Now Im doubting which 3000 AMD CPU to get - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Now Im doubting which 3000 AMD CPU to get

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-28-2019, 03:01 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Turtle Rig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 329
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Thank you all for your replys,, Just having lots of anxiety about this..... Ive been on my 4930k for 7 years,, I wanna do things right ya know.


CPU
Intel 10980XE @ Stock
Motherboard
Gigabyte x299x Aorus Master
GPU
Gigabyte WF RTX 2080
RAM
Corsair Dominator Platinum RGB @ 64GB 3200Mhz CL16 Quad Channel
Hard Drive
Corsair MP510 1TB M.2 Gen 3 Samsung 950 Pro M.2 500GB 850 Pro 500GB Crucial M4 500GB LaCie External 2TB Porsche Design & 500GB eSATA
Power Supply
Corsair AX1600i Platinum Corsair 330r Blackout Edition Case
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro RGB @ Noctua NF-14's Intake NF-14 Exhaust NF-P12
Monitor
AOC 40" Curved 4k LG 55" C9 OLED G-Sync 120hz
Keyboard
Logitech G915 Linear Wireless
Mouse
Logitech G Pro Wireless
Mousepad
SteelSeries Small
Audio
Logitech G935 Wireless Scarlett 2i2 Audio Interface KRK Rokits 10" & Sennheiser HD 650 & 4.5.0 BTNC SL 88 Grand Cakewalk By BandLab
▲ hide details ▲
Turtle Rig is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-28-2019, 03:18 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 20,224
Rep: 580 (Unique: 324)
3900x is to 3950x as 4930k was to 4960x

3900x is doing it right. you're delaying yourself over 1-2 fps, and 1-2 seconds elsewhere.

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is offline  
post #13 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-28-2019, 03:30 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Turtle Rig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 329
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by skupples View Post
3900x is to 3950x as 4930k was to 4960x

3900x is doing it right. you're delaying yourself over 1-2 fps, and 1-2 seconds elsewhere.

Thank you REP for you. I understand what your saying. But I use it as DAW ...... so maybe 4 more cores can give it head room. The project would have to be huge 100 VSTis and 40 plugins and I want CPU usage to be 60 to 70 percent. But with 16 core that would be I would be at 50 percent max cpu usage,, You see, I have headroom,, to open up more VSTis and add more plugins on huge projects and what not.


CPU
Intel 10980XE @ Stock
Motherboard
Gigabyte x299x Aorus Master
GPU
Gigabyte WF RTX 2080
RAM
Corsair Dominator Platinum RGB @ 64GB 3200Mhz CL16 Quad Channel
Hard Drive
Corsair MP510 1TB M.2 Gen 3 Samsung 950 Pro M.2 500GB 850 Pro 500GB Crucial M4 500GB LaCie External 2TB Porsche Design & 500GB eSATA
Power Supply
Corsair AX1600i Platinum Corsair 330r Blackout Edition Case
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro RGB @ Noctua NF-14's Intake NF-14 Exhaust NF-P12
Monitor
AOC 40" Curved 4k LG 55" C9 OLED G-Sync 120hz
Keyboard
Logitech G915 Linear Wireless
Mouse
Logitech G Pro Wireless
Mousepad
SteelSeries Small
Audio
Logitech G935 Wireless Scarlett 2i2 Audio Interface KRK Rokits 10" & Sennheiser HD 650 & 4.5.0 BTNC SL 88 Grand Cakewalk By BandLab
▲ hide details ▲
Turtle Rig is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-28-2019, 03:45 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 20,224
Rep: 580 (Unique: 324)
ahhh, but have you factored in all the accelerated project time you'll lose while waiting on stock with no currently announced refill date? You can always flip the 3900x at a small loss & step up to 3950x. That may be the better route anyways, wait until 3950x is on a second stepping so any first run issues we haven't heard about yet due to the record low # of 1st adopters are gone.

^ lots of spit

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off