Overclock Ryzen 2000/3000 and AMQ Cool & Quiet - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Overclock Ryzen 2000/3000 and AMQ Cool & Quiet

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-07-2019, 03:04 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
BlueKnight83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 6
Rep: 0
Overclock Ryzen 2000/3000 and AMQ Cool & Quiet

Hello boys,

I have a problem whit my overclocked Ryzen 7 3700X and my MSI X470 Gaming Pro Carbon.

When I overclock my CPU through th BIOS , setting an X number in "CPU Multiplier" , and at the same time Cool n Quiet is enable, the CPU frequency stay lock in Windows at the frequency I choose in BIOS.
I have already write at MSI Support, and they reply me that it's normal and is a bug of all AM4 motherboad.
I don't thing that this thing is possible, AMD C'n'Q and Intel Speedstep exist since the time on Athlon 64 and first generation of Intel Core architecture!

Someone have the same problem, or as I think, is problem of the MSI GSE Lite bios?

Thank you.
BlueKnight83 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-07-2019, 05:47 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
CravinR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 16,318
Rep: 985 (Unique: 751)
In all ryzen setting a custom cpu speed disables cool and quiet

This is true of :

Asus B450M CSV
MSI B450m Gaming Plus
MSI X470 Gaming Plus
Gigabyte x370 gaming
Gigabyte b350 gaming 3

R7 [email protected] EVGA GTX1070ti https://valid.x86.fr/tim79f
R7 [email protected] MSI 980ti https://valid.x86.fr/jxeld9
R7 [email protected] Gigabyte RX480 8gb https://valid.x86.fr/r5kdfu
R5 2600 XFX RX570 4gb https://valid.x86.fr/19yuea
Ryzen 1700x 980ti
(9 items)
Asus G75vw
(9 items)
CPU
3700x
Motherboard
MSI X470 Gaming Plus
GPU
EVGA 1070ti 8gb
RAM
G.Skill 16gb FlareX 3200mhz
Hard Drive
Samsung 1tb m..2
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 500
Hard Drive
WD 3tb
Power Supply
Seasonic 1050x
Cooling
Gammax 400
Case
Coolermaster Masterbox
CPU
ryzen 7 1700x
Motherboard
MSI B450M Gaming Plus
GPU
MSI 980ti Armor 2X
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ 16gb 3200mhz (2x8gb)
Hard Drive
Team 1tb ssd
Hard Drive
WD 3tB Blue
Power Supply
Corsair 750watt semi-modular
Cooling
Gammax 400
Case
Deepcool Tesseract Blue
CPU
i7-3610QM
Motherboard
Asus Laptop
GPU
Nvidia GTX 660m 2gb
RAM
16 gb 1600mhz (4x4gb)
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 500 gb
Hard Drive
Seagate 750gb 7200rpm
Optical Drive
Asus DVDRW
Operating System
Windows 7 x64
Monitor
17.3" 1080P
▲ hide details ▲


CravinR1 is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-07-2019, 11:10 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
BlueKnight83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 6
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by CravinR1 View Post
In all ryzen setting a custom cpu speed disables cool and quiet

This is true of :

Asus B450M CSV
MSI B450m Gaming Plus
MSI X470 Gaming Plus
Gigabyte x370 gaming
Gigabyte b350 gaming 3
Thank you for your reply!

So, this is a problem that you find personally on this MB, or it's only a list o know MB that have this bug?
BlueKnight83 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-08-2019, 12:00 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 18,784
Rep: 867 (Unique: 634)
It is just the clock speed that stays. The vcore, power, and temps should settle to idle.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	42 idle.JPG
Views:	26
Size:	182.8 KB
ID:	305106  


[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-08-2019, 12:22 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
BlueKnight83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 6
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by rdr09 View Post
It is just the clock speed that stays. The vcore, power, and temps should settle to idle.
Thank. Yes, I know this..but i would that also frequency get down. I doesn't understand how is possible that AMD doesn't resolve yet this problem that occurs at many users by months....
BlueKnight83 is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-08-2019, 12:46 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 18,784
Rep: 867 (Unique: 634)
Quote: Originally Posted by BlueKnight83 View Post
Thank. Yes, I know this..but i would that also frequency get down. I doesn't understand how is possible that AMD doesn't resolve yet this problem that occurs at many users by months....
The temperature reading is what's important. If in check, then it will not affect the longevity of the cpu. No big deal.

[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-08-2019, 01:05 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
bluechris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Athens - Greece
Posts: 110
Rep: 0
You use the balance profile? I altered that profile by putting the cpu minimum to 40% and now in idle my cores go to 2200mhz and this is my cool and quiet since my Aorus Pro doesn't have this setting.

bluechris is online now  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-08-2019, 03:29 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
BlueKnight83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 6
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by bluechris View Post
You use the balance profile? I altered that profile by putting the cpu minimum to 40% and now in idle my cores go to 2200mhz and this is my cool and quiet since my Aorus Pro doesn't have this setting.
I don't understand your suggestion:we are talking about an overclocked CPU that doesn't change its frequency also is in idle.
If I change the power profile in Windows, the frequency continue to be the same.
BlueKnight83 is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-08-2019, 03:34 PM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,988
Rep: 1128 (Unique: 648)
a Ryzen CPU would not be stable a 400-500mv @ 4.2, even in low load. Either the clock speed is being read incorrect or the CPU voltage is.

if it's the former then it's just annoying but not really an issue, if it's the latter then it's still not really an issue aside from dumping heat into your room and your power bill being a few dollars higher.

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(10 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 32GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
HP EX950 NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 480GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU 27" 1440p
Monitor
LG 24UD58 24" 4K
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
SMSL SA50 + FiiO E10K
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Polk Audio PSW111
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Hard Drive
ADATA SU800 128GB M.2
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Operating System
MX Linux
Keyboard
Dierya DK63-BT 60% (Outemu Blue)
Mouse
Logitech M510
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 11-09-2019, 05:08 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 21
Rep: 0
When ryzen is in a c6 state it's voltage is 0.4v and frequency is basically 0, I think zen 2 actually report this correctly and zen+ will just report the frequency from before the core entered c6 state.
The zen 2's go down to 0.2v in c6 derbauer did a video when the new zen2 came out measuring voltage from the back of the board.

Last edited by 2600ryzen; 11-09-2019 at 05:14 AM.
2600ryzen is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off