Ryzen 3600 hight temps and low boost clock - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Ryzen 3600 hight temps and low boost clock

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 27 (permalink) Old 10-16-2019, 11:24 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
RichterB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 22
Rep: 0
Ryzen 3600 hight temps and low boost clock

Hello, seems that I have an issue with my brand new Ryzen 3600. HWmonitor reports an idle temperature of 40-50 °c, and after less than 10 mins with OCCT, it's between 90 and 95°c.
Room temperature is 26-28°c
I use stock cooler and stock thermal paste. I know it's not ideal, but this can't be the only explanation.
Another problem, is that boost clock never goes above 3,8 GHz, but it should be 4,2 GHz
I have Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite bios f5b, with 16 Gb DDR4 Corsair Vengeance. And I enabled profile 1 for XMP
RichterB is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 27 (permalink) Old 10-16-2019, 12:22 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 18,769
Rep: 867 (Unique: 634)
If you use a better paste, your load should go down by about 10c.

With a better cooler like the Noctua U12s, your load should top out at 75c depending on your ambient.

Don't worry about your idle temp for now. When i used prime at stock, all the cores went up to just below 3900MHz. In Cinebench 15 or 20 Multi-thread bench, all core should go just below 4GHz.

I would advise you replace the stock paste at least with something like MX-4.

Try CPUZ bench. See if the single thread part will make one or two cores boost to 4200MHz. It could be your motherboard has an older BIOS. Older than ABBA.

Use HWINFO64.

[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #3 of 27 (permalink) Old 10-16-2019, 01:18 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
RichterB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 22
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by rdr09 View Post
If you use a better paste, your load should go down by about 10c.

With a better cooler like the Noctua U12s, your load should top out at 75c depending on your ambient.

Don't worry about your idle temp for now. When i used prime at stock, all the cores went up to just below 3900MHz. In Cinebench 15 or 20 Multi-thread bench, all core should go just below 4GHz.

I would advise you replace the stock paste at least with something like MX-4.

Try CPUZ bench. See if the single thread part will make one or two cores boost to 4200MHz. It could be your motherboard has an older BIOS. Older than ABBA.

Use HWINFO64.

Thanks.
Tomorrow I will try with another paste I already have, it's a Cooler Master something. Just to see if something changes.
I didn't understand the cpu z suggestion. The single thread part is disabled by default, and if I choose one of that presets already in cpuz, the value doesn't change.
RichterB is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 27 (permalink) Old 10-16-2019, 02:31 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 18,769
Rep: 867 (Unique: 634)
Quote: Originally Posted by RichterB View Post
Thanks.
Tomorrow I will try with another paste I already have, it's a Cooler Master something. Just to see if something changes.
I didn't understand the cpu z suggestion. The single thread part is disabled by default, and if I choose one of that presets already in cpuz, the value doesn't change.
Download here . . .

https://www.cpuid.com/softwares/cpu-z.html

There is a tab for the bench. Have HWINFO64 in the background when you bench. checkout the max clocks. Bus clock is 99.8 thus max boost is not exactly 4200MHz on two cores.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	cpuz.JPG
Views:	23
Size:	248.4 KB
ID:	301012  


[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by rdr09; 10-16-2019 at 02:39 PM.
rdr09 is offline  
post #5 of 27 (permalink) Old 10-16-2019, 03:28 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
RichterB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 22
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by rdr09 View Post
Download here . . .

https://www.cpuid.com/softwares/cpu-z.html

There is a tab for the bench. Have HWINFO64 in the background when you bench. checkout the max clocks. Bus clock is 99.8 thus max boost is not exactly 4200MHz on two cores.
On single thread it says 485.7 and on multi thread 3891.2
Hwinfo has rare peaks on 4100 and something for some cores.
RichterB is offline  
post #6 of 27 (permalink) Old 10-16-2019, 04:28 PM
Gamer
 
paulerxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New Joisey
Posts: 3,384
Rep: 72 (Unique: 62)
I have the same CPU + also using the stock cooler, I just decided to overclock all cores to 4.0ghz and be done with it. Temps hit around 85c with prime95.

swah
AMD 2019
(6 items)
CPU
ryzen 3600
Motherboard
x570 Phantom Gaming 4
GPU
5700XT
RAM
16GB DDR4 3200mhz
Hard Drive
m.2 512GB
Operating System
Windows 10
▲ hide details ▲
paulerxx is offline  
post #7 of 27 (permalink) Old 10-16-2019, 04:34 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
RichterB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 22
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by paulerxx View Post
I have the same CPU + also using the stock cooler, I just decided to overclock all cores to 4.0ghz and be done with it. Temps hit around 85c with prime95.
Ok. Room temp? And just to ask: how did you set the airflow?
RichterB is offline  
post #8 of 27 (permalink) Old 10-16-2019, 04:54 PM
Gamer
 
paulerxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New Joisey
Posts: 3,384
Rep: 72 (Unique: 62)
Quote: Originally Posted by RichterB View Post
Ok. Room temp? And just to ask: how did you set the airflow?
All fans except my GPU are set to max, with the stock cooler you can't hear much even at max. My case coolers are also silent. Average room temps, varies day-day. I don't recall exactly what the temps were when I did the tests.

swah
AMD 2019
(6 items)
CPU
ryzen 3600
Motherboard
x570 Phantom Gaming 4
GPU
5700XT
RAM
16GB DDR4 3200mhz
Hard Drive
m.2 512GB
Operating System
Windows 10
▲ hide details ▲
paulerxx is offline  
post #9 of 27 (permalink) Old 10-17-2019, 12:00 AM
AMD OVERLOCKER
 
rastaviper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: CYPRUS
Posts: 208
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Wow it seems that the 3600 has a really bad stock cooler.
I use the stock cooler at my 3600x and I have never seen any higher temps than 83 degrees during heavy benching at 4.3Ghz.

  • Ryzen 3600x @4490mhz v1.45, 2nd position at HWBOT
  • Gigabyte Aorus Elite x570
  • G-SkillLL F4-3200C15D-16GTZ Trident Z Series CL15 Bdies @3733 16-15-15-1T 1.39v
Offical Ryzen 5 3600x Owner!
rastaviper is offline  
post #10 of 27 (permalink) Old 10-17-2019, 02:25 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Bartholdi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 73
Rep: 0
Saw similar results with the stock cooler on 3600.
Kraken x62 30-40 degrees and 40-50 degrees on coolermaster 240R.

All default settings.

Ryzen 5 3600, 4.2 GHz Coolermaster 240R
x570 MEG ACE
Vengeance LPX DDR4-3200 C16 BK DC - 32GB
ASUS 1080ti STRIX with G12 & Kraken x62.
Corsair Force MP600 NVMe Gen4 M.2 - 1TB & 850 EVO pro 500GB
Moddet Silencio 650 + 4 SP120/140 corsair fans (11 fans & two pumps total)
ROG SWIFT PG348Q
Bartholdi is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off