Is there such a thing as "bad ram overclocking slot"? x470 c7hero,zen2 cpu and 32gb ram - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Is there such a thing as "bad ram overclocking slot"? x470 c7hero,zen2 cpu and 32gb ram

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 10-25-2019, 11:28 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Synoxia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 895
Rep: 7 (Unique: 5)
Is there such a thing as "bad ram overclocking slot"? x470 c7hero,zen2 cpu and 32gb ram

Long story short. I've upgraded to 32gb, bought the same exact kit.
Warranty seal says this B-die kit is from 2018, while the 3000% HCI stable one is from 2019.
Resetted cmos, tried the same exact settings, F9 code. Ok, maybe this kit is a bit slower. Couldn't even POST 3733 with 1867 FCLK. Something is clearly wrong.
Upped vddsoc from 1.05 to 1.10. No result. 1.13, no result.
Then tried removing all dimm slot, and plugging only the newest bought 3200c14 kit and it posted 3800c16 settings.
Now, could it be that some slots on my motherboard just overclock badly? If it was the memory controller upping vddsoc would suffice... no?

EDIT: i tried running the same settings i could use with 16gb on the other 2 couple of slots and it doesnt even post. Tried 3800 with auto timings and doesn't post either.
board rma?

Tryndamere
(13 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard
Asus C7H Hero Wifi
GPU
Radeon Vega 64
RAM
G-Skill Tridentz OC 16 gb 3800 c14-16-17-16-32-48
Power Supply
EVGA G3 Gold
Cooling
Noctua D15
Case
Phanteks Enthoo pro TG
Operating System
Win 10 1903 build 18950 64bit
Monitor
Viewsonic XG2401
Keyboard
Fnatic RGB Cherry mx brown
Mouse
Logitech G Pro Wireless 950 dpi
Mousepad
Artisan ZERO Fx
Audio
JBL305
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by Synoxia; 10-25-2019 at 11:52 AM.
Synoxia is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2 (permalink) Old 10-27-2019, 08:29 AM
New to Ryzen
 
chas1723's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 267
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Some boards/memory controllers have a hard time with 4 sticks of ram. Others have problems with higher density. You will normally get worse overclocking results from having more memory.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

3800x
(18 items)
CPU
3800x
Motherboard
Asrock x570 Taichi
GPU
EVGA 980ti
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z Neo
Hard Drive
Western Digital BLACK SERIES
Hard Drive
Samsung 830 Series
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Pro Series
Hard Drive
Silicon Power M.2-2280 NVME Solid State Drive
Optical Drive
LG UH12NS29 Blu-Ray Reader, DVD/CD Writer
Power Supply
SeaSonic PRIME Ultra Titanium 750 W 80+ Titanium Certified Fully Modular ATX Power Supply
Cooling
EK EVO Copper CPU block
Cooling
EK Titan X Copper GPU block
Cooling
Alphacool NexXxos XT45 360 Radiator
Cooling
Alphacool NexXxos XT45 420 X-Flow Radiator
Cooling
Aquacomputer Aqualis 150mm
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Series Primo Aluminum ATX Full Tower Case
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
BenQ SW271 27.0" 3840x2160
▲ hide details ▲
chas1723 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off