How to actually improve PBO performance? - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

How to actually improve PBO performance?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 45 (permalink) Old 10-30-2019, 12:12 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 18,733
Rep: 866 (Unique: 633)
Quote: Originally Posted by wingman99 View Post
They made some changes on the Ryzen 3000 and single core performance will drop with -0.1v offset. see video. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JscRwIH3OAY
On my R5 3600 anything higher than 0.03 undervolt results to lower boost. That amount is enuf not to make the vcore jump to 1.47v, thus runs cooler. All core oc of 4200MHz with a positive offset of 0.25v makes it only jump to 1.38v and 1.32 at load.

Both have same load temp. I guess it varies per sku.

[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 45 (permalink) Old 10-30-2019, 07:38 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
VPII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 652
Rep: 9 (Unique: 8)
Quote: Originally Posted by wingman99 View Post
They made some changes on the Ryzen 3000 and single core performance will drop with -0.1v offset. see video. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JscRwIH3OAY
Seriously I am sitting with a 12 core processor and I really do not see the use of more single core boost. Which is why I prefer a nice manual overclock for all core.

AMD
(9 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair VII Hero
GPU
GALAX RTX 2080 TI OC
RAM
G.Skill f4-3200c14d-16gtzr tridentz rgb
Hard Drive
Crucial MX300 M.2 SSD
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200i
Cooling
CoolerMaster MLW-D24M-A20PC-R1 MasterLiquid ML240L 240mm RGB Liquid CPU Cooler
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Dell U2717D 27" UltraSharp InfinityEdge LED Monitor
▲ hide details ▲
VPII is offline  
post #23 of 45 (permalink) Old 10-31-2019, 05:30 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
MikeS3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 51
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
I'm glad I played around with negative offset. x570 Aorus Pro Wifi. I enabled PBO and just set motherboard power limits. Then, I set -0.10v offset. I'm getting some of my best all-around benchmark scores. I'm on 1.0.0.3 ABBA BIOS. Single core during CB15 stayed locked at 4525 mhz. Multi-core about 4175 for the run. Temps are about 50 C during single core and 61 C during multi with ambient temps of 19 C.

Edit: On 1.0.0.4B Bios I achieved all-time high scores for PBO. CB15 3312 and CB20 7505 on 3900x. I'm running -0.05 offset. Just PBO on. I had to use the trick posted on Reddit to override buggy EDC values. Set "0" under AMD overclocking for EDC and max out PPT and TDC. I'm glad that I did not totally write off the ne Agesa.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	PBO -0.01v offset.png
Views:	51
Size:	1.67 MB
ID:	303550  


Last edited by MikeS3000; 11-03-2019 at 07:04 PM.
MikeS3000 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 45 (permalink) Old 10-31-2019, 09:30 AM
AMD OVERLOCKER
 
rastaviper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: CYPRUS
Posts: 189
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
I see that my 3600x can't run any heavy Benchs after 4.300ghz, which I can get with manual OC for all cores.
Is there anyway that with PBO the results will be better?
I always OC manually.

  • Ryzen 3600x @4490mhz v1.45, 2nd position at HWBOT
  • Gigabyte Aorus Elite x570
  • G-SkillLL F4-3200C15D-16GTZ Trident Z Series CL15 Bdies @3733 16-15-15-1T 1.39v
Offical Ryzen 5 3600x Owner!
rastaviper is offline  
post #25 of 45 (permalink) Old 11-01-2019, 10:32 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
VPII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 652
Rep: 9 (Unique: 8)
I ran into some issues with the Agesa 1.0.0.4 Bios posted by MSI for my mobo, to the point where I had to reinstall Windows 10 as it failed really badly as in I could not even get into windows and repairing it did not work. So I've reinstalled Windows 10, literally took 4 minutes and it was up and running, so I took another try on PBO and below is the CB15 and CB20 results I got.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	CB15-PBO-3309.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	1,019.9 KB
ID:	304026  

Click image for larger version

Name:	CB20-PBO-7469.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	970.9 KB
ID:	304028  


AMD
(9 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair VII Hero
GPU
GALAX RTX 2080 TI OC
RAM
G.Skill f4-3200c14d-16gtzr tridentz rgb
Hard Drive
Crucial MX300 M.2 SSD
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200i
Cooling
CoolerMaster MLW-D24M-A20PC-R1 MasterLiquid ML240L 240mm RGB Liquid CPU Cooler
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Dell U2717D 27" UltraSharp InfinityEdge LED Monitor
▲ hide details ▲
VPII is offline  
post #26 of 45 (permalink) Old 11-02-2019, 09:21 PM
Supra
 
MadSupra354's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 74
Rep: 0
What do you guys use to test stability after undervolting? For how long?

Greyscale
(16 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus AX370 GAMING-K5Q
GPU
Radeon RX Vega 64 NITRO+
RAM
Corsair Dominator LPX
Hard Drive
Corsair Force GS
Hard Drive
WD Caviar Blue
Hard Drive
WD Caviar Black
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 650 P2
Case
Silverstone Raven 3
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
Acer Predator XB271HU
Monitor
Acer H236HLbmjd
Keyboard
Topre Realforce 104UG HiPro
Mouse
Mionix Naos 7000
Mousepad
Mionix Alioth XL
Audio
Hifiman HE-500
▲ hide details ▲
MadSupra354 is offline  
post #27 of 45 (permalink) Old 11-02-2019, 10:48 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
VPII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 652
Rep: 9 (Unique: 8)
Quote: Originally Posted by MadSupra354 View Post
What do you guys use to test stability after undervolting? For how long?
I usually only run manual overclock but at present I am doing so while running PBO. Through my manual overclocking I found that my motherboard or the bios per say is actually giving way more vcore than need be for the processor to run at all core 4.16 to 4.19ghz during PBO. My general manual overclock of 4.26ghz using 1.2375vcore or 4.3ghz using 1.3vcore is not stable during Prime95. Prime95 does not fail but I lose between 2 to 6 threads while it is running after a minute or two. I did however run Prime95 during PBO with a -0.1125vcore and found it running without an issue for about 10 minutes so I'd say it is fairly stable. Everything else would run without an issue, but Prime95 would quickly show if you need more vcore.

The clocks while running Prime95 would be about 100mhz lower than normal, but it is fine. At present running Prime95 my clocks instead of 4.16 to 4.19ghz is sitting at between 4.06 to 4.09ghz and temps at around 83c instead of 66 to 67c while running Cinebench 20.

AMD
(9 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair VII Hero
GPU
GALAX RTX 2080 TI OC
RAM
G.Skill f4-3200c14d-16gtzr tridentz rgb
Hard Drive
Crucial MX300 M.2 SSD
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200i
Cooling
CoolerMaster MLW-D24M-A20PC-R1 MasterLiquid ML240L 240mm RGB Liquid CPU Cooler
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Dell U2717D 27" UltraSharp InfinityEdge LED Monitor
▲ hide details ▲
VPII is offline  
post #28 of 45 (permalink) Old 11-03-2019, 10:58 AM
Supra
 
MadSupra354's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 74
Rep: 0
I tried undervolting dynamic vcore -.102 and I got a boot animation but then rebooted, is this supposed to happen?

Greyscale
(16 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus AX370 GAMING-K5Q
GPU
Radeon RX Vega 64 NITRO+
RAM
Corsair Dominator LPX
Hard Drive
Corsair Force GS
Hard Drive
WD Caviar Blue
Hard Drive
WD Caviar Black
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 650 P2
Case
Silverstone Raven 3
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
Acer Predator XB271HU
Monitor
Acer H236HLbmjd
Keyboard
Topre Realforce 104UG HiPro
Mouse
Mionix Naos 7000
Mousepad
Mionix Alioth XL
Audio
Hifiman HE-500
▲ hide details ▲
MadSupra354 is offline  
post #29 of 45 (permalink) Old 11-03-2019, 11:15 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 18,733
Rep: 866 (Unique: 633)
Quote: Originally Posted by MadSupra354 View Post
I tried undervolting dynamic vcore -.102 and I got a boot animation but then rebooted, is this supposed to happen?
Might be too much. Do small steps. Start with -0.03, 0.05 . . .

Dynamic vcore? Are you sure that's for the CPU?

[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #30 of 45 (permalink) Old 11-03-2019, 03:08 PM
Supra
 
MadSupra354's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 74
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by rdr09 View Post
Dynamic vcore? Are you sure that's for the CPU?
Yes, in the M.I.T. section in a Gigabyte BIOS it says it's CPU VCore. Name:  191103220138.BMP
Views: 71
Size:  2.25 MB The other option is available in AMD Overclocking in the Peripheral tab. That section is really weird though and I don't mess with it.Name:  191103220158.BMP
Views: 69
Size:  2.25 MB

Greyscale
(16 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus AX370 GAMING-K5Q
GPU
Radeon RX Vega 64 NITRO+
RAM
Corsair Dominator LPX
Hard Drive
Corsair Force GS
Hard Drive
WD Caviar Blue
Hard Drive
WD Caviar Black
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 650 P2
Case
Silverstone Raven 3
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
Acer Predator XB271HU
Monitor
Acer H236HLbmjd
Keyboard
Topre Realforce 104UG HiPro
Mouse
Mionix Naos 7000
Mousepad
Mionix Alioth XL
Audio
Hifiman HE-500
▲ hide details ▲
MadSupra354 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off