Does PBO just not really do anything? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Does PBO just not really do anything?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 33 (permalink) Old 11-21-2019, 03:05 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Echoa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: IL, United States
Posts: 1,377
Rep: 72 (Unique: 54)
Does PBO just not really do anything?

I just a few days ago moved from a 1600 to a 3600 and was interested to test out PBO + Auto OC. Im on a Gigabyte x470 Gaming 7 mobo so maybe that part of it but it seems like enabling PBO does nothing what so ever to change my clocks. I still boost to 3.92ghz all core load, still cap at 4.17ghz, and still see the same 1.35-1.375v all core.

Ive been Googling for 2 days thinking im just stupid and dont know how this works but its difficult to find anything regarding Gigabyte x470 + Ryzen 3k involving how to use PBO.

What little info I have been able to find is not to undervolt because you will drop clocks, and some saying PBO is broken/worthless.

Does anyone know how to properly setup PBO on Gigabyte boards or should i just leave it be because PBO is stupid?

Toxic-DT
(20 items)
Toxic-LT
(14 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard
Gigabyte X470 AORUS GAMING 7 WIFI
GPU
PNY XLR8 GTX 1080ti
RAM
Gskill Aegis
Hard Drive
Intel 545s
Hard Drive
Intel 545s
Hard Drive
Sandisk x100
Hard Drive
Sandisk x100
Power Supply
Seasonic G Series 650w
Cooling
Cryorig H5
Cooling
Arctic Accelero Xtreme III
Case
Define R5
Operating System
Manjaro Budgie
Monitor
Dell S2415h
Keyboard
Azio MK Retro
Mouse
Logitech G302
Audio
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Audio
Monoprice Retro Heaphones
Audio
Monoprice Vocal Dynamic Mic
Audio
Edifier r980t
CPU
I7 2960xm
Motherboard
Dell M6600
GPU
Firepro m6100
RAM
16gb Hynix DDR3 1600
Hard Drive
Mushkin Eco3
Hard Drive
OCZ Vertex 2
Hard Drive
Toshiba 128GB mSATA
Power Supply
Delta 240w PSU
Cooling
Stock m6600
Operating System
Manjaro Xfce
Monitor
1920x1080 Matte M6600 Screen
Keyboard
M6600 Keyboard
Mouse
Logitech G302
Other
Wireless 375 Bluetooth
▲ hide details ▲
Echoa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 33 (permalink) Old 11-21-2019, 03:57 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Echoa View Post
I just a few days ago moved from a 1600 to a 3600 and was interested to test out PBO + Auto OC. Im on a Gigabyte x470 Gaming 7 mobo so maybe that part of it but it seems like enabling PBO does nothing what so ever to change my clocks. I still boost to 3.92ghz all core load, still cap at 4.17ghz, and still see the same 1.35-1.375v all core.



Ive been Googling for 2 days thinking im just stupid and dont know how this works but its difficult to find anything regarding Gigabyte x470 + Ryzen 3k involving how to use PBO.



What little info I have been able to find is not to undervolt because you will drop clocks, and some saying PBO is broken/worthless.



Does anyone know how to properly setup PBO on Gigabyte boards or should i just leave it be because PBO is stupid?
Pbo is stupid

Sent from my POCO F1 using Tapatalk
zzavior is offline  
post #3 of 33 (permalink) Old 11-21-2019, 04:05 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
oile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 113
Rep: 4 (Unique: 3)
Exact Same situation as yours. Don't worry, you probably have done everything right. Pbo is limited from silicon quality, agesa bugs, and temps. On 3600 wich have the worst silicon quality, it doesn't do anything unless you have a golden sample and OP liquid cooling
oile is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 33 (permalink) Old 11-21-2019, 04:42 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Echoa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: IL, United States
Posts: 1,377
Rep: 72 (Unique: 54)
Quote: Originally Posted by oile View Post
Exact Same situation as yours. Don't worry, you probably have done everything right. Pbo is limited from silicon quality, agesa bugs, and temps. On 3600 wich have the worst silicon quality, it doesn't do anything unless you have a golden sample and OP liquid cooling
Glad Im not alone, seems like its sort of useless when AMD claims it should give the 3600 a larger boost than others based on vague slides but w.e

Im just gonna go for a simple 4.2ghz Manual OC as that literally all i want is 4-4.2ghz all core and Im sure i can likely do it at lower temps than PBO/PB can manage it.

Toxic-DT
(20 items)
Toxic-LT
(14 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard
Gigabyte X470 AORUS GAMING 7 WIFI
GPU
PNY XLR8 GTX 1080ti
RAM
Gskill Aegis
Hard Drive
Intel 545s
Hard Drive
Intel 545s
Hard Drive
Sandisk x100
Hard Drive
Sandisk x100
Power Supply
Seasonic G Series 650w
Cooling
Cryorig H5
Cooling
Arctic Accelero Xtreme III
Case
Define R5
Operating System
Manjaro Budgie
Monitor
Dell S2415h
Keyboard
Azio MK Retro
Mouse
Logitech G302
Audio
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Audio
Monoprice Retro Heaphones
Audio
Monoprice Vocal Dynamic Mic
Audio
Edifier r980t
CPU
I7 2960xm
Motherboard
Dell M6600
GPU
Firepro m6100
RAM
16gb Hynix DDR3 1600
Hard Drive
Mushkin Eco3
Hard Drive
OCZ Vertex 2
Hard Drive
Toshiba 128GB mSATA
Power Supply
Delta 240w PSU
Cooling
Stock m6600
Operating System
Manjaro Xfce
Monitor
1920x1080 Matte M6600 Screen
Keyboard
M6600 Keyboard
Mouse
Logitech G302
Other
Wireless 375 Bluetooth
▲ hide details ▲
Echoa is offline  
post #5 of 33 (permalink) Old 11-21-2019, 04:47 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
oile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 113
Rep: 4 (Unique: 3)
Probably a 4.1/4125 is doable in manual under 1.33v. Let us know
oile is online now  
post #6 of 33 (permalink) Old 11-21-2019, 05:36 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by oile View Post
Probably a 4.1/4125 is doable in manual under 1.33v. Let us know
My pbo goes 4.1 on 1375

Sent from my POCO F1 using Tapatalk
zzavior is offline  
post #7 of 33 (permalink) Old 11-21-2019, 05:42 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 18,851
Rep: 868 (Unique: 634)
Quote: Originally Posted by zzavior View Post
My pbo goes 4.1 on 1375

Sent from my POCO F1 using Tapatalk
Might as well set optimized default in BIOS. Your R5 3600 should boost at least two cores to 4200MHz. Either that or manual oc to 4200MHz on all cores but try to get it at a vcore 1.33v OR lower at load.

[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #8 of 33 (permalink) Old 11-21-2019, 07:04 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
makkara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 35
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
PBO increases maximum CPU power consumption. Check Cinebench with PBO on/off.

Air PC-O11 Dynamic
(9 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard
MSI B450 TOMAHAWK MAX
GPU
Sapphire RX 5700 XT Pulse
RAM
G.Skill 16GB (2 x 8GB) Ripjaws V, F4-3600C16D-16GVK, OC 3800 16-17-16-32 @1.376 V
Hard Drive
Corsair Force MP510 1TB NVMe
Power Supply
Seasonic FOCUS Plus 750 Gold
Cooling
Scythe Fuma 2
Cooling
Noctua NF-F12 PWM chromax.black.swap
Case
Lian Li PC-O11 Dynamic
▲ hide details ▲
makkara is offline  
post #9 of 33 (permalink) Old 11-21-2019, 04:57 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Echoa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: IL, United States
Posts: 1,377
Rep: 72 (Unique: 54)
OK so a little update

I've begun to figure out how mobo + PBO works, it seems that on Default Gigabyte enables PBO called Core Performance Enhancement/Boost I forget what exactly at the moment so im calling it CPE and is why I wasn't seeing a real difference

Gigabyte has 3 places with PBO, CPE I mentioned before under CPU settings, PBO under the AMD CBS->XFR Enhancement. And PBO under AMD Overlocking.

I disabled CPE and left the others at auto which returned the CPU to bone stock behavior, This gave me 4-4.2ghz boost along with 3.6ghz all core. Then Simply enabling CPE enables PBO and causes the 3.92ghz all core boostingbut there's catches to that also.

The 3.92ghz boost is only under the absolute heaviest loads, when under normal multi core workloads it boosts 4-4.1ghz all core but I have still yet to see a single core go beyond 4.17ghz so the +200mhz auto OC still appears to do absolutely nothing.

I was able to get a Stable 4.15ghz all core oc @ 1.3v but would have odd spikes to 90c for a min or 2 before settling back to 70c during prime load. I'm not sure why considering PBO uses similar voltage @ 3.92ghz with less heat.

I'll keep testing to get a better idea of how this all works.

Toxic-DT
(20 items)
Toxic-LT
(14 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard
Gigabyte X470 AORUS GAMING 7 WIFI
GPU
PNY XLR8 GTX 1080ti
RAM
Gskill Aegis
Hard Drive
Intel 545s
Hard Drive
Intel 545s
Hard Drive
Sandisk x100
Hard Drive
Sandisk x100
Power Supply
Seasonic G Series 650w
Cooling
Cryorig H5
Cooling
Arctic Accelero Xtreme III
Case
Define R5
Operating System
Manjaro Budgie
Monitor
Dell S2415h
Keyboard
Azio MK Retro
Mouse
Logitech G302
Audio
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Audio
Monoprice Retro Heaphones
Audio
Monoprice Vocal Dynamic Mic
Audio
Edifier r980t
CPU
I7 2960xm
Motherboard
Dell M6600
GPU
Firepro m6100
RAM
16gb Hynix DDR3 1600
Hard Drive
Mushkin Eco3
Hard Drive
OCZ Vertex 2
Hard Drive
Toshiba 128GB mSATA
Power Supply
Delta 240w PSU
Cooling
Stock m6600
Operating System
Manjaro Xfce
Monitor
1920x1080 Matte M6600 Screen
Keyboard
M6600 Keyboard
Mouse
Logitech G302
Other
Wireless 375 Bluetooth
▲ hide details ▲
Echoa is offline  
post #10 of 33 (permalink) Old 11-21-2019, 05:30 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,876
Rep: 218 (Unique: 175)
What are you using to check the clocks? I was seeing over 4.3GHz in HwInfo with AutoOC +200, it kept crashing during games though.

If you can keep your beer while all about you are spilling theirs and blaming it on you, then you'd be a playa, my brutha. - Dudyard Broling
gamervivek is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off