1usmus Custom Power Plan for Ryzen 3000 Zen 2 Processors - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

1usmus Custom Power Plan for Ryzen 3000 Zen 2 Processors

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-06-2019, 07:46 AM - Thread Starter
Die-hard Gamer
 
bad_haze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 1,312
Rep: 93 (Unique: 86)
1usmus Custom Power Plan for Ryzen 3000 Zen 2 Processors

This seems to have worked for my Ryzen 5 3600. Threads are being mostly allocated to the strongest core on the CCD and then the second strongest core on that CCX. Quite impressive, really!

https://www.techpowerup.com/review/1...-2-processors/



Quote:
In this article, we will share with you a custom power plan for Windows that should have a significant impact on your 3rd generation Ryzen processor's boosting behavior, ability to leverage favored cores even without the yet-to-be-released Windows 10 19H2, yield higher boost frequencies beyond even what AGESA 1.0.0.3ABBA achieves, and lower latencies in getting the processor to respond to workloads.

The 3rd generation Ryzen processors come with an advanced and elaborate on-die power-management solution that can interact with the operating system far more frequently than older generation processors, to figure out application load and accordingly adjust the power and clock speeds of its cores.

This is a modification of the way the processor and Windows talk to each other about performance demands called CPPC (short for Collaborative Processor Performance Control) [...] with the ability to tell legitimate workloads from background noise.

Windows considers a core as "busy" even if there is only a single thread using it and moves that same thread to an idle core if one is available! Furthermore, the Windows process scheduler makes no distinction whatsoever between physical and virtual cores, nor between CCXes with their separate caches.

That means even a single-threaded workload ends up moving between CCXes, or even CCDs, and has to drag all the data that it's working on behind it, roughly every 40 milliseconds on average. In a game, multiply that by the number of effective threads the game runs. Not only that, but threads end up sharing a physical core much more often.

The underlying issue is the rate at which "Zen 2" processors and the operating system talk to each other about required processor power. This is a staggering 1 ms compared to 15 ms on most old processors.

AMD hence installs a custom power scheme via the Chipset Driver called "Ryzen Balanced Power Plan". This makes the OS and processor talk to each other every 1 ms.

We are all different electrons travelling through the same motherboard

The Star Trek Club
Tempered Gamer
(13 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard
Gigabyte AB350 Ds3H
GPU
GTX 1080 FE
RAM
G.SKILL RIPJAWS
Hard Drive
SAMSUNG 860 EVO
Hard Drive
SAMSUNG 970 EVO M.2 NVME
Power Supply
EVGA BQ 650
Cooling
Noctua nh-u12s
Case
Phantek P300 (tempered glass)
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
27" 1920x1080
Keyboard
Corsair K70 MK.2 RGB
Mouse
Corsair M65 Pro RGB
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by bad_haze; 11-06-2019 at 07:55 AM.
bad_haze is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-06-2019, 08:34 AM
AMD OVERLOCKER
 
rastaviper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: CYPRUS
Posts: 191
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
I have seen no benefit at my 3600x, as I do mostly manual OC.

After all it's written at the official thread that is better for 3800x and 3900x

Moreover, at the Gigabyte x570 thread, the Gigabyte representative seems quite skeptical about any benefits of this plan

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6003 using Tapatalk

  • Ryzen 3600x @4490mhz v1.45, 2nd position at HWBOT
  • Gigabyte Aorus Elite x570
  • G-SkillLL F4-3200C15D-16GTZ Trident Z Series CL15 Bdies @3733 16-15-15-1T 1.39v
Offical Ryzen 5 3600x Owner!
rastaviper is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-06-2019, 08:45 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Synoxia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 842
Rep: 7 (Unique: 5)
I have small benefit on my 3700x. I've noticed it basically runs at 4.375-4.350 all the time on CB single core instead of 4275-4.3, but no longer uses 4.4ghz.... what's happening here? Idk

Tryndamere
(13 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard
Asus C7H Hero Wifi
GPU
Radeon Vega 64
RAM
G-Skill Tridentz OC 16 gb 3800 c14-16-17-16-32-48
Power Supply
EVGA G3 Gold
Cooling
Noctua D15
Case
Phanteks Enthoo pro TG
Operating System
Win 10 1903 build 18950 64bit
Monitor
Viewsonic XG2401
Keyboard
Fnatic RGB Cherry mx brown
Mouse
Logitech G Pro Wireless 950 dpi
Mousepad
Artisan ZERO Fx
Audio
JBL305
▲ hide details ▲
Synoxia is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-06-2019, 08:54 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ha-Nocri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3,234
Rep: 110 (Unique: 71)
I get 50Hz more single-core boost which is a few percent more performance on low settings in AC Odyssey LOL
So no real difference on high settings.

What I'm more interested in is that when I change power plan to 'Power Saver" (or something) my idle temp lowers by 15c, but in games CPU often won't boost very high (stuck @2.2GHz).

Is there a way to make a power plan to behave cool like that on desktop, but in 3D apps to boost like balanced or high performance plan?

AMD
(11 items)
CPU
Ryzen r5 3600
Motherboard
MSI B450 Tomahawk MAX
GPU
Gigabyte 5700 XT Gaming OC (2070/940 MHz)
RAM
G-Skill TridentZ 16GB 3600MHz b-die (3800MHz CL16 1.375V)
Hard Drive
Crucial BX100 250GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Case
Fractal Design Meshify C
Monitor
ASUS MG279Q (1440p) + ASUS 22''
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
Kingston HyperX Cloud II
▲ hide details ▲
Ha-Nocri is online now  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-06-2019, 11:32 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
nangu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 35
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by Ha-Nocri View Post
I get 50Hz more single-core boost which is a few percent more performance on low settings in AC Odyssey LOL
So no real difference on high settings.

What I'm more interested in is that when I change power plan to 'Power Saver" (or something) my idle temp lowers by 15c, but in games CPU often won't boost very high (stuck @2.2GHz).

Is there a way to make a power plan to behave cool like that on desktop, but in 3D apps to boost like balanced or high performance plan?
Best way I could find was modifying the Ryzen balanced power plan to 5% Min CPU, 99% Max CPU. This way, you have 2200Mhz min and 3725Mhz Max, temps very low, and you have an almost silent system for daily use. I even use this power plan to play some games which don't need full cpu strength, or when the bottleneck is the GPU.

For more demanding workloads, I use the Ryzen High Performance plan modified to 60% Min CPU and 100% Max CPU. If you put a shortcut on your desktop to the control panel option for Power, you can change between both power plans by two clicks.
nangu is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-06-2019, 12:01 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
reqq's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 411
Rep: 8 (Unique: 8)
Tried this on my 1003 ABBA bios and for the first time i saw max boost on two cores to 4600! Cinebench R15 score didnt increase. Geekbench 4 score increased slightly. Im seeing much lower idle temp down to like 35-39c with stock cooler.

[3900x][MSI X570GamingProCarbon][Ripjaws 3600CL16][Vega64][DELL S2417DG][Model O-][Steelseries QCK][HyperX MX Brown]
reqq is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-06-2019, 02:30 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Synoxia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 842
Rep: 7 (Unique: 5)
@1usmus is this intended as a full performance plan or balanced? Can we modify 99% min to 100%?

Tryndamere
(13 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard
Asus C7H Hero Wifi
GPU
Radeon Vega 64
RAM
G-Skill Tridentz OC 16 gb 3800 c14-16-17-16-32-48
Power Supply
EVGA G3 Gold
Cooling
Noctua D15
Case
Phanteks Enthoo pro TG
Operating System
Win 10 1903 build 18950 64bit
Monitor
Viewsonic XG2401
Keyboard
Fnatic RGB Cherry mx brown
Mouse
Logitech G Pro Wireless 950 dpi
Mousepad
Artisan ZERO Fx
Audio
JBL305
▲ hide details ▲
Synoxia is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off