AMD R5 3600 or R7 2700 - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

AMD R5 3600 or R7 2700

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 15 (permalink) Old 02-01-2020, 08:15 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 19,089
Rep: 874 (Unique: 637)
Quote: Originally Posted by Shiftstealth View Post
This decision lies soley on your priorities.

Edit:
Looks like the 2700 may be slower in MT than the 3600
https://community.amd.com/thread/237502

R7 2700 : R20 MT 3448
The R7 2700 has a very low base clock I guess by design as a 65W CPU. OC to 4GHZ, it is about equal to the stock 2700X and at which point the 3600 cannot touch it in multi-threaded stuff including C20 Multi test.

With a mid-range card like a 5700XT, there will be no difference between these cpus unless, of course, you stare at the fps counter.

[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 15 (permalink) Old 02-01-2020, 03:43 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Schmuckley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 14,610
Rep: 705 (Unique: 564)
After a few days, I'd say 3600 on x470 board.
Schmuckley is offline  
post #13 of 15 (permalink) Old 02-12-2020, 03:29 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Acidstorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: California
Posts: 50
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Shiftstealth View Post
This decision lies soley on your priorities.

The R5 3600 is what like 9% slower in MT than the 2700X which has higher clocks than the 2700:
https://www.techspot.com/review/1871-amd-ryzen-3600/

R5 3600 :R20 MT 3604
R7 2700X : R20 MT 3956

ST is in favor of the R5 3600 by almost 20% though (Great for gaming):

R5 3600 :R20 ST 481
R7 2700X : R20 ST 429


In all reality just because the 2700 has 2 more cores it isn't really much faster than the 3600. If gaming is more than 50% of your use case I would strongly recommend the 3600. If gaming is less than 33% of your use case saving the $30 might be worth it for the 2700 as the MT will be pretty much identical.

Edit:
Looks like the 2700 may be slower in MT than the 3600
https://community.amd.com/thread/237502

R7 2700 : R20 MT 3448
Quote: Originally Posted by Schmuckley View Post
After a few days, I'd say 3600 on x470 board.
I do quite a bit of gaming compared to audio and video work. I have to agree your points make sense. I wouldn't be losing out that much in MT applications with the 3600 and the superior ST for gaming would be nice. I think a 3600 is what I'll get!

Ragnarok
(15 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard
Asus Prime X370-Pro
GPU
MSI RTX 2060 Ventus OC
RAM
Corsair Vengeance DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo
Hard Drive
WD Black
Power Supply
EVGA 850 G2 SuperNova
Cooling
ID-Cooling Dashflow 240 RGB
Case
Corsair SPEC Omega
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
HP W2371d
Keyboard
Roccat Horde AIMO
Mouse
Corsair Harpoon RGB
Mousepad
Silver palm rest with black mouse pad
Audio
ALC 1220 Codec on-board
▲ hide details ▲
Acidstorm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 15 (permalink) Old 02-13-2020, 08:25 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Schmuckley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 14,610
Rep: 705 (Unique: 564)
For IPC in general, it's 36XX , and that's the way it is.
Schmuckley is offline  
post #15 of 15 (permalink) Old 02-13-2020, 08:26 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Schmuckley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 14,610
Rep: 705 (Unique: 564)
I'm on a 2700x right now, it's not up there with a 3600x
Some may be, and that's what I'm searching for, but this one is not.
505-ish single core in cpu-z
My 3600x is 550-ish

Now I can't control the cores, either.. grrr!

Was playing with 3600x 4-core/hyperthreading to muck around
Cannot seem to do that with 2700x

Last edited by Schmuckley; 02-13-2020 at 08:33 PM.
Schmuckley is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off