Ryzen 5 3600 - very low Cinebench scores - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Ryzen 5 3600 - very low Cinebench scores

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-14-2019, 12:13 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
etre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 50
Rep: 0
Ryzen 5 3600 - very low Cinebench scores

Hi there

Long story short ... new system:
Ryzen 5 3600
Gigabyte B450M Aorus
2x8 Gb DDR4 3000

Windows 10 1903
Latest Chipset drivers
Latest bios with AGESA 1.0.0.3 ABB

Cinebench scores are 2950 for CPU and bellow 400 for single core. These are very low scores, right ?

What I tried:
PBO on and off, tested both.
Different power plans.
Reinstalled drivers, updated bios (before was with AGESA 1.0.0.3 AB)

Temps are fine. The CPU hovers around 70C in full load (I'm doubtful about this since until I get a better cooler than stock I'm using a low profile ID Cooling IS-40V3 ... but well, that's what the readings say).
VRM temps are fine (around 40C to 50C in load). Everything is fine, nothing should throttle.

Despite that ... the system doesn't perform well.


Any ideas please ?

PS: Screenshots uploaded but with the latest bios reset I forgot to enable xmp. The ram is running at 2666, not that it did any difference.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Cinebench low scores 2.png
Views:	26
Size:	702.3 KB
ID:	289048  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Ryzen High power plan.png
Views:	8
Size:	36.5 KB
ID:	289050  

etre is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-14-2019, 12:24 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 18,435
Rep: 862 (Unique: 630)
Try resetting your BIOS to Optimized Default. Go back to Windows and do not open Ryzen Master. Close all other monitoring apps like HWINFO, then run Cinebench again. Don't worry about RAM for now.

[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-14-2019, 12:27 PM
Tech Enthusiast
 
oreonutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 315
Rep: 16 (Unique: 15)
Quote: Originally Posted by etre View Post
Hi there

Long story short ... new system:
Ryzen 5 3600
Gigabyte B450M Aorus
2x8 Gb DDR4 3000

Windows 10 1903
Latest Chipset drivers
Latest bios with AGESA 1.0.0.3 ABB

Cinebench scores are 2950 for CPU and bellow 400 for single core. These are very low scores, right ?

What I tried:
PBO on and off, tested both.
Different power plans.
Reinstalled drivers, updated bios (before was with AGESA 1.0.0.3 AB)

Temps are fine. The CPU hovers around 70C in full load (I'm doubtful about this since until I get a better cooler than stock I'm using a low profile ID Cooling IS-40V3 ... but well, that's what the readings say).
VRM temps are fine (around 40C to 50C in load). Everything is fine, nothing should throttle.

Despite that ... the system doesn't perform well.


Any ideas please ?

PS: Screenshots uploaded but with the latest bios reset I forgot to enable xmp. The ram is running at 2666, not that it did any difference.
So I don't have that board, or That CPU, I run with a 3900x, but I am pretty sure I know your issue. PBO is pretty broken right now, especially on ABB, although AMD Won't admit it. You might be able to get someone who is more familiar with the Gigabyte board you are on with the 3600 in it to help you, they might have a trick to get boost to work properly, but essentially this is what happens.

Once you load all Cores and your T-Die Temp goes above 65-70c, Your All Core Boost Drops down to around 4Ghz. Is that what you are seeing? Because if so that is common with a bunch of 3900x and 3700x Owners. It seems 3800x owners are getting better boost speeds on average. Unless someone can tell you how to manipulate PB and PBO on your Board (there might be an older UEFI where it works better, 1.0.0.2 is where it worked best on ASUS boards) What I suggest, is at least Temporarily settings your Voltage to 1.3 to 1.35v on your vCore, and then seeing how far you can manually push an All Core. You will Most likely be able to get at least 4.25Ghz All Core at around 1.3v give or take 50mv, and then run Cinebench. I bet your Score will jump up to around the 3700 Mark or so. Again I don't have a 3600, so I am just halving my score to estimate where you should be landing, but I regularly hit around 7350 to 7400 on mine with a 4225Mhz All Core OC, so I am willing to bet you can get to around half that if you did the same.

I know it sucks boost is broken, but You may find that another UEFI works better for you, or you may find a Gigabyte board owner who knows how to manipulate PBO on their board willing to help you out. I recommend looking for a thread of people who own your board and post there as well.

Let me know if you get a better score with an All Core overclock though when you get a chance!

-MattTheTech

Offical Ryzen 9 3900x Owner!
DodekaZen3000
(28 items)
CPU
Ryzen 9 3900x
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair VII Hero
GPU
EVGA 1080ti FTW3 Hybrid
RAM
G.SKILL Flare X Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) 3200Mhz (PC4 25600) - F4-3200C14D-16GFX (x2 Kits)
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850/860 Evo (x3 Raid 0 Game Drive)
Hard Drive
WD Black 4TB (x2 Raid 0 Storage Drive)
Hard Drive
860 Evo
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray Burner (Model BH16NS40)
Optical Drive
5.25" to One 3.5" and One 2.25" Bay (Model Syba SY-MRA55006)
Power Supply
Corsair RM1000i
Cooling
EKWB Phoenix 360mm Modular Cooler
Case
Old Jonesbo Case
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise
Monitor
Samsung NU8000 55Inch TV (Its a 4k TV But I run in it 1440p 120hz)
Monitor
LG 1080p 34 Inch Diplay
Keyboard
Corsair k70 RGB Lux Mk2
Mouse
Logitech G700s
Mousepad
Razer Vespula V2
Audio
Custom Built 7.1 Surround System
Audio
HT-Omega eClaro 7.1 Sound Card
Audio
Focusrite Scarlett 18i20
Other
Aquantia 10Gb NIC
Other
LSI 9211-8i
Other
Oculus Rift HMD
Other
10 ML120 + 2 ML140 Corsair Maglev Fans
Other
Phanteks Halo aRGB LUX x5
▲ hide details ▲
oreonutz is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-14-2019, 12:34 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 18,435
Rep: 862 (Unique: 630)
Quote: Originally Posted by oreonutz View Post
So I don't have that board, or That CPU, I run with a 3900x, but I am pretty sure I know your issue. PBO is pretty broken right now, especially on ABB, although AMD Won't admit it. You might be able to get someone who is more familiar with the Gigabyte board you are on with the 3600 in it to help you, they might have a trick to get boost to work properly, but essentially this is what happens.

Once you load all Cores and your T-Die Temp goes above 65-70c, Your All Core Boost Drops down to around 4Ghz. Is that what you are seeing? Because if so that is common with a bunch of 3900x and 3700x Owners. It seems 3800x owners are getting better boost speeds on average. Unless someone can tell you how to manipulate PB and PBO on your Board (there might be an older UEFI where it works better, 1.0.0.2 is where it worked best on ASUS boards) What I suggest, is at least Temporarily settings your Voltage to 1.3 to 1.35v on your vCore, and then seeing how far you can manually push an All Core. You will Most likely be able to get at least 4.25Ghz All Core at around 1.3v give or take 50mv, and then run Cinebench. I bet your Score will jump up to around the 3700 Mark or so. Again I don't have a 3600, so I am just halving my score to estimate where you should be landing, but I regularly hit around 7350 to 7400 on mine with a 4225Mhz All Core OC, so I am willing to bet you can get to around half that if you did the same.

I know it sucks boost is broken, but You may find that another UEFI works better for you, or you may find a Gigabyte board owner who knows how to manipulate PBO on their board willing to help you out. I recommend looking for a thread of people who own your board and post there as well.

Let me know if you get a better score with an All Core overclock though when you get a chance!
Just installed my 3600 on my X470 using Agesa 1002 and it boosts fine I think at Optimized Default, which I think is not as broken as 1003. HWMONITOR showed that mine boost to 4.2GHz (4.192 cos my BCLK is 99.8).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	HWmonitor 3600.JPG
Views:	18
Size:	173.0 KB
ID:	289060  


[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-14-2019, 12:39 PM
Tech Enthusiast
 
oreonutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 315
Rep: 16 (Unique: 15)
Quote: Originally Posted by rdr09 View Post
Just installed my 3600 on my X470 using Agesa 1002 and it boosts fine I think at Optimized Default, which I think is not as broken as 1003. HWMONITOR showed that mine boost to 4.2GHz (4.192 cos my BCLK is 99.8).
SWEET! Yeah judging from that I think if the OP doesn't want to All Core OC, and obviously it will be better for gaming workloads if you just went AUTO, then I think the best Recourse for him would be finding a UEFI that is using Agesa 1002 for his Board. They are definitely out there!

Great Post @rdr09 !

EDIT: Actually after looking at your HWmonitor more closely, if you aren't boosting above 4200Mhz for single core workloads, then it actually may be beneficial to see if you guys can All Core OC above 4200Mhz, You probably can.

-MattTheTech

Offical Ryzen 9 3900x Owner!
DodekaZen3000
(28 items)
CPU
Ryzen 9 3900x
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair VII Hero
GPU
EVGA 1080ti FTW3 Hybrid
RAM
G.SKILL Flare X Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) 3200Mhz (PC4 25600) - F4-3200C14D-16GFX (x2 Kits)
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850/860 Evo (x3 Raid 0 Game Drive)
Hard Drive
WD Black 4TB (x2 Raid 0 Storage Drive)
Hard Drive
860 Evo
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray Burner (Model BH16NS40)
Optical Drive
5.25" to One 3.5" and One 2.25" Bay (Model Syba SY-MRA55006)
Power Supply
Corsair RM1000i
Cooling
EKWB Phoenix 360mm Modular Cooler
Case
Old Jonesbo Case
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise
Monitor
Samsung NU8000 55Inch TV (Its a 4k TV But I run in it 1440p 120hz)
Monitor
LG 1080p 34 Inch Diplay
Keyboard
Corsair k70 RGB Lux Mk2
Mouse
Logitech G700s
Mousepad
Razer Vespula V2
Audio
Custom Built 7.1 Surround System
Audio
HT-Omega eClaro 7.1 Sound Card
Audio
Focusrite Scarlett 18i20
Other
Aquantia 10Gb NIC
Other
LSI 9211-8i
Other
Oculus Rift HMD
Other
10 ML120 + 2 ML140 Corsair Maglev Fans
Other
Phanteks Halo aRGB LUX x5
▲ hide details ▲
oreonutz is online now  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-14-2019, 12:43 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 18,435
Rep: 862 (Unique: 630)
Quote: Originally Posted by oreonutz View Post
SWEET! Yeah judging from that I think if the OP doesn't want to All Core OC, and obviously it will be better for gaming workloads if you just went AUTO, then I think the best Recourse for him would be finding a UEFI that is using Agesa 1002 for his Board. They are definitely out there!

Great Post @rdr09 !
It really helps to read experiences from others. When I learned that the latest Agesa is affecting boost, I stayed put.

@op, try Optimized Default and do not open Ryzen Master. BTW, I use Windows Balance Power Plan with Minimum Processor State set to 25%. My Core Clock and Voltage both downclock.

[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-14-2019, 12:45 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
etre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 50
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by rdr09 View Post
Try resetting your BIOS to Optimized Default. Go back to Windows and do not open Ryzen Master. Close all other monitoring apps like HWINFO, then run Cinebench again. Don't worry about RAM for now.
Well, **** !!!!

That did it !!! 3520 Cinebench 20 score.

I don't understand the logic. I never clicked load default optimized since I only adjusted the fan curve and loaded XMP profile. I assumed default optimized was ... well, default. The most simple things beat you. I was sure it had to be something stupid since no one complained about low cinebench scores on internet.
Thanks a lot man !

@oreonutz

All cores, mine doesn't seem to boost above 3900ish. I'll see now after is fixed.
etre is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-14-2019, 12:48 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 18,435
Rep: 862 (Unique: 630)
Quote: Originally Posted by etre View Post
Well, **** !!!!

That did it !!! 3520 Cinebench 20 score.

I don't understand the logic. I never clicked load default optimized since I only adjusted the fan curve and loaded XMP profile. I assumed default optimized was ... well, default. The most simple things beat you. I was sure it had to be something stupid since no one complained about low cinebench scores on internet.
Thanks a lot man !

@oreonutz

All cores, mine doesn't seem to boost above 3900ish. I'll see now after is fixed.
Cinebench Multi-threaded bench will use all cores and our chip will do 3900ish all core, which is normal. Single Thread bench should make one or two cores boost higher.

Enjoy your CPU. Isn't it Snappy?

[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-14-2019, 01:03 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
etre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 50
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by rdr09 View Post
Cinebench Multi-threaded bench will use all cores and our chip will do 3900ish all core, which is normal. Single Thread bench should make one or two cores boost higher.

Enjoy your CPU. Isn't it Snappy?
Honestly, can't tell yet. This is more of a side upgrade. I had a 6700k which was doing fine.
I just wanted to give AMD a chance But since I got stuck on cinebench scores I never had time to test something else.

I'm gonna fire up some games and apps and see how it behaves.
So far, it pisses me off that despite having custom curve for fans in bios, it still rambles up and down, like is ignoring my settings. Anyway, my problem to work around now.
Thanks again !
etre is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-14-2019, 01:37 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2,085
Rep: 42 (Unique: 34)
What did your single core score on CB?

OCmember is offline  
Reply

Tags
3600 , cinebench , low scores , ryzen

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off