Worst FX-8320 ever to be made! - Page 5 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Worst FX-8320 ever to be made!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #41 of 47 (permalink) Old 02-28-2020, 05:18 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Ahnt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 956
Rep: 63 (Unique: 49)
I want to hook it back up and just push the hell out of it, but I'm freaked out about the meter base burning a leg and how that 8320 possibly did it.

Ahnt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #42 of 47 (permalink) Old 04-04-2020, 03:53 PM
OG AMD
 
Redwoodz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 8,716
Rep: 600 (Unique: 465)
Well mine is up and running. Just leave ASUS OCP enabled in bios it will limit the power draw.

https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/4d8m5e-6.png
https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/bs72bx-6.png
AMD Athlon II 450 @4.74GHz http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2204588
AMD MaxxMemm Rankings
960T @ 4.6GHz http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2171450
RedwoodCustomPC
AM4
(6 items)
Redwoodz
(10 items)
Professional
(13 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard
ASRock X470 Taichi
GPU
MSI RX570 Armor MKII 8GB
RAM
GSKill Trident Z D-die
RAM
TeamGroup Excalibur
Power Supply
GSKill Ripjaws PS850G
CPU
AMD FX Vishera 8350
Motherboard
ASRock Extreme 9 990FX
GPU
HIS X 7970 IceQ
RAM
Gskill Trident
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Pro
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-760XP
Cooling
TT Water 2.0
Monitor
Samsung Series 9 27"
Keyboard
Mionix Zibal
Mouse
Mionix 5000
CPU
Phenom II X6 1100t
Motherboard
MSI 890FX GD65
GPU
MSI Radeon HD5670
RAM
GSkill RipjawsX DDR3 PC3 12800 2x4GB CL8
Hard Drive
WD Black 1TB SATA III
Optical Drive
Samsung BD
Power Supply
Kingwin Lazer Platinum 500w
Cooling
Zalman 9900MAX
Case
Fractal Design R3
Operating System
Windows 7 64 Professional
Monitor
AOC 22" LED
Keyboard
Logitech
Other
Samsung 470 SSD 128GB
▲ hide details ▲


Redwoodz is offline  
post #43 of 47 (permalink) Old 06-02-2020, 07:13 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Ahnt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 956
Rep: 63 (Unique: 49)
Late update on this and the power usage. So I picked up a kill-a-watt and booted up the 970 Pro gaming / aura with the 8320. It pulled 761 watts at the wall (see below, that's not JUST the computer) running IBT and Furmark simultaneously. That's at 4.7ghz with 1.644v load under IBT.

GTA V I saw 652 watts at peak. Average about 580-610 using the setup below.

Specs:
- FX-8320 4.7ghz at 1.644v core. 1.425v CPU-NB (2600mhz), everything else default voltage.
- 32 GB 1866 @ 1.7v (refused to run 2133, even tho the ram can do it). 11-14-14-35 1T. Picky IMC on this chip...
- 4 7200RPM spinners
- 2 SSD's
- H55 with two thermaltake fans at full blast using CLU
- Two 120mm intake fans running at 5v

__________________________________________________ _____________________

Intel setup, 3570K 5ghz, 1.496 load voltage under IBT.

Specs
- i5 3570K delidded, 5ghz 1.5v IBT stable.
- 16 GB at 2133 (1.7v same timings as above) in single channel. DIMMs 3 and 4 are dead on this board.
- Everything else the same as above.

GTA V load wattage at the wall, 572 peak, 550 average.


Whats connected to the circuit along with the computer:

- 42" Vizio LCD TV
- 20" HP LED monitor
- Sony wireless headset charging dock
- 3 35watt light bulbs

Peak voltage minus the uber high power consumption of the 42" TV, which is 200watts.
- AMD Setup = 410 watts
- Intel Setup = 350 watts

I found the TV itself uses about 200watts itself lol. So needless to say, the AMD setup was not the cause of the meter box burning up.

Ahnt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #44 of 47 (permalink) Old 06-02-2020, 09:32 PM
OG AMD
 
Redwoodz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 8,716
Rep: 600 (Unique: 465)
I have my 8320e running 4.65- 4.7GHz depending on ambient temps....been real hot. Takes 1.53v and that's the most my 140mm tower cooler will handle with a single fan. One thing I noticed on my Aura was the Northbridge heatsink was really loose so I modded the springs and lapped the bottom. I can run my 2x4GB 2800MHz @ 2600MHz but that's as high as I can get the Northbridge so going any higher is moot. Real pleased with the memory performance though.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ApacerSiSS.PNG
Views:	13
Size:	650.7 KB
ID:	351440  


https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/4d8m5e-6.png
https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/bs72bx-6.png
AMD Athlon II 450 @4.74GHz http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2204588
AMD MaxxMemm Rankings
960T @ 4.6GHz http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2171450
RedwoodCustomPC
AM4
(6 items)
Redwoodz
(10 items)
Professional
(13 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard
ASRock X470 Taichi
GPU
MSI RX570 Armor MKII 8GB
RAM
GSKill Trident Z D-die
RAM
TeamGroup Excalibur
Power Supply
GSKill Ripjaws PS850G
CPU
AMD FX Vishera 8350
Motherboard
ASRock Extreme 9 990FX
GPU
HIS X 7970 IceQ
RAM
Gskill Trident
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Pro
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-760XP
Cooling
TT Water 2.0
Monitor
Samsung Series 9 27"
Keyboard
Mionix Zibal
Mouse
Mionix 5000
CPU
Phenom II X6 1100t
Motherboard
MSI 890FX GD65
GPU
MSI Radeon HD5670
RAM
GSkill RipjawsX DDR3 PC3 12800 2x4GB CL8
Hard Drive
WD Black 1TB SATA III
Optical Drive
Samsung BD
Power Supply
Kingwin Lazer Platinum 500w
Cooling
Zalman 9900MAX
Case
Fractal Design R3
Operating System
Windows 7 64 Professional
Monitor
AOC 22" LED
Keyboard
Logitech
Other
Samsung 470 SSD 128GB
▲ hide details ▲



Last edited by Redwoodz; 06-02-2020 at 09:43 PM.
Redwoodz is offline  
post #45 of 47 (permalink) Old 06-03-2020, 12:46 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
AVATARAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 90
Rep: 5 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by Ahnt View Post
Specs:
- FX-8320 4.7ghz at 1.644v core. 1.425v CPU-NB (2600mhz), everything else default voltage.
Hi, I have one question, did you use your FX [email protected] 1.644v for 24/7 from long time ?
Because I know that 1.54v is max safe voltage and more voltage will made CPU to degraded.

AVATARAT
(10 items)
CPU
FX-8370
Motherboard
GA-970A-UD3P
GPU
MSI Radeon RX Vega 56 Air Boost 8G OC
RAM
Team Group Xtreem LV 2400
Hard Drive
ADATA SSD SP600 32GB
Hard Drive
HDD Seagate Barracuda
Hard Drive
Crucial BX500
Power Supply
Seasonic - FOCUS PLUS Gold
Cooling
Underfloor cooling system
Mouse
Bloody ZL50 Sniper
▲ hide details ▲
AVATARAT is offline  
post #46 of 47 (permalink) Old 06-03-2020, 06:36 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Ahnt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 956
Rep: 63 (Unique: 49)
Quote: Originally Posted by Redwoodz View Post
I have my 8320e running 4.65- 4.7GHz depending on ambient temps....been real hot. Takes 1.53v and that's the most my 140mm tower cooler will handle with a single fan. One thing I noticed on my Aura was the Northbridge heatsink was really loose so I modded the springs and lapped the bottom. I can run my 2x4GB 2800MHz @ 2600MHz but that's as high as I can get the Northbridge so going any higher is moot. Real pleased with the memory performance though.
Wow, okay I was tempted to lap the 8320 anyways I think I'll lap the NB as well and possibly use some CLU on that too.

Quote: Originally Posted by AVATARAT View Post
Hi, I have one question, did you use your FX [email protected] 1.644v for 24/7 from long time ?
Because I know that 1.54v is max safe voltage and more voltage will made CPU to degraded.
I've pushed this CPU pretty hard. 1.724v IBT load at 5ghz barely bench stable. To be perfectly honest, I have yet to actually kill or degrade a CPU.... yet. The 3570K I had in the past was sitting at 1.55v, 4.9ghz for about two years. No issues when I sold it. The 2500K I have now, I ran it at 5ghz, 1.604v stable for about 3 months. No issues. Same with the 3570K I'm using now (1.5v, 5ghz) and it's going great.

One thing I have noticed, CLU is a must. The 8320 I was in the 70's 80's using AS5 on the same cooler at 4.5ghz, 1.576v. With CLU, I haven't got into the 60's at 1.644v 4.7ghz. Same goes for the 2500K and 3570K. Both hit thermal throttle within a few minutes using AS5. CLU, I can run all day without getting close to throttling.

If this 8320 where to die or degrade, I would just pick up another system. FX 8 core visheras are way overpriced and I'm not sure why.

Ahnt is offline  
post #47 of 47 (permalink) Old 06-04-2020, 03:37 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
AVATARAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 90
Rep: 5 (Unique: 4)
Thanks, this is very interesting.

AVATARAT
(10 items)
CPU
FX-8370
Motherboard
GA-970A-UD3P
GPU
MSI Radeon RX Vega 56 Air Boost 8G OC
RAM
Team Group Xtreem LV 2400
Hard Drive
ADATA SSD SP600 32GB
Hard Drive
HDD Seagate Barracuda
Hard Drive
Crucial BX500
Power Supply
Seasonic - FOCUS PLUS Gold
Cooling
Underfloor cooling system
Mouse
Bloody ZL50 Sniper
▲ hide details ▲
AVATARAT is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off