How to actually improve PBO performance? - Page 4 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

How to actually improve PBO performance?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 54 (permalink) Old 11-04-2019, 10:17 AM
I Like Beer
 
Hokies83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Roanoke VA.
Posts: 7,701
Rep: 261 (Unique: 169)
Quote: Originally Posted by MadSupra354 View Post
Quote: Originally Posted by rdr09 View Post
Dynamic vcore? Are you sure that's for the CPU?
Yes, in the M.I.T. section in a Gigabyte BIOS it says it's CPU VCore. Attachment 304300 The other option is available in AMD Overclocking in the Peripheral tab. That section is really weird though and I don't mess with it.Attachment 304302
Ah someone else who has Gigabyte’s crappy Bios,
I hate it lol,
But yes Dynamic Vcore is cpu voltage in the bios,
Mine got stable at -096 and with PBO on my vcore is between 1.35 and 1.4v without the offset it was 1.45 - 1.51
Hokies83 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 54 (permalink) Old 11-05-2019, 07:23 PM
Supra
 
MadSupra354's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 76
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Hokies83 View Post
Mine got stable at -096 and with PBO on my vcore is between 1.35 and 1.4v without the offset it was 1.45 - 1.51
Just tested -.054 for 10 minutes on AIDA64 and it's stable (and reaching 4.2GHz)! Beforehand it could get up to 1.47v. I may try -.096 later.

However, if I plan to overclock my RAM further, is it possible the RAM could show errors/be unstable when it otherwise wouldn't with a default Vcore?

Greyscale
(16 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus AX370 GAMING-K5Q
GPU
Radeon RX Vega 64 NITRO+
RAM
Corsair Dominator LPX
Hard Drive
Corsair Force GS
Hard Drive
WD Caviar Blue
Hard Drive
WD Caviar Black
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 650 P2
Case
Silverstone Raven 3
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
Acer Predator XB271HU
Monitor
Acer H236HLbmjd
Keyboard
Topre Realforce 104UG HiPro
Mouse
Mionix Naos 7000
Mousepad
Mionix Alioth XL
Audio
Hifiman HE-500
▲ hide details ▲
MadSupra354 is offline  
post #33 of 54 (permalink) Old 11-05-2019, 11:19 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 18,771
Rep: 867 (Unique: 634)
Quote: Originally Posted by MadSupra354 View Post
Just tested -.054 for 10 minutes on AIDA64 and it's stable (and reaching 4.2GHz)! Beforehand it could get up to 1.47v. I may try -.096 later.

However, if I plan to overclock my RAM further, is it possible the RAM could show errors/be unstable when it otherwise wouldn't with a default Vcore?
I suggest you put the cpu at optimized default before messing with RAM just so you'll know that any instability is caused by one not the other. Then, you can combine your undervolt with the stable RAM oc setting.

[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 54 (permalink) Old 11-06-2019, 04:56 PM
I Like Beer
 
Hokies83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Roanoke VA.
Posts: 7,701
Rep: 261 (Unique: 169)
My biggest issue was having to go into windows power plan and manually having to disable any and all power saving features to stop the Crash and idle,

Memory is fairly easy to OC on the MHz side of things at least.
Hokies83 is offline  
post #35 of 54 (permalink) Old 11-07-2019, 04:59 PM
Supra
 
MadSupra354's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 76
Rep: 0
Yea, turns out that undervolt would cause SYSTEM_SERVICE_EXCEPTION BSODs and I tested my RAM with HCI until about 300% and got a single error, so my RAM hasn't been stable this whole time. Increased TRRDS, was stable up until 400%, undervolted to -.07 and got the same BSOD.

I think I need to run HCI memtest overnight. I'm not even totally satisfied with my RAM overclock right now, but overclocking MFR is a pain in the arse.

Greyscale
(16 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus AX370 GAMING-K5Q
GPU
Radeon RX Vega 64 NITRO+
RAM
Corsair Dominator LPX
Hard Drive
Corsair Force GS
Hard Drive
WD Caviar Blue
Hard Drive
WD Caviar Black
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 650 P2
Case
Silverstone Raven 3
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
Acer Predator XB271HU
Monitor
Acer H236HLbmjd
Keyboard
Topre Realforce 104UG HiPro
Mouse
Mionix Naos 7000
Mousepad
Mionix Alioth XL
Audio
Hifiman HE-500
▲ hide details ▲
MadSupra354 is offline  
post #36 of 54 (permalink) Old 11-08-2019, 07:29 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
VPII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 669
Rep: 9 (Unique: 8)
Having being manual overclocking for longer than I would know I never really tried PBO up until about a week or two back. Firstly my manual overclock would take me to around 4.27Ghz for everyday use with 1.2375vcore. Now this is stable with everything "I" would use it for except Prime95 Small FFT. Yup I know it is not "STABLE" if not with Prime95 Small FFT. Well I don't give a damn about what you think because the processor I have will never be loaded as such when I use it everyday. Interestingly though, I never found a Prime95 manual overclock that works it would not fail as such it would just drop one, two, three sometimes 6 threads while running and still continue to run. SO when I saw this thread and the questions asked I thought I'll give it a shot.

Well I was surprised during PBO when running like Cinebench 20 I get between 4.19 and 4.14Ghz with Bclk at 100.4mhz. So I started up Prime95 and ran Small FFT. Well what do you know, it is stable at between 40.5 and 40.25 Multiplier with the same 100.4mhz BCLK. Now this is all with a -0.1125vcore off-set, and I know I can drop it even lower which I'l do and report back. Unfortunately though temps are still 83.8C max on CPU and 84.8C for highest CCD.

AMD
(9 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair VII Hero
GPU
GALAX RTX 2080 TI OC
RAM
G.Skill f4-3200c14d-16gtzr tridentz rgb
Hard Drive
Crucial MX300 M.2 SSD
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200i
Cooling
CoolerMaster MLW-D24M-A20PC-R1 MasterLiquid ML240L 240mm RGB Liquid CPU Cooler
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Dell U2717D 27" UltraSharp InfinityEdge LED Monitor
▲ hide details ▲
VPII is offline  
post #37 of 54 (permalink) Old 11-09-2019, 03:11 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
kazablanka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 447
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
To improve pbo performance you have to trick the limits
The best choice for x570 boards is to set llc to its lowest scale ,limits manual ,ppt max ,tdc max and edc to the stock limit of your cpu, for 105w tpd cpus (3800x,3900x,3950x) is 140A for 65w tdp cpus is 90A and of course scalar x10.
kazablanka is offline  
post #38 of 54 (permalink) Old 11-09-2019, 05:01 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
VPII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 669
Rep: 9 (Unique: 8)
Quote: Originally Posted by kazablanka View Post
To improve pbo performance you have to trick the limits
The best choice for x570 boards is to set llc to its lowest scale ,limits manual ,ppt max ,tdc max and edc to the stock limit of your cpu, for 105w tpd cpus (3800x,3900x,3950x) is 140A for 65w tdp cpus is 90A and of course scalar x10.
I found that setting the PPT, TDC and EDC to max works pretty well with scalar set to X 10. As for LLC, I leave it on AUTO, but I did try what you said and I first off all got lower clocks, secondly the max vcore during full core bench was sitting at 1.336 to 1.35 where as with LLC on Auto it is sitting at 1.26v and stable.

AMD
(9 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair VII Hero
GPU
GALAX RTX 2080 TI OC
RAM
G.Skill f4-3200c14d-16gtzr tridentz rgb
Hard Drive
Crucial MX300 M.2 SSD
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200i
Cooling
CoolerMaster MLW-D24M-A20PC-R1 MasterLiquid ML240L 240mm RGB Liquid CPU Cooler
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Dell U2717D 27" UltraSharp InfinityEdge LED Monitor
▲ hide details ▲
VPII is offline  
post #39 of 54 (permalink) Old 11-10-2019, 05:56 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
kazablanka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 447
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by VPII View Post
I found that setting the PPT, TDC and EDC to max works pretty well with scalar set to X 10. As for LLC, I leave it on AUTO, but I did try what you said and I first off all got lower clocks, secondly the max vcore during full core bench was sitting at 1.336 to 1.35 where as with LLC on Auto it is sitting at 1.26v and stable.
You may setting something wrong , i tried these settings with 3700x,3900x,3950x and they all had 25-75Μhz higher on all core boost at cinebench.

What clocks does 3900x has with your settings at cinebech ?

for your cpu and mobo the settings are :
llc8
ppt 1000W
tdc 360A
edc 140A
Scalar x10


the lower clocks are with: limits by motherboard ,scalar x10 llc auto
the higher are with: ppt 1000/tdc360/edc90, scalar x10 , llc8
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	auto.png
Views:	19
Size:	300.9 KB
ID:	305460  

Click image for larger version

Name:	llc.png
Views:	20
Size:	189.2 KB
ID:	305462  


Last edited by kazablanka; 11-10-2019 at 06:57 AM.
kazablanka is offline  
post #40 of 54 (permalink) Old 11-10-2019, 11:07 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
VPII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 669
Rep: 9 (Unique: 8)
Quote: Originally Posted by kazablanka View Post
You may setting something wrong , i tried these settings with 3700x,3900x,3950x and they all had 25-75Μhz higher on all core boost at cinebench.

What clocks does 3900x has with your settings at cinebech ?

for your cpu and mobo the settings are :
llc8
ppt 1000W
tdc 360A
edc 140A
Scalar x10


the lower clocks are with: limits by motherboard ,scalar x10 llc auto
the higher are with: ppt 1000/tdc360/edc90, scalar x10 , llc8
Highest clocks I get is 4.175 basically 4.19ghz with my 100.4Mhz BCLK.

AMD
(9 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair VII Hero
GPU
GALAX RTX 2080 TI OC
RAM
G.Skill f4-3200c14d-16gtzr tridentz rgb
Hard Drive
Crucial MX300 M.2 SSD
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200i
Cooling
CoolerMaster MLW-D24M-A20PC-R1 MasterLiquid ML240L 240mm RGB Liquid CPU Cooler
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Dell U2717D 27" UltraSharp InfinityEdge LED Monitor
▲ hide details ▲
VPII is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off