Stock 3950x crashes with prime95 small FFTs - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Stock 3950x crashes with prime95 small FFTs

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 105 (permalink) Old 03-29-2020, 02:21 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
webstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 138
Rep: 0
I just tried to revert to default settings, then setting the voltage offset to +0.05v. That fixes the issue as well. Defaults are just not cutting it for some reason.

webstar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 105 (permalink) Old 03-29-2020, 05:57 PM
Overclocker
 
JackCY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10,998
Rep: 363 (Unique: 260)
Maybe the motherboard or it's settings aren't up to snuff.
Mobos can vary greatly at times with how much voltage and how stable do they feed a CPU even at stock
You could try a different CPU sample but it's unlikely to help if the mobo is feeding it too low again.
JackCY is offline  
post #13 of 105 (permalink) Old 03-29-2020, 06:20 PM
Intel in 2020 LOL
 
rares495's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,144
Rep: 47 (Unique: 23)
You should compare your low current & high current voltages with other 3950X chips and see if yours simply needs more voltage at stock or if the motherboard is just being weird and not supplying enough.

AMD Bliss
(15 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 5 3600 - 2019PGT
Motherboard
MSI X470 Gaming Plus Max - 1.0.0.6
RAM
2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3600C15 @3800 14-15-12-28-40 1T 1.52V
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 250GB
Hard Drive
2x Samsung 860 Evo 500GB
Hard Drive
2x Crucial MX500 1TB
Power Supply
Super Flower Leadex II Gold 650W
Cooling
be quiet! Dark Rock 4
Case
Phanteks P350X
Monitor
Asus VG245HE
Keyboard
Logitech G710+
Mouse
Logitech G502 Hero
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Mousepad
Logitech G440 hardmat
Audio
Asus Cerberus
CPU
Intel Core i5 4460
Motherboard
Gigabyte B85M-D3H-A
GPU
Sapphire RX 580 Nitro+ 8GB
RAM
2x8GB Kingston HyperX Fury @1600 CL10
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Hard Drive
WD Blue 1TB
Power Supply
Super Flower Golden King Pro SF-500P14PE 500W 80+ Platinum
Cooling
Intel Stock Cooler
Case
Zalman Z11+
Operating System
Windows 10 x64
Monitor
Asus VG245HE TN 1080p 75hz
Keyboard
Logitech G710+
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Mousepad
Logitech G440
Audio
Logitech X-540 5.1
CPU
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
Motherboard
Gigabyte P43-ES3G
GPU
Asus R9 270X Top 2GB
RAM
2x2048MB Kingston DDR2 800mhz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 EVO 120GB
Hard Drive
WD Blue 1TB
Power Supply
Sirtec High-Power 80+ 400W
Cooling
Some 92mm cooler
Case
Zalman Z11+
Operating System
Win 7 Ultimate x64
Monitor
Several LG/BenQ 17" 1280x1024 75hz
Keyboard
Logitech G710+ MX Brown
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Mouse
Razer DeathAdder 2013
Mousepad
Logitech G440 hardmat
Mousepad
Razer Goliathus Speed WoT Edition
▲ hide details ▲
rares495 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 105 (permalink) Old 03-30-2020, 04:50 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
webstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 138
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by JackCY View Post
Maybe the motherboard or it's settings aren't up to snuff.
Mobos can vary greatly at times with how much voltage and how stable do they feed a CPU even at stock
You could try a different CPU sample but it's unlikely to help if the mobo is feeding it too low again.
Unfortunately, I'm not able to do that. Mainly because everything is on lockdown because of the virus.

Quote: Originally Posted by rares495 View Post
You should compare your low current & high current voltages with other 3950X chips and see if yours simply needs more voltage at stock or if the motherboard is just being weird and not supplying enough.
I'd appreciate any tips on how to check this properly. So far I'm seeing regular voltages with Low LLC and/or PBO.

webstar is offline  
post #15 of 105 (permalink) Old 03-30-2020, 04:56 AM
Intel in 2020 LOL
 
rares495's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,144
Rep: 47 (Unique: 23)
Quote: Originally Posted by webstar View Post
Unfortunately, I'm not able to do that. Mainly because everything is on lockdown because of the virus.


I'd appreciate any tips on how to check this properly. So far I'm seeing regular voltages with Low LLC and/or PBO.
To check the voltages, run Cinebench R20 CPU and write down the voltage from cpu-z somewhere once it's stabilized. That's your high current (high load) voltage. After that, run Cinebench CPU Single and write down that voltage. That's your low current (low load) voltage. Use them to compare with other 3950X chips online.

AMD Bliss
(15 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 5 3600 - 2019PGT
Motherboard
MSI X470 Gaming Plus Max - 1.0.0.6
RAM
2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3600C15 @3800 14-15-12-28-40 1T 1.52V
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 250GB
Hard Drive
2x Samsung 860 Evo 500GB
Hard Drive
2x Crucial MX500 1TB
Power Supply
Super Flower Leadex II Gold 650W
Cooling
be quiet! Dark Rock 4
Case
Phanteks P350X
Monitor
Asus VG245HE
Keyboard
Logitech G710+
Mouse
Logitech G502 Hero
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Mousepad
Logitech G440 hardmat
Audio
Asus Cerberus
CPU
Intel Core i5 4460
Motherboard
Gigabyte B85M-D3H-A
GPU
Sapphire RX 580 Nitro+ 8GB
RAM
2x8GB Kingston HyperX Fury @1600 CL10
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Hard Drive
WD Blue 1TB
Power Supply
Super Flower Golden King Pro SF-500P14PE 500W 80+ Platinum
Cooling
Intel Stock Cooler
Case
Zalman Z11+
Operating System
Windows 10 x64
Monitor
Asus VG245HE TN 1080p 75hz
Keyboard
Logitech G710+
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Mousepad
Logitech G440
Audio
Logitech X-540 5.1
CPU
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
Motherboard
Gigabyte P43-ES3G
GPU
Asus R9 270X Top 2GB
RAM
2x2048MB Kingston DDR2 800mhz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 EVO 120GB
Hard Drive
WD Blue 1TB
Power Supply
Sirtec High-Power 80+ 400W
Cooling
Some 92mm cooler
Case
Zalman Z11+
Operating System
Win 7 Ultimate x64
Monitor
Several LG/BenQ 17" 1280x1024 75hz
Keyboard
Logitech G710+ MX Brown
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Mouse
Razer DeathAdder 2013
Mousepad
Logitech G440 hardmat
Mousepad
Razer Goliathus Speed WoT Edition
▲ hide details ▲
rares495 is online now  
post #16 of 105 (permalink) Old 04-08-2020, 12:30 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
smonkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 182
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
@webstar , you can't imagine how happy I am to know about problem. Because I have the exact same issue as you with a 3950X and a Aorus Master x570 (pretty similar configuration). I already thought my CPU was defective, but now I'm blaming Gigabyte's default settings. I have to rise the offset too +0.05V to pass OCCT without errors, so we are in the same boat. Enabling LLC low or PBO also solves the problem, so it seems the exact same problem. It's not a BIOS issue because I've already tried four different versions from 9 to 12e (beta) and each one of them have the same problem. It's just the board not giving enough juice with defaults, which is the first time I recall it happens to me in all my experience with PCs.

I don't know why I switched from Asrock to Gigabyte. Never again, period.

Last edited by smonkie; 04-08-2020 at 12:49 PM.
smonkie is offline  
post #17 of 105 (permalink) Old 04-09-2020, 09:34 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Pavelow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 285
Rep: 10 (Unique: 8)
I have exactly the same problem!!!
3950x with an X570 Aorus Pro Wifi, BIOS F12e.

Based on this thread: https://community.amd.com/thread/248934, I made the assumption that it was the CPU since I similarly needed to set LLC to Medium to gain stability (LLC Low still had failures). I went through the warranty return process and spent the better part of a month waiting on a replacement chip due to delays caused by the pandemic. The replacement is having the same issue, though different cores tend to fail than on my original chip (Running prime95 on Linux since running it on windows tends to end in a BSOD).

Based on this thread it seems like it might be a Gigabyte power delivery thing, though I was starting to think it might be something to do with bad die binning since the serial number of the replacement chip is very close to that of my original chip.
I'll hopefully be able to borrow an Asus B450 board soon to test the chip with, I will report my findings.

'Never let your sense of morals prevent you from doing what is right" - Foundation - Isaac Asimov
Pavelow is offline  
post #18 of 105 (permalink) Old 04-09-2020, 11:19 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
smonkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 182
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by Pavelow View Post
I have exactly the same problem!!!
3950x with an X570 Aorus Pro Wifi, BIOS F12e.

Based on this thread: https://community.amd.com/thread/248934, I made the assumption that it was the CPU since I similarly needed to set LLC to Medium to gain stability (LLC Low still had failures). I went through the warranty return process and spent the better part of a month waiting on a replacement chip due to delays caused by the pandemic. The replacement is having the same issue, though different cores tend to fail than on my original chip (Running prime95 on Linux since running it on windows tends to end in a BSOD).

Based on this thread it seems like it might be a Gigabyte power delivery thing, though I was starting to think it might be something to do with bad die binning since the serial number of the replacement chip is very close to that of my original chip.
I'll hopefully be able to borrow an Asus B450 board soon to test the chip with, I will report my findings.
I can confirm LLC low still has failures. Setting it to medium manages to run OCCT without trouble.

But setting the voltage to "auto" seems to be the real culprit, no matter how many other settings you add into the mix. It could even show different results after rebooting, crashes include. It's just plain wrong how Gigabyte's auto setting is managing voltage droops with these boards. Setting the voltage to offset even a tiny bit (-0.01 or +0.01) + LLC gets the CPU stable.

Please keep in touch with us, because going through an international RMA these days is so much hussle. Never again, Gigabyte...

Last edited by smonkie; 04-09-2020 at 12:56 PM.
smonkie is offline  
post #19 of 105 (permalink) Old 04-11-2020, 10:22 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
webstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 138
Rep: 0
@smonkie , @Pavelow

Good to know I'm not the only one in this boat, as this pretty much shows that it's not a faulty CPU.
Since I couldn't afford being without a PC until the RMA goes through, I'm just using one of the stable settings I've found and got no other issues so far.

Has anybody contacted Gigabyte's support?

webstar is offline  
post #20 of 105 (permalink) Old 04-24-2020, 04:07 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
smonkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 182
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by webstar View Post
@smonkie , @Pavelow

Good to know I'm not the only one in this boat, as this pretty much shows that it's not a faulty CPU.
Since I couldn't afford being without a PC until the RMA goes through, I'm just using one of the stable settings I've found and got no other issues so far.

Has anybody contacted Gigabyte's support?
I opened a ticket, but never got answered. Have you made any progress?

I didn't buy Gigabyte since my last Nvidia 980, but this is really the last time I buy anything Gigabyte related.
smonkie is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 members and 1 guests)
blitzkrieg666
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off