1900 FCLK on 3950x - How I did it - - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

1900 FCLK on 3950x - How I did it -

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-14-2020, 05:35 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
finas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 18
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by DeadSec View Post
How did you mount the cooling block on the die? Did ya use a special frame or something created by yourself?
I had to machine the cpu cooler block to be able to clear the socket. I will put up a video soon with it.

Ncase M1 | [email protected] [email protected] TridentX | Asus C8I | 2x2TB nvme RAID0 | RTX 2080TI Blower | Sanded LQII240 with bare core on water block
finas is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-15-2020, 12:50 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
DeadSec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 28
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by finas View Post
I will put up a video soon with it.
Far out! Let me be the first in the finas fan club

AMD [email protected]@ ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero|EVGA XC Ultra Gaming 2080 [email protected]²O_watercool_Waterblock H²[email protected]|Corsair AV860W|4*8 GB [email protected] [email protected] |Gigabyte Aorus NVMe Gen4, Samsung 850 PRO 1 TB, Samsung 960 evo, 1 TB| Cooler Master CoSmoS II | ASUS Swift PG279Q|Windows 10 Prof. 64 bit
DeadSec is offline  
post #23 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-15-2020, 03:09 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
finas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 18
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by DeadSec View Post
Far out! Let me be the first in the finas fan club
Thanks!

I haven't been able to post any more videos to youtube because it is taking me so much time to overclock memory that I don't have time for anything else. I am currently doing [email protected] ( 1.55v ) and with some tweaks to the sub timings but I think I still can improve. next I will try to tune all the voltages down to lower CPU temperature as much as possible.

Ncase M1 | [email protected] [email protected] TridentX | Asus C8I | 2x2TB nvme RAID0 | RTX 2080TI Blower | Sanded LQII240 with bare core on water block
finas is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-15-2020, 03:25 AM
High IQ Person
 
DAM20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Italy
Posts: 190
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
This is interesting, I'll try it on my 2700x, maybe I can finally stabilize 3600 mhz after a reboot...

Yeetus
(10 items)
Brother's heater
(10 items)
CPU
Ryzen 2700X (10x -0.106)
Motherboard
Crosshair VII Hero (WiFi)
GPU
Sapphire RX 5700XT Nitro+ SE
RAM
G.Skill 3466 C14
Hard Drive
Crucial P1
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda
Power Supply
XFX XTR P1-750B-BEFX
Cooling
NH-D15 AM4
Case
Dark Base 900 Pro
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
CPU
Ryzen 2600X (10x -0.05)
Motherboard
ROG STRIX X470-F GAMING
GPU
XFX RX480 GTR (580 BIOS) 1430/2020
RAM
Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200Mhz
Hard Drive
Crucial P1
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda
Power Supply
ANTEC HCG-750-GOLD
Cooling
Corsair H100i
Case
NZXT H510i
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
▲ hide details ▲
DAM20 is offline  
post #25 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-16-2020, 03:01 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
finas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 18
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
I am starting to believe that I may have not removed those capacitors after all. Some facts that contribute to my thinking:
- The CPU is working flawlessly
- removing a capacitor means cutting that particular power line, meaning if something was being fed by that line, it's not anymore.
- https://tech4gamers.com/amd-ryzen-30...00-mhz-memory/ ( there is a diagram of a CPU here and it is missing the exact same capacitors as my CPU
- https://www.pcgameshardware.de/Ryzen...lerie/3327066/ ( official diagram from AMD )

I think that maybe those capacitors were dropped there during the CPU assembly, I know this should be quite rare, but then again...

Ncase M1 | [email protected] [email protected] TridentX | Asus C8I | 2x2TB nvme RAID0 | RTX 2080TI Blower | Sanded LQII240 with bare core on water block

Last edited by finas; 02-16-2020 at 03:04 PM.
finas is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off