From 7700K to Ryzen 9 3900X for Gaming -- WOW - Page 14 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

From 7700K to Ryzen 9 3900X for Gaming -- WOW

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #131 of 141 (permalink) Old 02-11-2020, 08:44 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
cssorkinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9,777
Rep: 491 (Unique: 276)
Quote: Originally Posted by r0ach View Post
This is the biggest troll thread I've ever seen. A quad core intel at 3ghz is going to run just about anything fine. Even a dual core in less demanding games. If you claim you have performance issues or stuttering on these Intel systems, it's not due to the raw CPU power, it's more likely due to things like the Spectre/Meltdown patches or the HPET overhead/bugs in newer Intel systems like the following quote:

"Then X299 showed up and the query for an HPET timestamp suddenly takes 7 times longer! The number of possible HPET timer calls per seconds went from 1.4 million on Broadwell-E to merely 200.000 calls on Skylake X. Let's remember that this is a high-end platform also used for scientific purposes where accuracy and performance are both very relevant."

I have one of those Steambox/Alienware Alpha things and noticed both input lag and performance was worse by updating the BIOS to a Spectre/Meltdown fix, so I'm 99% sure that's what people are seeing in this thread. You do not need 50 cores or 5ghz to play virtually anything out. Theoretically, the best gaming platform for mouse response is still Ivy Bridge since it's the last thing that lets you disable HPET and USB3. Just don't apply any Spectre or Meltdown Windows updates or BIOS fixes.
Like most things related to this hobby, it just depends what you are going to do with the machine.

In my situation a dual core would be all but unusable for some of the games I play . Even my devil's canyon rig when set up as a 4T machine at over 4 ghz all core gave terrible performance in BF1 on 64 player servers. When set up as an 8 thread machine it would double the minimum fps ( 40's to 80's) .

What would be the best way to measure mouse responsiveness?


cssorkinman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #132 of 141 (permalink) Old 02-11-2020, 09:33 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
r0ach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2,114
Rep: 168 (Unique: 109)
Quote: Originally Posted by BroadPwns View Post
I can disable USB3 now and I could disable HPET on MSI Gaming 5 or ASUS' motherboards. You sure about your modern CPU shenanigans knowledge?
The USB 2.0 controller DOES NOT EXIST on Skylake and newer. There is only the XHCI controller and nothing else. Even on Haswell, which has an XHCI and EHCI controller, if you plug in a mouse to the USB 2.0 port, I discovered it's not even controlled by the USB 2.0 controller at all. The last gaming platform for optimal mouse movement is Ivy Bridge, which lets you disable HPET + USB3 and you can get the mouse to actually run off the USB2.0 controller.

As you can see below, if the board doesn't let you disable USB3, you get cucked by the USB2 port acting as passthrough mode to the USB3 controller.

Quote: Originally Posted by r0ach View Post

Mouse Input Lag BIOS & Windows Optimization Guide
too many personal messages to reply to
r0ach is offline  
post #133 of 141 (permalink) Old 02-12-2020, 02:09 AM
RIP OCN
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 644
Rep: 28 (Unique: 21)
Quote: Originally Posted by UltraMega View Post
I find it hard to believe a 7700K would bottleneck a 2080Ti in 4K. Anything demanding would max out the GPU and anything not would run fine anyway. Did you actually do any 4K benchmarks? For lower res, sure there would be a difference.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IistubvBOT8
I was thinking the same thing.

OP, you mentioned low CPU and GPU usage in "Mostly All Games" (whatever that means) with the old setup. Are you now experiencing 100% gpu loads on all previously tested titles? Seems hard to believe that the CPU upgrade you've done could bring your GPU usage up from "low usage" to full usage.

Last edited by anti-clockwize; 02-12-2020 at 02:16 AM.
anti-clockwize is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #134 of 141 (permalink) Old 02-12-2020, 06:56 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
N2Gaming's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: N. Central Valley, Cali
Posts: 9,891
Rep: 356 (Unique: 219)
Quote: Originally Posted by deepor View Post
What do you mean? I read that Thaiphoon screenshot as the stick in that screenshot being dual-rank.
I have not used that software yet so am not familiar with how it works. I thought I was looking at a total of 16gb 2x8gb kit. Not trolling just wanting to learn.


N2Gaming is offline  
post #135 of 141 (permalink) Old 02-12-2020, 09:11 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
deepor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4,896
Rep: 483 (Unique: 328)
Quote: Originally Posted by N2Gaming View Post
I have not used that software yet so am not familiar with how it works. I thought I was looking at a total of 16gb 2x8gb kit. Not trolling just wanting to learn.

You inspect each memory stick by itself with that Thaiphoon program. What you see in the screenshot is just one single stick of the system. The program has a button somewhere where you can switch between the different memory sticks/slots that are in the system. You are always only looking at one of the sticks.

That "2Rx8" that it prints somewhere means that the stick is two ranks with 8 chips per rank. The stick has 16 chips on it total. Somewhere else it says that each of the chips is 8Gb = 8 giga-bit size, that's 1GB = 1 giga-byte. The whole stick is then 16GB. If the person in the screenshot has two of those sticks in his system, the system then has 32GB RAM.

How things work behind the scenes is, the memory stick has a small chip on it where the memory profiles and other details are saved. At boot the CPU/board read that chip before they try to get the RAM to work. This Thaiphoon program displays the contents of that small chip. The tool can display totally wrong stuff if the manufacturer has made a mistake in programming that chip, so it can happen that Thaiphoon displays wrong IC names and wrong ranks etc.
deepor is offline  
post #136 of 141 (permalink) Old 02-12-2020, 09:17 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
N2Gaming's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: N. Central Valley, Cali
Posts: 9,891
Rep: 356 (Unique: 219)
N2Gaming is offline  
post #137 of 141 (permalink) Old 02-12-2020, 01:36 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Undervolter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4,598
Rep: 521 (Unique: 256)
Quote: Originally Posted by Oversemper View Post
I have v.4.32 revision. The v.4.31 was confirmed to be a good b-die in a lot of threads, but 4.32 looks like most unstable bins or Thaiphoon Burner does not recognize them correctly.
Is your motherboard manufacturer ASUS? Clicking your sig, it seems so.

Your RAM kit version (4.32) is nowhere to be found in the ASUS QVL:

https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/m...Processors.pdf

When i built my Ryzen2600, the RAM prices were still obscenely high. So i made a google search. The 2 lower priced 3000Mhz kits in the market were GSkill Aegis and Corsair 3000C15 (v5.3something). I excluded Gigabyte, because i didn't want to have to do with their buggy BIOS and crappy applications that i knew since AM3+ days. ASUS had the worst memory support. I had found several Aegis users that had constant problems with ASUS and Ryzen 2000. As for the Corsair3000C15, it was either not listed for this size (16GB) or was for 2 sticks only. MSI supports both Aegis and my Corsair3000C15 (Hynix M) for 4 sticks. Asrock also had support i think for both and for one in 4 sticks.

Even now, in the ASUS B450 Strix for Ryzen2000, my kit is supported for 2 sticks only:
https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/m...B450_4DIMM.pdf

So my kit is certified for 4 DIMMs in MSI and in 2 in ASUS. I bought MSI. I run 2933 14-16-16-30-42 1T... QVL matters in Ryzen still, apparently. I have also bought a MicronE 3200C16 kit (Crucial ballistix). Yes, i checked the QVL. Again, MSI support for 4 DIMMs.

Morale of the story: Search before you buy.

Ryzen 2600 - MSI B450 Gaming Plus - 16GB Corsair 3000Mhz C15 - GTX 750Ti
Undervolter is offline  
post #138 of 141 (permalink) Old 02-12-2020, 01:37 PM
The last VRM burner
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 2,154
Rep: 41 (Unique: 24)
QVL matters as much as yesteryear snow.

PC for all
(21 items)
CPU
i7 5775c @4.2GHz/3.8GHz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97X Gaming 5
GPU
Iris Pro 6200
RAM
F3-2400C11D-16GAB Samsung Rev. Q
Hard Drive
Corsair MP510
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 860
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus 750W
Cooling
Artcic Liquid Freezer II 360mm
Cooling
Arctic P12 PWM x2
Cooling
Arctic P14 x4
Case
LianLi 330X
Operating System
Windows 10 64-bit Pro
Monitor
Samsung C24FG73FQUX
Monitor
Benq GL2250 80Hz
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe Red Silent + 1.6x6mm o-rings
Mouse
SteelSeries Rival 600
Mousepad
Artisan FX Raiden
Audio
Audio in Motion SC808 + MUSES8820 + 2x 2xLME49990
Audio
AKG M220
Other
NZXT Hue+
Other
Mayflash F300 Arcade Stick
▲ hide details ▲
BroadPwns is online now  
post #139 of 141 (permalink) Old 02-12-2020, 01:41 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Undervolter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4,598
Rep: 521 (Unique: 256)
Quote: Originally Posted by BroadPwns View Post
QVL matters as much as yesteryear snow.
Tell that to his RAM.

Ryzen 2600 - MSI B450 Gaming Plus - 16GB Corsair 3000Mhz C15 - GTX 750Ti
Undervolter is offline  
post #140 of 141 (permalink) Old 02-12-2020, 01:45 PM
The last VRM burner
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 2,154
Rep: 41 (Unique: 24)
He was unlucky somewhere or something gets fked up from something. QVL means jacksheit as you can't even get a same kit of RAM as presented in QVL (dies differ with each series).

PC for all
(21 items)
CPU
i7 5775c @4.2GHz/3.8GHz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97X Gaming 5
GPU
Iris Pro 6200
RAM
F3-2400C11D-16GAB Samsung Rev. Q
Hard Drive
Corsair MP510
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 860
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus 750W
Cooling
Artcic Liquid Freezer II 360mm
Cooling
Arctic P12 PWM x2
Cooling
Arctic P14 x4
Case
LianLi 330X
Operating System
Windows 10 64-bit Pro
Monitor
Samsung C24FG73FQUX
Monitor
Benq GL2250 80Hz
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe Red Silent + 1.6x6mm o-rings
Mouse
SteelSeries Rival 600
Mousepad
Artisan FX Raiden
Audio
Audio in Motion SC808 + MUSES8820 + 2x 2xLME49990
Audio
AKG M220
Other
NZXT Hue+
Other
Mayflash F300 Arcade Stick
▲ hide details ▲
BroadPwns is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off