AMD Threadripper 3000: 30% faster at 30% lower power - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

AMD Threadripper 3000: 30% faster at 30% lower power

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 17 (permalink) Old 11-29-2019, 05:13 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
FlanK3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Czech republic*Brno city
Posts: 1,447
Rep: 163 (Unique: 112)
That ares true man words

Ryzen Threadripper TBD ,-), Ryzen Threadripper 1950X, Ryzen 7 2700X, Ryzen 5 2400G, Ryzen 7 1800X, Ryzen 7 1700X, Ryzen 5 1500X, Ryzen 5 1600X, FX-8320E, FX-8370, FX-8370E, 2x FX-9590, 4x AMD FX-8350, 2x FX-8320, 2xFX-8300, 4xAMD FX-8150, AMD FX-8120 95W, AMD FX-8120 125W, AMD Phenom II x6 1100T BE, AMD Phenom II x6 1090T BE 4.3 GHz stable, AMD Phenom II x 980 BE, Phenom II x4 975 BE,Phenom II x4 970 BE, 2x Phenom II x4 965 BE C3, Phenom II x4 965 BE C2, Athlon 860K, Athlon 845, A10-7870K, 2xA10-7850K, 2x A10-7700K, A10-6800K, A10-6800B, A8-6600K, A10-5800K, A8-5600K, A10-3870K, A8-3850, Athlon 5150 Kabini,Intel core i9-7900X, Intel core i7-6950X, Intel core i7-5960X, core i7-3930K, i7-980X,3x Intel core i7-8700K, i7-7700K,i3-7350K, 2x i7-6700K, i5-6600K, i7-4770K, i7-3770K, i7-2600K
AMD AIR cooling challenge Cinebench R10
FlanK3r is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 17 (permalink) Old 11-29-2019, 05:42 PM
Invalid Media
 
J7SC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 1,091
Rep: 40 (Unique: 20)
Quote: Originally Posted by elmor View Post
Maybe with 64C

Will be great to watch you (again) with LN2, this time w/ 64c...also, there's that chap who does the Elmorlabs I2c_super (x14+++* infinity / 7nm x 8 ) Oh, wait...
J7SC is online now  
post #13 of 17 (permalink) Old 11-30-2019, 12:20 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Hwgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 615
Rep: 14 (Unique: 12)
OMG 3990X under LN2.... We gonna need new Benchmarks to stress it :-).
I see same Max Clock on 3950X/3970X in CB with LN2 WR's, so looks like that even the 3990X could do over 5Ghz... OMG the scores gonna be Epyc!
Hwgeek is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-01-2019, 05:07 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Tyrael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 50
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Any AMD Ryzen Threadripper 3xxx owner here? Maybe someone can answer me my question Is it possible to dissable cores in the bios and only enable them if you need them for your workloads? The idle watt usage is very high in my opinion.

Be Quiet Dark Base Pro 900 - AMD Ryzen 1800x - AData XPG Z1 64 GB DDR4 - XFX RX Vega 56
ASRock Fatal1ty X370 Professional Gaming - Samsung NVM 960 Pro- Seasonic 760w Platinum
NZXT x62 Kraken - Pioneer BD-RW - Corsair K95 RGB - Logitech G700 - Evoluent Vertical Mouse
Tyrael is offline  
post #15 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-01-2019, 05:59 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Having found a 3960X locally, I am putting together a system. AMD3960X, Liquitech TR4 II 360 AIO cooler(covers full surface area of Die), Aorus 1TB NVMe Gen4 SSD, Ballistix 4X8GB DDR4000 memory on an Asrock Taichi motherboard. Concerned about memory timing. Does it make sense to reduce memory clock to 3600(the 4000 chips were only fast ones in stock in a 4X8GB kit)? Waiting for Fractal Design Meshify Case from Newegg which was sent by slow truck across country even though I paid for 2nd day delivery so I haven't been able to start assembly yet.
Zver1 is offline  
post #16 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-06-2019, 11:37 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
I have not played around with it much yet but I believe Ryzen Master will allow you to disable cores (Available from AMD overclocking utility) This can be useful if a game or other app can not use all cores. You can disable cores to spread heat dissipation more widely and overclock a little faster on remaining cores. This is also an advantage of the 3960 vs the 3970: fewer cores means power budget per core goes up(higher clock possible and turbo modr sustained longer).
Zver1 is offline  
post #17 of 17 (permalink) Old 12-07-2019, 08:47 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
elmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 858
Rep: 344 (Unique: 154)
Quote: Originally Posted by Tyrael View Post
Any AMD Ryzen Threadripper 3xxx owner here? Maybe someone can answer me my question Is it possible to dissable cores in the bios and only enable them if you need them for your workloads? The idle watt usage is very high in my opinion.

How high is your idle power consumption and where do you measure? You can disable cores in BIOS, but not on-the-fly in the OS.
elmor is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off