Ryzen 3600 4.2 ghz all core @ 1.29375V can you do better? - Page 15 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Ryzen 3600 4.2 ghz all core @ 1.29375V can you do better?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #141 of 147 (permalink) Old 02-11-2020, 06:14 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ha-Nocri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3,319
Rep: 110 (Unique: 71)
Mine isn't completely stable at 4125 MHz, 1.325 V. Very poor chip.

AMD
(12 items)
CPU
Ryzen r5 3600
Motherboard
MSI B450 Tomahawk MAX
GPU
Gigabyte 5700 XT Gaming OC (2070/940 MHz)
RAM
G-Skill TridentZ 16GB 3600MHz b-die (3800MHz CL16 1.375V)
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Cooling
Corsair H115i PLATINUM
Case
Fractal Design Meshify C
Monitor
ASUS MG279Q (1440p) + ASUS 22''
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
Kingston HyperX Cloud II
▲ hide details ▲
Ha-Nocri is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #142 of 147 (permalink) Old 02-11-2020, 07:36 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 32
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Ha-Nocri View Post
Mine isn't completely stable at 4125 MHz, 1.325 V. Very poor chip.
Unlucky, but mine also isn't that better. I need 1.35v for 4.2ghz all core. If i let it on stock it seems to boost properly though running full core loads at 3.960mhz and single core 4.192mhz.

How is it behaving with stock settings on the latest bios on your board? If Precicion Boost (not Precision Boost Overdrive) and XFR are operating as they should and provided you have a good cpu cooler and motherboard you can easily get 4ghz boost for all cores, or maybe something like 3960mhz.

Make sure you do have the latest bios and the latest AMD chipset drivers (not from the motherboard site, use the AMD site) and AMD Ryzen Balanced Power Plan and give it a go. You can try Load optimized defaults in Bios, use the DOCP profile of your Ram if you have one and see how it behaves on stock settings. It might behave better than manual OC.

Last edited by darkling333; 02-11-2020 at 07:42 AM.
darkling333 is offline  
post #143 of 147 (permalink) Old 02-11-2020, 08:41 AM
AMD OVERLOCKER
 
rastaviper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: CYPRUS
Posts: 384
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by darkling333 View Post
So just the 5 basic timings and everything else left on auto? Or all the numbers up until the Gear down mode and the rest of the settings?



I am asking because DRAM calculator has like 30 settings you need to change and i find that a little excessive.
Well no,
I have passed all the settings from the main page, except the ones that I have mentioned.


Sent from my ONEPLUS A6003 using Tapatalk

  • Ryzen 3600x @4490mhz v1.45, 2nd position at HWBOT
  • Gigabyte Aorus Elite x570
  • G-SkillLL F4-3200C15D-16GTZ Trident Z Series CL15 Bdies @3733 15-14-14-1T 1.39v
Offical Ryzen 5 3600x Owner!
rastaviper is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #144 of 147 (permalink) Old 02-11-2020, 09:18 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ha-Nocri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3,319
Rep: 110 (Unique: 71)
Quote: Originally Posted by darkling333 View Post
Unlucky, but mine also isn't that better. I need 1.35v for 4.2ghz all core. If i let it on stock it seems to boost properly though running full core loads at 3.960mhz and single core 4.192mhz.

How is it behaving with stock settings on the latest bios on your board? If Precicion Boost (not Precision Boost Overdrive) and XFR are operating as they should and provided you have a good cpu cooler and motherboard you can easily get 4ghz boost for all cores, or maybe something like 3960mhz.

Make sure you do have the latest bios and the latest AMD chipset drivers (not from the motherboard site, use the AMD site) and AMD Ryzen Balanced Power Plan and give it a go. You can try Load optimized defaults in Bios, use the DOCP profile of your Ram if you have one and see how it behaves on stock settings. It might behave better than manual OC.
Everything is up-to-date and I have a 280mm AIO. It's just a bad chip. I can't do 4.2 GHz at 1.4 V. Didn't try going higher.

It boosts around 4050 MHz all cores in games. It can reach 4.2 GHz only on desktop, but if there is a slight load on a sigle core it drops to 4125/4150 MHz.

Will replace the CPU as soon as Zen 3 is out.

AMD
(12 items)
CPU
Ryzen r5 3600
Motherboard
MSI B450 Tomahawk MAX
GPU
Gigabyte 5700 XT Gaming OC (2070/940 MHz)
RAM
G-Skill TridentZ 16GB 3600MHz b-die (3800MHz CL16 1.375V)
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Cooling
Corsair H115i PLATINUM
Case
Fractal Design Meshify C
Monitor
ASUS MG279Q (1440p) + ASUS 22''
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
Kingston HyperX Cloud II
▲ hide details ▲
Ha-Nocri is offline  
post #145 of 147 (permalink) Old 02-11-2020, 10:21 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Nimmersatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 4
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by darkling333 View Post
Ok so judging by your image your CPU Voltage in SFI2 TFN your CPU never idles and it is always running the static value you enter in the Bios at 1.1v.

That is what i have also experienced by using my manual OC at 4.2ghz. Setting 1.35v in the Bios, on HWINFO64 under CPU Voltage SFI2 TFN its always 1.33v-1.35v for current, minimum or maximum. But when i run Ryzen Master it shows volts like 0.7v-0.8v and the cores with speed 300-500 and some with the label "sleep".

So i am actually not sure what to trust right now, i mean i also thought by setting a static value in cpu voltage through the bios it would ignore any power saving feature and constantly stay at this voltage (not that i want it too). I want to manually set the voltage in bios, because a) when i set Auto it doesn't boot for some reason and b)because using - offset results in terrible benchmark scores (due to frequency stretching).
At idle the SVI2 TFN core voltage is 1.156. At max stress it is 1.106V. Set in Bios (MSI Mortar Max, Dec. 19 Bios version) I've set 1.175V.
Nimmersatt is offline  
post #146 of 147 (permalink) Old 02-11-2020, 10:34 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Nimmersatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 4
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Ha-Nocri View Post
Everything is up-to-date and I have a 280mm AIO. It's just a bad chip. I can't do 4.2 GHz at 1.4 V. Didn't try going higher.

It boosts around 4050 MHz all cores in games. It can reach 4.2 GHz only on desktop, but if there is a slight load on a sigle core it drops to 4125/4150 MHz.

Will replace the CPU as soon as Zen 3 is out.
I thought the same until I started to reduce the voltage. Try fixed 1.2V in Bios test with Prime95 Small FFTs.
Nimmersatt is offline  
post #147 of 147 (permalink) Old 02-11-2020, 02:06 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 32
Rep: 0
After examining both of the methods of OCing a.the manual CPU voltage from bios and b.the voltage set from Ryzen Master I can definitely say that setting the voltage manually in bios doesn't let the CPU idle. Its constantly staying at the set voltage at least in my case. From RM the CPU idles as reported from HWINFO because I think the difference is that from RM you set peak voltage and not static.
darkling333 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off