AMD R5 3600 or R7 2700 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

AMD R5 3600 or R7 2700

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-28-2020, 05:06 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Acidstorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: California
Posts: 50
Rep: 0
AMD R5 3600 or R7 2700

I'm looking to upgrade from a R5 1600 on X370 board. I mostly game and do video / audio editing / mixing. I have an RTX 2060 gpu for gaming, so I don't need anything much more powerful, but I know I can still get a benefit in gaming from upgrading from the 1600 to either the 3600 or 2700. The pricing on the 2700 is really good at 150 bucks, but the 3600 is just 30 more, and it is even better in gaming, but I would be giving up a bit in rendering time when doing videos and audio work. Also, since I don't want to upgrade my motherboard yet, I think the 2700 would probably give me less issues in a X370 board vs the 3600.

I can't really make my mind up, and from just the performance standpoint I know what there is to gain/lose. But the technical side, I don't really have a clue how either CPU would function in my Asus Prime X370 motherboard. I know the board will support either CPU with a simple BIOS upgrade, but has anyone upgraded using this particular board and what kind of issues did it cause if any?

Ragnarok
(15 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard
Asus Prime X370-Pro
GPU
MSI RTX 2060 Ventus OC
RAM
Corsair Vengeance DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo
Hard Drive
WD Black
Power Supply
EVGA 850 G2 SuperNova
Cooling
ID-Cooling Dashflow 240 RGB
Case
Corsair SPEC Omega
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
HP W2371d
Keyboard
Roccat Horde AIMO
Mouse
Corsair Harpoon RGB
Mousepad
Silver palm rest with black mouse pad
Audio
ALC 1220 Codec on-board
▲ hide details ▲
Acidstorm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-28-2020, 06:02 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Schmuckley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 14,627
Rep: 705 (Unique: 564)
3000 series introduces some driver headaches.

I had to "fix" the driver for Win7 with only a PS2 mouse, "type" everything with character map.

Be sure you have the drivers on your desktop or root drive before you go installing a 3000 chip.

Last edited by Schmuckley; 01-28-2020 at 06:08 PM.
Schmuckley is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-28-2020, 06:08 PM
Tech Enthusiast
 
deafboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 12,338
Rep: 445 (Unique: 338)
2700 unless you want to see how well your board and ram behave with overclocking the ram.

IN HONOR OF SYRILLIAN, R.I.P.
ASUS ROG Rampage IV Black Owners Club || PNW Overclockers Club
BMW TJ07 Build Log -- The Ultimate Cooling Machine
2 year anniversary In Remembrance of a Great - RIP Syrillian
HTPC
(10 items)
Overkill FreeNAS
(10 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen R5 3600
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Strix B450-I
GPU
nVidia Titan XP
RAM
Corsair LPX 3200C16 8GBx2
Hard Drive
Samsung PM981 1TB
Power Supply
Corsair SF600
Cooling
Noctua L9i
Cooling
Accelero Xtreme III
Cooling
Noctua NF-A12x25s
Case
Fractal Design Node 202
CPU
E5-2670v1
CPU
E5-2670v1
Motherboard
Supermicro X9DRL-iF
Hard Drive
12x HGST 4TB CoolSpin
Hard Drive
6x WD Red 8TB
Power Supply
Corsair AX750
Cooling
2x Noctua nh-u9dxi4
Cooling
3x Scythe AP-30
Case
Norco 4224
Operating System
FreeNAS
CPU
Intel Xeon E5-1680 V2
Motherboard
Asus Rampage IV Black Edition
GPU
nVidia Titan XP (2100/5200)
RAM
Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB
Hard Drive
Intel 750 400GB
Hard Drive
Intel 750 1.2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung PM981 1TB
Power Supply
Corsair AX1200i
Cooling
2x Swiftech D5 w/ EK Dual Pump Top
Cooling
XSPC EX480, EX360 & 2x Phobya 1080
Cooling
EK Supremacy EVO CPU Block
Cooling
EK Advanced 250mL Res
Cooling
Lamptron FC-5V2
Cooling
EK Rampage IV BE Water Block
Cooling
Copper Tubing w/ push fittings
Cooling
EK-FC Titan XP Copper/Acetal
Case
Silverstone TJ07, heavily modified
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus PG297Q
Keyboard
Leopold Otaku
Mouse
Corsair M65
Mouse
Corsair MM600
Audio
Sennheiser HD595 / HD428 / HD280
Audio
Corsair SP2500
▲ hide details ▲


deafboy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-28-2020, 11:28 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 19,130
Rep: 874 (Unique: 637)
I have both cpus and with a 5700XT. Can't perceive any difference between the two. Buy what's cheaper. For your use case, i'd say 2700. You can use the stock cooler for the 1600 at stock without issue.

2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-28-2020, 11:33 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mrsteelx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 41
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
get the 3600, the better ipc gains will perform about the same if not better than 2700. Also you can push 3600 with the edc bug from here https://www.overclock.net/forum/13-a...rbo-boost.html to make 3600 even better.

Corsair 750D
(11 items)
CPU
Ryzen 3800x
Motherboard
X570 AORUS Elite
GPU
sapphire 5700 xt pulse
RAM
V-Color Prism RGB 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3600MHz (PC4-28800)
Power Supply
CORSAIR RMx Series RM850x
Cooling
ARCTIC Liquid Freezer II 280
Case
Corsair 750D
Operating System
Windows 10 pro
Keyboard
Corsair k70 rgb
Mouse
CORSAIR M65 ELITE RGB
Audio
Corsair Virtuoso RGB Wireless Gaming Headset
▲ hide details ▲
mrsteelx is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-29-2020, 01:23 AM
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 7,401
Rep: 786 (Unique: 360)
Go R5 3600.

Quantify render time, etc, IMO not a massive gap, see this section of TPU review.

Besides 3000 series being more power efficient, it has CPPC. Collaborative Processor Performance Control, this exposes to the OS best cores info. So when not using all cores, the best cores are targeted first by OS to boost, 1000/2000 series do not have this feature.

Another angle is RAM quantity at higher speed support. All my 1000/2000 series CPU used to tank RAM MHz when I flung in 4x8GB, 3000 series doesn't. So say at present your on 16GB and later decide to go 32GB, may that be 2x16GB or 4x8GB the 3000 series can still nail upto 3800MHz.

Currently the ASUS Prime X370 Pro doesn't have latest AGESA UEFI, but even on my Crosshair VII Hero when using an AGESA 1.0.0.3ABBA based UEFI see no difference in CPU boost MHz, RAM MHz attained, benches, etc as when I use an AGESA 1.0.0.4B UEFI.
gupsterg is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-29-2020, 02:24 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 19,130
Rep: 874 (Unique: 637)
Quote: Originally Posted by Schmuckley View Post
3000 series introduces some driver headaches.

I had to "fix" the driver for Win7 with only a PS2 mouse, "type" everything with character map.

Be sure you have the drivers on your desktop or root drive before you go installing a 3000 chip.
Is this issue only happens when using Win7? My 3600 is on a B350 but Win10 running with no issues.

Also, the 2700 at stock actually uses less power, however small, than the 3600 just basing off HWINFO reading. It actually runs cooler, too, thus i have the Spire on it while the 3600 i prefer to have a Noctua U12S.

I read the R9 3950 actually runs cooler than the R9 3900 for same reason - work is distributed to more cores running with less effort.

2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-29-2020, 10:36 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Schmuckley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 14,627
Rep: 705 (Unique: 564)
Quote: Originally Posted by rdr09 View Post
Is this issue only happens when using Win7? My 3600 is on a B350 but Win10 running with no issues.

Also, the 2700 at stock actually uses less power, however small, than the 3600 just basing off HWINFO reading. It actually runs cooler, too, thus i have the Spire on it while the 3600 i prefer to have a Noctua U12S.

I read the R9 3950 actually runs cooler than the R9 3900 for same reason - work is distributed to more cores running with less effort.
Yes, for Win7. I'm about to try to do an XP that runs x470.

Could end up in fail.
Schmuckley is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 02-01-2020, 12:42 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Acidstorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: California
Posts: 50
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Acidstorm View Post
I'm looking to upgrade from a R5 1600 on X370 board. I mostly game and do video / audio editing / mixing. I have an RTX 2060 gpu for gaming, so I don't need anything much more powerful, but I know I can still get a benefit in gaming from upgrading from the 1600 to either the 3600 or 2700. The pricing on the 2700 is really good at 150 bucks, but the 3600 is just 30 more, and it is even better in gaming, but I would be giving up a bit in rendering time when doing videos and audio work. Also, since I don't want to upgrade my motherboard yet, I think the 2700 would probably give me less issues in a X370 board vs the 3600.

I can't really make my mind up, and from just the performance standpoint I know what there is to gain/lose. But the technical side, I don't really have a clue how either CPU would function in my Asus Prime X370 motherboard. I know the board will support either CPU with a simple BIOS upgrade, but has anyone upgraded using this particular board and what kind of issues did it cause if any?
Quote: Originally Posted by Schmuckley View Post
3000 series introduces some driver headaches.

I had to "fix" the driver for Win7 with only a PS2 mouse, "type" everything with character map.

Be sure you have the drivers on your desktop or root drive before you go installing a 3000 chip.
Thanks Schmuckley. I'm on Windows 10, so I'm hoping it won't be a bit deal. I however would like to keep using my X370, but I know some features that seem to be quite good in the 3000 series won't work with my board. I might just go that route so it's new, and then upgrade to an X570 when the prices drop a bit.

Quote: Originally Posted by deafboy View Post
2700 unless you want to see how well your board and ram behave with overclocking the ram.
I do OC my RAM, but I read the way RAM is routed to the CPU is handled differently on X570 with the 3000 series, so I don't know if I'd be gimping performance using an X370 board. I know I'd be missing out on PBO and things like that until I can get a X570, but prices on those boards are just too high for my liking at the moment. I don't really want to pay more than 200, and the ones below 200 I looked at I'm not sure about their performance.

Quote: Originally Posted by rdr09 View Post
I have both cpus and with a 5700XT. Can't perceive any difference between the two. Buy what's cheaper. For your use case, i'd say 2700. You can use the stock cooler for the 1600 at stock without issue.
I have really been wanting an 8 core for the utility when doing renders, but I just don't know if it's worth going with the older architecture or just going with the new 6 core. I know Ryzen 3000 had quite a bit of improvement in IPC and other features, but as stated I'd like to keep using my X370 board for now because of the X570 prices being more than what I want to pay. Hopefully they price drop when parts become more plentiful.

Quote: Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post
Go R5 3600.

Quantify render time, etc, IMO not a massive gap, see this section of TPU review.

Besides 3000 series being more power efficient, it has CPPC. Collaborative Processor Performance Control, this exposes to the OS best cores info. So when not using all cores, the best cores are targeted first by OS to boost, 1000/2000 series do not have this feature.

Another angle is RAM quantity at higher speed support. All my 1000/2000 series CPU used to tank RAM MHz when I flung in 4x8GB, 3000 series doesn't. So say at present your on 16GB and later decide to go 32GB, may that be 2x16GB or 4x8GB the 3000 series can still nail upto 3800MHz.

Currently the ASUS Prime X370 Pro doesn't have latest AGESA UEFI, but even on my Crosshair VII Hero when using an AGESA 1.0.0.3ABBA based UEFI see no difference in CPU boost MHz, RAM MHz attained, benches, etc as when I use an AGESA 1.0.0.4B UEFI.
I'm tempted even though my board would gimp the performance missing PBO and extra things, and I worry about RAM since it's routed in a different way from what I read on the X570 boards. Probably right, with the IPC improvements, it's probably a negligible gap, and I'm not doing anything that is so time sensitive that I must have better render times at all costs.

Quote: Originally Posted by mrsteelx View Post
get the 3600, the better ipc gains will perform about the same if not better than 2700. Also you can push 3600 with the edc bug from here https://www.overclock.net/forum/13-a...rbo-boost.html to make 3600 even better.
I wouldn't be able to use those settings on an X370 I'm suspecting? Unless the BIOS update for the Prime X370 Pro adds these functions? Even so, I'm leaning toward an 3600 simply because it's pretty cheap and it's the best architecture out. I will get an X570 at some point, it's just the pricing is a bit ridiculous over the previous gen boards at the moment, thanks to the expense of PCI-e 4.0 and the SB chip.

Ragnarok
(15 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard
Asus Prime X370-Pro
GPU
MSI RTX 2060 Ventus OC
RAM
Corsair Vengeance DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo
Hard Drive
WD Black
Power Supply
EVGA 850 G2 SuperNova
Cooling
ID-Cooling Dashflow 240 RGB
Case
Corsair SPEC Omega
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
HP W2371d
Keyboard
Roccat Horde AIMO
Mouse
Corsair Harpoon RGB
Mousepad
Silver palm rest with black mouse pad
Audio
ALC 1220 Codec on-board
▲ hide details ▲
Acidstorm is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 02-01-2020, 03:01 AM
Network Enthusiast
 
Shiftstealth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 4,787
Rep: 213 (Unique: 157)
Quote: Originally Posted by Acidstorm View Post
Thanks Schmuckley. I'm on Windows 10, so I'm hoping it won't be a bit deal. I however would like to keep using my X370, but I know some features that seem to be quite good in the 3000 series won't work with my board. I might just go that route so it's new, and then upgrade to an X570 when the prices drop a bit.



I do OC my RAM, but I read the way RAM is routed to the CPU is handled differently on X570 with the 3000 series, so I don't know if I'd be gimping performance using an X370 board. I know I'd be missing out on PBO and things like that until I can get a X570, but prices on those boards are just too high for my liking at the moment. I don't really want to pay more than 200, and the ones below 200 I looked at I'm not sure about their performance.



I have really been wanting an 8 core for the utility when doing renders, but I just don't know if it's worth going with the older architecture or just going with the new 6 core. I know Ryzen 3000 had quite a bit of improvement in IPC and other features, but as stated I'd like to keep using my X370 board for now because of the X570 prices being more than what I want to pay. Hopefully they price drop when parts become more plentiful.



I'm tempted even though my board would gimp the performance missing PBO and extra things, and I worry about RAM since it's routed in a different way from what I read on the X570 boards. Probably right, with the IPC improvements, it's probably a negligible gap, and I'm not doing anything that is so time sensitive that I must have better render times at all costs.



I wouldn't be able to use those settings on an X370 I'm suspecting? Unless the BIOS update for the Prime X370 Pro adds these functions? Even so, I'm leaning toward an 3600 simply because it's pretty cheap and it's the best architecture out. I will get an X570 at some point, it's just the pricing is a bit ridiculous over the previous gen boards at the moment, thanks to the expense of PCI-e 4.0 and the SB chip.

This decision lies soley on your priorities.

The R5 3600 is what like 9% slower in MT than the 2700X which has higher clocks than the 2700:
https://www.techspot.com/review/1871-amd-ryzen-3600/

R5 3600 :R20 MT 3604
R7 2700X : R20 MT 3956

ST is in favor of the R5 3600 by almost 20% though (Great for gaming):

R5 3600 :R20 ST 481
R7 2700X : R20 ST 429


In all reality just because the 2700 has 2 more cores it isn't really much faster than the 3600. If gaming is more than 50% of your use case I would strongly recommend the 3600. If gaming is less than 33% of your use case saving the $30 might be worth it for the 2700 as the MT will be pretty much identical.

Edit:
Looks like the 2700 may be slower in MT than the 3600
https://community.amd.com/thread/237502

R7 2700 : R20 MT 3448

Too much money?
(15 items)
CPU
R9 3950X
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X570 Pro
GPU
eVGA RTX 2080 Ti XC Ultra
RAM
48GB Corsair Vengeance RGB 3200 Mhz
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 1TB M.2.
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Evo 500GB M.2.
Power Supply
Seasonic PRIME Ultra 650W Gold
Cooling
Corsair XC7 CPU Block
Cooling
Corsair ML120 RGB x7
Cooling
Corsair XD5 Pump/Reservoir Combo
Cooling
Corsair XD5 360MM Radiator
Cooling
Corsair XD5 120MM Radiator
Cooling
Corsair XG7 RTX 2080 Ti GPU Block
Case
Corsair 570X
Monitor
XB273K
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by Shiftstealth; 02-01-2020 at 03:05 AM.
Shiftstealth is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off