Do these Temps Seem Off? R9 3900X - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Do these Temps Seem Off? R9 3900X

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-13-2019, 11:58 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Veranor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 314
Rep: 10 (Unique: 8)
Do these Temps Seem Off? R9 3900X

Hi folks,

Been a little bit out of the game with AMD CPUs. I currently have the following components cobbled together:

CPU
AMD Ryzen R9 3900X @ 4.3GHz (PBO disabled), 1.3v

Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero Wi-Fi (latest BIOS 1001)

Memory
G.Skill TridentZ Neo 3600MHz @ 14-15-15-35 1.4v

GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 TI FTW3 (Stock)

Cooling
Corsair H150i Pro

The issue I am seeing is that under stock temps, even at 1.3v, I am approaching 40c, and under load (Cinebench R20) I am seeing temps max out around 85c. I've yet to have stability issues with this chip (so far so good) but am afraid to run it through P95 at this point. My tests so far include Cinebench, some various X264 encoding tests, and a 3-4 hour streaming session @ 1080P/60 Slow Preset.

I've removed the cooler, reapplied thermal paste, and replaced it. Cleaned it with artic cleaner and used the purifier. Paste is Arctic MX-4.

The thermal limit is 95c on these chips (from AMD site). JayzTwoCents posted a video on some of the voltages being a problem (
) and to be fair, the AUTO setting for CPU voltage was indeed too high, and Cinebench shot it up into the 100s for temperature, so I've clearly reduced that from the 1.475 the motherboard gave it.

I am going to take pictures of the BIOS settings to see if anything sticks out as me missing something. I asked other owners locally, and they said they'd expect 75c under load, but I'm exceeding that obviously.

Veranor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-14-2019, 12:32 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 18,765
Rep: 867 (Unique: 634)
How did you apply the MX-4? The pea method does not work well with Gen3, since the dies are spread apart.

Also, i think that is the vid where another tech youtuber pointed out to jay that he was using an early sample board and he had LN2 enabled in bios, so the temps were reading higher.

I would not even listen to the guy.

In this same forum there is a club for Gen 3 owners but here is one specific to the 3900.

https://forums.overclockers.co.uk/th...861505/page-20

[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by rdr09; 10-14-2019 at 12:57 AM.
rdr09 is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-14-2019, 01:40 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Veranor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 314
Rep: 10 (Unique: 8)
When I unseated the cooler the IHS was completely covered with paste.

I can reapply and cover the whole thing if need be.

When I checked the temps, the only temp that was irregular (this was with Optimized Defaults in BIOS) was the CPU, which was set to 1.475. So, after applying DOCP settings for RAM, I changed it to manual and then did 1.3v.

The 1.8 voltage was set to 2.1, so I changed that as well to 1.8.

The coolant in the H150 went up by 2 degrees (29c to 31c) during Cinebench run. H150 is set to extreme.

Considering I'm at 1.3 and folks are reporting at most 75c, it seems odd for a 360mm radiator to do worse than a Noctua D15...

Veranor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-14-2019, 02:14 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 18,765
Rep: 867 (Unique: 634)
See post# 316.

https://www.overclock.net/forum/10-a...s-club-32.html

I only have a 6 core Ryzen and i hit 75c in Prime small fft using a Noctua U12S with 2 fans. Check out the screenshot below. The red lines show where i applied the paste. It is just a suggestion. Your cooler is about as good as a D15. Maybe custom watercooling is a must to tame that beast.

It will help to undervolt by like a negative offset of 0.03v or set a Manual OC like what VPII was saying in that thread.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ryzen Dies.JPG
Views:	11
Size:	255.1 KB
ID:	300676  


[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-14-2019, 02:26 AM
The last VRM burner
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 1,780
Rep: 30 (Unique: 16)
H150i is completely overhyped cooling that is on a verge of being a joke, see Linus comparision video.

PC for all
(21 items)
CPU
i7 5775c @4.2GHz/3.8GHz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97X Gaming 5
GPU
Soon to be 2070 Super FE
RAM
KHX24C11T3K2/16X 11-12-12-32-1T-250
Hard Drive
Corsair MP510
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 860
Power Supply
SeaSonic Focus Plus 750W
Cooling
Raijintek Tisis lapped+ Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut
Cooling
Arctic P12 PWM x2
Cooling
Arctic P14 x4
Case
LianLi 330X
Operating System
Windows 10 64-bit Pro
Monitor
Samsung C24FG73FQUX
Monitor
Benq GL2250 80Hz
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe Red Silent
Mouse
SteelSeries Rival 600
Mousepad
Artisan FX Raiden
Audio
Audio in Motion SC808 + MUSES8820 + 2x 2xLME49990
Audio
AKG M220
Other
NZXT Hue+
Other
Mayflash F300 Arcade Stick
▲ hide details ▲
BroadPwns is online now  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-14-2019, 07:46 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Veranor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 314
Rep: 10 (Unique: 8)
Thanks for the pic. I adjusted thermal paste to cover the entire IHS (spread) and noticed about a 7c difference in temps during Cinebench.

I also turned off PBO and am running 4.3 on all cores @ 1.3v.

Cinebench R20 reported a better score as well and the temps did not exceed 80c under that load. I would suspect a +5c delta at least under P95.

1.3v may also be too high and I maybe could get lower.

I'm going to see how far I can get the chip to go now.

Veranor is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off