you see when you do extreme clocking, you don't want these things to get in the way. Oh but yes, I do understand when my system from the cpu is sitting at -196C then it will transfer to the VRM..... oops but the vrm will stop working if they get too cold unless you use a hair dryer on it to warm it. Now after my sessions, I actually did not refit the vrm heat spreaders as I see no use to it as my vrm remained cold enough under normal use.

But again, thank you for your very insightful contribution.

AMD
(9 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair VII Hero
GPU
GALAX RTX 2080 TI OC
RAM
G.Skill f4-3200c14d-16gtzr tridentz rgb
Hard Drive
Crucial MX300 M.2 SSD
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200i
Cooling
CoolerMaster MLW-D24M-A20PC-R1 MasterLiquid ML240L 240mm RGB Liquid CPU Cooler
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Dell U2717D 27" UltraSharp InfinityEdge LED Monitor
▲ hide details ▲
VPII is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-24-2019, 02:09 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
ubbernewb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Escaped from XP Hell
Posts: 577
Rep: 9 (Unique: 8)
ok 3900x is in do i just set the vcore or do i have to set a offset? and pbo on or off?
ubbernewb is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off