Stock 3950x crashes with prime95 small FFTs - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Stock 3950x crashes with prime95 small FFTs

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-26-2020, 04:58 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
webstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 137
Rep: 0
Stock 3950x crashes with prime95 small FFTs

Yesterday I built my new PC which consists of:

Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro (latest drivers and BIOS)
Ryzen 9 3950X
Noctua NH-D15 Chromax.black
Kingston HyperX Predator 2x16GB 3600MHz CL18
Gigabyte GTX 1080Ti Aorus Xtreme
Corsair HX750

CPU is most definitely a BEAST. Considering that I switched from a 9 year old i7 2600k, basically everything that I usually do showed immense performance improvements and I had no issues whatsoever.
However, today I wanted to see if the temperatures are okay and started testing with Prime95. Initially I started with blend which worked for ~20 minutes before the PC simply reset itself. So I disabled the XMP and thought that would be the end of it, reran blend and waited for ~40 minutes and just before I stopped the workers it reset again.

Temps were fine both times, usually at ~65, but peaked at ~83 a couple of times. So I guess that's not an issue. I still wasn't sure what's the issue, so I wanted to make sure that the CPU is fine and ran small FFTs considering that it will mostly stress the CPU and not the memory.
Aaaand boy was I wrong to assume that RAM was faulty. Immediately after the worker threads are started, PC just resets. And it happens every single time I run small FFTs. It doesn't even do anything, just starts the workers and bails. No BSODs, no freezing, nothing. A quick reset and I'm back at my Windows desktop.

After each of these resets, Event Viewer logs contain these errors:
A fatal hardware error has occurred.

Reported by component: Processor Core
Error Source: Machine Check Exception
Error Type: Cache Hierarchy Error
Processor APIC ID: 21

I found a couple of similar issues, and an identical one on AMD community forums which was resolved by getting a new CPU. There was also a workaround mentioned to switch the LLC from Auto to Medium. So I tried that as well. LLC at Low and everything above works just fine with small FFTs.
I ran it with LLC Low for more than an hour and didn't have any issues. All cores were at ~3580MHz, Vcore was at ~1.02v, temperature at ~60c. Here's a pic of Ryzen Master at that time: https://i.imgur.com/cpEGc4j.png
Other issues mentioned VRM cooling and CPU overcurrent protection. VRM MOS temps were never above 47 while I did these tests, and Aorus Pro should have sufficient cooling for it.

I also tried setting the clock to 4200MHz and increasing the Vcore to 1.375, which resulted in small FFTs starting and a complete shutdown after 10 seconds or so. That would indicate a power issue, so I could probably surpass it by using the 4pin CPU connector as well (8pin is obviously already connected).

What do you guys think? Is this a case of a best-possible-time-to-get-a-faulty-CPU (considering the coronavirus and everything), or do I just need to tweak the BIOS settings a bit and forget about it?


Last edited by webstar; 03-26-2020 at 05:25 PM.
webstar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-27-2020, 03:22 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
poah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: in a house
Posts: 836
Rep: 7 (Unique: 6)
run a blender work load and see if it is ok. A stock CPU shouldn't fail on prime95. Personally I would return it.
poah is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-27-2020, 04:28 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 359
Rep: 13 (Unique: 7)
Could be a weird auto LLC setting. Too high LLC => too little voltage => instability.

AMD Bliss
(15 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 3700X - 1900MHz FCLK
Motherboard
MSI X470 Gaming Pro - 1.0.0.4B
GPU
Sapphire RX 5700 XT Pulse
RAM
2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3600C15 @3800 14-15-13-27-40 1T 1.5V
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 250GB
Hard Drive
2x Samsung 860 Evo 500GB
Power Supply
Super Flower Leadex II Gold 650W
Cooling
be quiet! Dark Rock 4 Push-Pull
Case
Phanteks P350X
Monitor
Asus VG245HE
Keyboard
Logitech G710+
Mouse
Logitech G502 Hero
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Mousepad
Logitech G440 hardmat
Audio
Asus Cerberus
CPU
Intel Core i5 4460
Motherboard
Gigabyte B85M-D3H-A
GPU
Sapphire RX 580 Nitro+ 8GB
RAM
2x8GB Kingston HyperX Fury @1600 CL10
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Hard Drive
WD Blue 1TB
Power Supply
Super Flower Golden King Pro SF-500P14PE 500W 80+ Platinum
Cooling
Intel Stock Cooler
Case
Zalman Z11+
Operating System
Windows 10 x64
Monitor
Asus VG245HE TN 1080p 75hz
Keyboard
Logitech G710+
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Mousepad
Logitech G440
Audio
Logitech X-540 5.1
CPU
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
Motherboard
Gigabyte P43-ES3G
GPU
Asus R9 270X Top 2GB
RAM
2x2048MB Kingston DDR2 800mhz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 EVO 120GB
Hard Drive
WD Blue 1TB
Power Supply
Sirtec High-Power 80+ 400W
Cooling
Some 92mm cooler
Case
Zalman Z11+
Operating System
Win 7 Ultimate x64
Monitor
Several LG/BenQ 17" 1280x1024 75hz
Keyboard
Logitech G710+ MX Brown
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Mouse
Razer DeathAdder 2013
Mousepad
Logitech G440 hardmat
Mousepad
Razer Goliathus Speed WoT Edition
▲ hide details ▲
rares495 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-27-2020, 12:23 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 19,283
Rep: 880 (Unique: 638)
How about the other components of the motherboard? Are you able to monitor their temp using HWINFO64?

Read this article about MSI BOARD.

https://www.tomshardware.com/feature...pg-x570-plus/2

2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-27-2020, 01:52 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
webstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 137
Rep: 0
Blender benchmark passed multiple times without any issues with Low LLC. Prime95 small FFTs also worked well for more than 2 hours, when initially I couldn't even start the test. So far the settings that work flawlessly include either setting LLC to Low (or higher) or turning on PBO, or both.

As far as other temps go, they're pretty much okay. VRM never crossed ~50c even with PBO, and the rest of the motherboard temps were even lower.

webstar is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-28-2020, 05:33 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 18
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
The processor came defective, it should work without errors. you have to take it to the guarantee.
kyo2020 is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-28-2020, 05:43 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 359
Rep: 13 (Unique: 7)
Quote: Originally Posted by webstar View Post
Blender benchmark passed multiple times without any issues with Low LLC. Prime95 small FFTs also worked well for more than 2 hours, when initially I couldn't even start the test. So far the settings that work flawlessly include either setting LLC to Low (or higher) or turning on PBO, or both.

As far as other temps go, they're pretty much okay. VRM never crossed ~50c even with PBO, and the rest of the motherboard temps were even lower.
Glad to hear that I was right. Can you tell me what the max voltage variation is? I'm curious how much of an impact this LLC setting has.

And, by the way, you should update your BIOS to the latest version.

AMD Bliss
(15 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 3700X - 1900MHz FCLK
Motherboard
MSI X470 Gaming Pro - 1.0.0.4B
GPU
Sapphire RX 5700 XT Pulse
RAM
2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3600C15 @3800 14-15-13-27-40 1T 1.5V
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 250GB
Hard Drive
2x Samsung 860 Evo 500GB
Power Supply
Super Flower Leadex II Gold 650W
Cooling
be quiet! Dark Rock 4 Push-Pull
Case
Phanteks P350X
Monitor
Asus VG245HE
Keyboard
Logitech G710+
Mouse
Logitech G502 Hero
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Mousepad
Logitech G440 hardmat
Audio
Asus Cerberus
CPU
Intel Core i5 4460
Motherboard
Gigabyte B85M-D3H-A
GPU
Sapphire RX 580 Nitro+ 8GB
RAM
2x8GB Kingston HyperX Fury @1600 CL10
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Hard Drive
WD Blue 1TB
Power Supply
Super Flower Golden King Pro SF-500P14PE 500W 80+ Platinum
Cooling
Intel Stock Cooler
Case
Zalman Z11+
Operating System
Windows 10 x64
Monitor
Asus VG245HE TN 1080p 75hz
Keyboard
Logitech G710+
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Mousepad
Logitech G440
Audio
Logitech X-540 5.1
CPU
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
Motherboard
Gigabyte P43-ES3G
GPU
Asus R9 270X Top 2GB
RAM
2x2048MB Kingston DDR2 800mhz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 EVO 120GB
Hard Drive
WD Blue 1TB
Power Supply
Sirtec High-Power 80+ 400W
Cooling
Some 92mm cooler
Case
Zalman Z11+
Operating System
Win 7 Ultimate x64
Monitor
Several LG/BenQ 17" 1280x1024 75hz
Keyboard
Logitech G710+ MX Brown
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Mouse
Razer DeathAdder 2013
Mousepad
Logitech G440 hardmat
Mousepad
Razer Goliathus Speed WoT Edition
▲ hide details ▲
rares495 is online now  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-28-2020, 07:15 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
webstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 137
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by rares495 View Post
Glad to hear that I was right. Can you tell me what the max voltage variation is? I'm curious how much of an impact this LLC setting has.

And, by the way, you should update your BIOS to the latest version.
BIOS is already the latest one. I'm not sure I noticed any difference between max voltages with Low/Auto LLC. It goes up to ~1.475 or so with both settings for some benchmarks.
For small FFTs voltage (with Low LLC and PBO) voltage was usually around 1.17v with clocks ~3870MHz. Without PBO, it's around ~1.02v with clocks ~3560MHz.


Quote: Originally Posted by kyo2020 View Post
The processor came defective, it should work without errors. you have to take it to the guarantee.
If the CPU is defective I would guess that the issue would be reproducible no matter the LLC/PBO setting?

webstar is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-29-2020, 11:34 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
newls1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 1,472
Rep: 35 (Unique: 27)
Quote: Originally Posted by kyo2020 View Post
The processor came defective, it should work without errors. you have to take it to the guarantee.
replies like this really piss me off. OP... First make sure that your motherboard is flashed with latest bios, then apply "optimized defaults" and reboot, and see if issue comes back. really think we have a bios option dealing with a voltage setting haunting you. setting things all to defaults should fix this issue, but we have to teach you how to tweak this platform after you fix this stability issue.

**Intel System** Asus Z390E Strix / 8700k @ 4.85Ghz / 32GB BDie @ 3200 CL14 / PowerColor 5700XT / eVGA 850w PSU / Sammy 960 EVO m.2 / MX500 250gb games SSD / 49" Samsung UltraWide 144Hz
**AMD System** Asus ROG Crosshair VIII Hero / 3950X @ 4.605GHz (CCD0) 4.45GHz (CCD1) 1.350v/ 64GB DJR Mem @ 3740MHz CL16 / 2080 Ti / eVGA 1200 Plat PSU / Sabrent 1Tb PCIe4.0 m.2 / MX500 500gb games SSD / 34" LG UltraWide 144Hz
(Dual watercooling loops for CPU and GPU, all highend)


newls1 is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-29-2020, 01:43 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
webstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 137
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by newls1 View Post
replies like this really piss me off. OP... First make sure that your motherboard is flashed with latest bios, then apply "optimized defaults" and reboot, and see if issue comes back. really think we have a bios option dealing with a voltage setting haunting you. setting things all to defaults should fix this issue, but we have to teach you how to tweak this platform after you fix this stability issue.
I already tried reverting to defaults in the BIOS, and the first thing I did when I assembled the PC was to flash BIOS to the latest one. Unfortunately, default settings changed nothing. The only things that do help is either manually setting LLC to Low (or higher), enabling PBO, or both.

webstar is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off