Worst FX-8320 ever to be made! - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Worst FX-8320 ever to be made!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 47 (permalink) Old 12-29-2019, 08:34 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
cssorkinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9,988
Rep: 499 (Unique: 279)
Quote: Originally Posted by Ahnt View Post
Yeah, I've just been running the hell out of it. The ram can and has ran at 2133 9-12-11-34 1T on an intel system, but running CPU-NB anything above 2400mhz (even at 1.45v) or 2133 just doesn't work. I haven't tried pulling two sticks tho.



I bought two non working boards. I fixed a trace on the back of this board I'm using now and it's fine. The other board had the LPCIO chip bashed in from a bad GPU install. Bunch of bent pins. I separated the pins, but I have to jump the board (power on switch doesn't work) off the LPCIO to get it to boot. So one is 100% working and the other is okay for a test bench.
If the Intel system had a gen 3 or older chip, you should be able to match the ram frequency with Vishera - the 4th gen was a pretty good leap forward and generally was capable of better ram clocks than Vishera.

My 4790k would run dommy plats at 2933mhz as a daily whereas the same kit on FX would peter out at 2650 without some extreme measures.

I've seen a 10 C drop in core temps yield 200mhz in stable overclocks with some chips, too bad you don't have better cooling. I've had a couple dozen FX's run through my hands and the only 8320 had 7 of the best cores and one of the worst and it just happened to be one the first module so I couldn't shut it off .


cssorkinman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 47 (permalink) Old 12-29-2019, 09:14 AM
High IQ Person
 
DAM20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Italy
Posts: 311
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
Quote: Originally Posted by Ahnt View Post
Yeah, I've just been running the hell out of it. The ram can and has ran at 2133 9-12-11-34 1T on an intel system, but running CPU-NB anything above 2400mhz (even at 1.45v) or 2133 just doesn't work. I haven't tried pulling two sticks tho.



I bought two non working boards. I fixed a trace on the back of this board I'm using now and it's fine. The other board had the LPCIO chip bashed in from a bad GPU install. Bunch of bent pins. I separated the pins, but I have to jump the board (power on switch doesn't work) off the LPCIO to get it to boot. So one is 100% working and the other is okay for a test bench.
My 8320 couldn't handle 2400 for NB clock, 2300 max, but on a 990 board was able to hit 2450 without any issue.

Yeetus
(10 items)
Brother's heater
(10 items)
CPU
Ryzen 2700X (10x -0.8125 LLC1)
Motherboard
Crosshair VII Hero (WiFi)
GPU
Sapphire RX 5700XT Nitro+ SE
RAM
G.Skill 3466 C14
Hard Drive
Crucial P1
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda
Power Supply
XFX XTR P1-750B-BEFX
Cooling
NH-D15 AM4
Case
Dark Base 900 Pro
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
CPU
Ryzen 2600X (10x -0.05 LLC1)
Motherboard
ROG STRIX X470-F GAMING
GPU
XFX RX480 GTR (580 BIOS) 1400/2010
RAM
Vengeance LPX 3466 c16
Hard Drive
Crucial P1
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda
Power Supply
ANTEC HCG-750-GOLD
Cooling
Corsair H100i
Case
NZXT H510i
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
▲ hide details ▲
DAM20 is offline  
post #13 of 47 (permalink) Old 12-29-2019, 09:31 AM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 39,381
Rep: 2808 (Unique: 1658)
The PSU in the OP is not very good which might have something to do with why it runs so bad
https://www.overclock.net/forum/31-p...-cx750-v1.html

Dreissen
(27 items)
Seravee
(18 items)
CPU
Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard
Asrock x570 Taichi
GPU
MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
RAM
G Skill TridentZ
Hard Drive
Corsair Force MP510 1,92 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST14000NE0008
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf ST12000VN0007
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST12000NE0007
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST16000NE000
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-U12S Chromax
Case
Phanteks Luxe 2
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mousepad
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
RHA L1 Dacamp
Audio
Sennheiser HD 599
Audio
Dali E 12 F
Audio
2x Dali Opticon 1
Audio
2x Dali Opticon 2
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Other
Vegas MBA 60cm LED Strip
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
GTX 1060 3 GB wth blower style cooler
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus GX 650 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
AOC 24G2U
Keyboard
Corsair Gaming STRAFE RGB Mechanical
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mousepad
Roccat Sense Metor
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Other
CableMod 30 CM Magnetic Red LED strip
Monitor
LG 24MP59G-P
Mouse
Logitech MX518 Hero
Other
Delock PCI-E to M.2 NVME Adaptor Card
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 47 (permalink) Old 12-29-2019, 09:37 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mirzet1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina
Posts: 418
Rep: 21 (Unique: 16)
I still have FX 8320 capable 4.7GHZ with 1.428 very good chip, but R5 3600 is better.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	47g.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	314.1 KB
ID:	314744  

Click image for larger version

Name:	superPI.png
Views:	22
Size:	1.13 MB
ID:	314746  

Click image for larger version

Name:	R203600.PNG
Views:	17
Size:	1.02 MB
ID:	314748  




Last edited by mirzet1976; 12-29-2019 at 09:43 AM.
mirzet1976 is offline  
post #15 of 47 (permalink) Old 12-29-2019, 06:42 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Ahnt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 956
Rep: 63 (Unique: 49)
Quote: Originally Posted by DAM20 View Post
That's really garbage lol

My old 8320 did 4.5Ghz with 1.475v, and people still told me was too high, but the 9590 I had was doing 4.6Ghz 1.45v.
Yes, its a voltage hog for sure. Screw it, I'll keep giving it voltage until something gives up.

Quote: Originally Posted by Redwoodz View Post
I have the same board with an 8320e and 2800MHz ram which ran at 2200CL10 on my 6300...which did 5.1 GHz @1.57v.

I have spent maybe 3-4 hrs on the 8320e so far and it's pure &^#$...have not even posted anything over 4.5 so I mothballed to the closet for later tinkering. Had real hard time getting RAM set, and some reason I only get 1 stick showing SPD in CPUID, even though windows shows 8GB installed. I may have stepped on of the RAM modules some time back so idk.

https://valid.x86.fr/1l21am
I experience the same. Anything over about 2000mhz it just flakes out. No matter what timings, ram voltage or CPU/NB voltage it just throws errors out or crashes. Even getting CPU/NB frequency anything above 2400mhz needs in the neighborhood of 1.425-1.45v to be some-what stable.

On the bright side tho, I did manage to get 4.7 stable at 1.584v peak with IBT AVX. Zero thermal throttling as well. The low dips were me doing stuff in the background
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	avx.PNG
Views:	16
Size:	586.3 KB
ID:	314790  


Ahnt is offline  
post #16 of 47 (permalink) Old 12-29-2019, 06:47 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Ahnt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 956
Rep: 63 (Unique: 49)
Quote: Originally Posted by shilka View Post
The PSU in the OP is not very good which might have something to do with why it runs so bad
https://www.overclock.net/forum/31-p...-cx750-v1.html
Interesting. I just checked, I do have the V2 version of it. It's never really given me any issues... yet.

Ahnt is offline  
post #17 of 47 (permalink) Old 12-29-2019, 06:53 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Ahnt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 956
Rep: 63 (Unique: 49)
Quote: Originally Posted by cssorkinman View Post
If the Intel system had a gen 3 or older chip, you should be able to match the ram frequency with Vishera - the 4th gen was a pretty good leap forward and generally was capable of better ram clocks than Vishera.

My 4790k would run dommy plats at 2933mhz as a daily whereas the same kit on FX would peter out at 2650 without some extreme measures.

I've seen a 10 C drop in core temps yield 200mhz in stable overclocks with some chips, too bad you don't have better cooling. I've had a couple dozen FX's run through my hands and the only 8320 had 7 of the best cores and one of the worst and it just happened to be one the first module so I couldn't shut it off .
It's a second gen i7 2600 non K. Which is quick with the 4 bin OC but that's it. I'm thinking about stepping the cooling up. I have a larger radiator, so I'm tempted to cut the H55 up and tube mode the 240 on to the H55 "block".

Quote: Originally Posted by mirzet1976 View Post
I still have FX 8320 capable 4.7GHZ with 1.428 very good chip, but R5 3600 is better.
Wow, that's some high clocks lol. I would go through the trouble of VRM and chipset blocking this board to run 5+ghz daily if it was capable.

Ahnt is offline  
post #18 of 47 (permalink) Old 12-29-2019, 11:50 PM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 39,381
Rep: 2808 (Unique: 1658)
Quote: Originally Posted by Ahnt View Post
Interesting. I just checked, I do have the V2 version of it. It's never really given me any issues... yet.
The only good version is the one with the grey sticker

Dreissen
(27 items)
Seravee
(18 items)
CPU
Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard
Asrock x570 Taichi
GPU
MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
RAM
G Skill TridentZ
Hard Drive
Corsair Force MP510 1,92 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST14000NE0008
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf ST12000VN0007
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST12000NE0007
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST16000NE000
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-U12S Chromax
Case
Phanteks Luxe 2
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mousepad
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
RHA L1 Dacamp
Audio
Sennheiser HD 599
Audio
Dali E 12 F
Audio
2x Dali Opticon 1
Audio
2x Dali Opticon 2
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Other
Vegas MBA 60cm LED Strip
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
GTX 1060 3 GB wth blower style cooler
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus GX 650 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
AOC 24G2U
Keyboard
Corsair Gaming STRAFE RGB Mechanical
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mousepad
Roccat Sense Metor
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Other
CableMod 30 CM Magnetic Red LED strip
Monitor
LG 24MP59G-P
Mouse
Logitech MX518 Hero
Other
Delock PCI-E to M.2 NVME Adaptor Card
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is offline  
post #19 of 47 (permalink) Old 12-30-2019, 05:58 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Ahnt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 956
Rep: 63 (Unique: 49)
Quote: Originally Posted by shilka View Post
The only good version is the one with the grey sticker
Oh good, mine looks like this.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	17-139-051-10.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	115.5 KB
ID:	315036  


Ahnt is offline  
post #20 of 47 (permalink) Old 12-30-2019, 07:02 PM
AMD OC'ing Enthusiast
 
mattliston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,579
Rep: 108 (Unique: 86)
Going from first post, there is no way this is the "worst" 8320.


an H55 would be LUCKY at best to cool anything past 1.5 volts, yet you have 1.67 volts in your tests.




I think this is actually a motherboard issue, and not a cpu issue.


A good quality AM3+ motherboard is what you need, with a 990FX chipset.
mattliston is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off