Is it possible I "won" the lottery by need to RMA my Ryzen 3600? - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Is it possible I "won" the lottery by need to RMA my Ryzen 3600?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 29 (permalink) Old 09-17-2019, 04:14 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
avkdm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 45
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
fwiw I have seen a bad (incompatible?) power supply do this on an intel 6700k build (it drove me crazy, finally a third power supply - they were all high end - fixed my problem) I changed the ram, cpu, gpu, motherboard, and even SSD.


Last edited by avkdm; 09-17-2019 at 04:26 PM.
avkdm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 29 (permalink) Old 09-17-2019, 04:24 PM
Stock is too casual~
 
Veii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Austria / Bulgaria
Posts: 257
Rep: 11 (Unique: 9)
Wow what a story~
Just wanting to comment on this
Hopefully the OP should be done with those issues~

Could you track down what it rly did mess up
Plugging a LED into a power on switch / that should make it ?

LEDs if i'm right now not acting dumb ~ shouldn't short contact or ?
Why would that happen o.O ?

Personal Records
SiSandra Inter-Core Bandwith 14nm Ryzen #2 Lost by a 101Mhz FSB OC #1 :>
RAM > Viper Steel @ 3466C14 (64.2ns) & Alt | Hynix-MFR 3333CL14 (72.5ns) & Alt

GPU > Gigabyte 970 G1 @ 1595|1900 (Hynix) | RX 580 Red Devil GS @ 1620|2200 (Micron)
CPU > TR 1950X [email protected]1.2v & [email protected]1.365v[105Mhz FSB](3.23Beta)
#Main: 1700X [email protected]1.365v1.73Ghz IMC CL14 (64.2ns)」+ Dark Rock 3 | X370 Taichi 1.0.0.3 ABBA by The Stilt | Viper Steel [PVS416G400C9K]| Gigabyte 970 G1 | Samsung 850 Evo
Veii is offline  
post #23 of 29 (permalink) Old 09-17-2019, 08:30 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
fastturtle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: West Coast USA
Posts: 84
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Veil: An LED = Light Emiting Diode. It's like a one way street in that it only allows current to flow in a single direction. Connected to a Power Switch Connection, it will screw things up because once it lights up, it drops the voltage - the system gets a shutdown/reset signal.

As I'm not an EE, don't take my word for it but most likely. In any case, it's not a good situation and is one of the reasons I prefer individual connections - Yes I've seen a few cases wired wrong but with single connectors you can identify and work around some drunken idiots assembly work.

Hydra
(10 items)
CPU
AMD Ryze 5 1600
Motherboard
AsRock B450M Pro
GPU
Zotac GTX 1060
RAM
Team Elite
Hard Drive
NVME
Hard Drive
M2 Sata
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda
Hard Drive
Toshiba
Power Supply
EVGA B3
Operating System
Win7-64 Ultimate
▲ hide details ▲
fastturtle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 29 (permalink) Old 09-18-2019, 01:34 AM
Stock is too casual~
 
Veii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Austria / Bulgaria
Posts: 257
Rep: 11 (Unique: 9)
Quote: Originally Posted by fastturtle View Post
Veil: An LED = Light Emiting Diode. It's like a one way street in that it only allows current to flow in a single direction. Connected to a Power Switch Connection, it will screw things up because once it lights up, it drops the voltage - the system gets a shutdown/reset signal.

As I'm not an EE, don't take my word for it but most likely. In any case, it's not a good situation and is one of the reasons I prefer individual connections - Yes I've seen a few cases wired wrong but with single connectors you can identify and work around some drunken idiots assembly work.
Thank you , the dropping voltage part did the explanation for me

Personal Records
SiSandra Inter-Core Bandwith 14nm Ryzen #2 Lost by a 101Mhz FSB OC #1 :>
RAM > Viper Steel @ 3466C14 (64.2ns) & Alt | Hynix-MFR 3333CL14 (72.5ns) & Alt

GPU > Gigabyte 970 G1 @ 1595|1900 (Hynix) | RX 580 Red Devil GS @ 1620|2200 (Micron)
CPU > TR 1950X [email protected]1.2v & [email protected]1.365v[105Mhz FSB](3.23Beta)
#Main: 1700X [email protected]1.365v1.73Ghz IMC CL14 (64.2ns)」+ Dark Rock 3 | X370 Taichi 1.0.0.3 ABBA by The Stilt | Viper Steel [PVS416G400C9K]| Gigabyte 970 G1 | Samsung 850 Evo
Veii is offline  
post #25 of 29 (permalink) Old 09-18-2019, 05:15 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
connectwise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: an airport near you
Posts: 2,782
Rep: 44 (Unique: 42)
unbafudgingbelievable
connectwise is offline  
post #26 of 29 (permalink) Old 09-18-2019, 05:22 AM
Old to Overclock.net
 
papant7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 207
Rep: 7 (Unique: 6)
Quote: Originally Posted by connectwise View Post
unbafudgingbelievable
OT: Holy ******* hell that pic

Happened to a pc of a friend who brought it and plugged into a shorted outlet. Causing the connections from the case to cause strange behavior. Try plugging it into a diff outlet

papant7 is offline  
post #27 of 29 (permalink) Old 09-18-2019, 07:56 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
FZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 15
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Veii View Post
Wow what a story~
Just wanting to comment on this
Hopefully the OP should be done with those issues~

Could you track down what it rly did mess up
Plugging a LED into a power on switch / that should make it ?

LEDs if i'm right now not acting dumb ~ shouldn't short contact or ?
Why would that happen o.O ?
Honestly I was so disillusioned that I just tossed my case and got a new one. I didn't care to do any troubleshooting. I can tell you guys that all the connectors were plugged in properly on both boards.

The furthest testing I did was run it without any connectors and then plug them all in and it froze. Then I said screw this and got a new case.
FZero is offline  
post #28 of 29 (permalink) Old 09-18-2019, 01:13 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
munternet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 261
Rep: 7 (Unique: 4)
This is why, in the past, I have run the motherboard on a counter top with the bare minimum of peripherals when troubleshooting a stubborn problem.
One time when troubleshooting a friends PC we got down to the nitty gritty and it was still switching off after a while. I removed the cpu cooler to see if it was seated properly and it still had the plastic on it . He also didn't seat the ram all the way.
The lesson in his case....don't get blazed and build your pc

CPU
9900ks
Motherboard
Asus Maximus XI Gene
GPU
EVGA 1080 Ti Superclock 2 Black
RAM
F4-4400C19D-16GTZSW
Hard Drive
Samsung M.2 1TB 970 EVO Plus
Hard Drive
Samsung M.2 1TB 970 EVO
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200i
Cooling
EK 140D5 Pump, waterblocked CPU, Ram, GPU with 1 x 360mm and 1 x 420mm Radiators and Vardar Furious Fans
Case
ThermalTake V51
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus PG349Q 34.1 inches 3440 x 1440 pixels @ 120 Hz
Keyboard
Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
Mouse
Asus Spatha Wireless Gaming
Mouse
Ligitech G602 wireless
Mousepad
1000x500x3
Audio
Steelseries Siberia800 wireless Headset
CPU
8700k @ 5.2ghZ
Motherboard
Maximus X Hero
GPU
EVGA 1080 Ti Superclock 2 Black
RAM
32GB 1xF4-4400C19D-16GTZSW & 1xF4-4400C19D-16GTZKK
Hard Drive
Samsung M.2 1TB 970 EVO Plus
Hard Drive
Samsung M.2 1TB 970 EVO
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200i
Cooling
EK 140D5 Pump, waterblocked CPU, Ram, GPU with 1 x 360mm and 1 x 420mm Radiators and Vardar Furious Fans
Case
ThermalTake V51
Operating System
Windows 10 Lite
Monitor
Asus PG349Q 34.1 inches 3440 x 1440 pixels @ 120 Hz
Keyboard
Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
Mouse
Asus Spatha Wireless Gaming
Mouse
Ligitech G602 wireless
Mousepad
1000mm x 500mm
Audio
Steelseries Siberia800 wireless Headset
CPU
i7-4770k
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Ranger
GPU
Gigabyte NVIDIA GeForce GTX980
RAM
G.SKILL Trident X 16GB 2 x 8GB 2400 Memory F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Optical Drive
LG DVD Rom
Power Supply
PSU Coolermaster V1000W
Cooling
Custom Loop
Case
Case Thermaltake V51 Full Window
Operating System
Windows 7
Monitor
Shimian 2650x1440
Keyboard
Thermaltake Poseidon Z
Mouse
Logitech G602
▲ hide details ▲
munternet is offline  
post #29 of 29 (permalink) Old 09-19-2019, 06:29 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
FZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 15
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by munternet View Post
This is why, in the past, I have run the motherboard on a counter top with the bare minimum of peripherals when troubleshooting a stubborn problem.
One time when troubleshooting a friends PC we got down to the nitty gritty and it was still switching off after a while. I removed the cpu cooler to see if it was seated properly and it still had the plastic on it [IMG class=inlineimg]/forum/images/smilies/tongue.gif[/IMG] . He also didn't seat the ram all the way.
The lesson in his case....don't get blazed and build your pc [IMG class=inlineimg]/forum/images/smilies/smile.gif[/IMG]
This is my takeaway from this crazy experience. To run the board on a countertop before any next build.
FZero is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off