Please help this newb with a Ryzen 3950X build (for music production) - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Please help this newb with a Ryzen 3950X build (for music production)

post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-15-2020, 06:17 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Please help this newb with a Ryzen 3950X build (for music production)

Hey folks,

Like the title says, I'm a newb. And I've been out of the loop from building my own rig for about 8 years, so a lot has changed.

Background: I produce music. I will also do some light video production (nothing fancy, just simple YouTube videos). That's it. No gaming, this is all for music production in a DAW (Studio One, RME UCX interface). There's just so much to choose from. I am upgrading from an i7 3930K that I've had overclocked to 4.2ghz with a Noctua fan cooler for over 8 years (it's been so solid for me). But, i've finally hit the ceiling in my DAW, so it's time to upgrade. I've decided I am going with the 3950X and I could sincerely use some help with the following:

1) What chipset should I purchase?

It looks like there are several to choose from. I've been researching for a couple of days but I still feel a bit lost.
I was looking at X570 vs X470. I'm leaning towards X470 b/c I read it has much less power consumption (I read it's 5W vs 15W). That's a huge difference, and the idea of saving on my electric bill is a big plus.

2) What type of overclock can I expect versus the X570? If I go with the lower powered X470, will I be crying the blues because my overclock sucks?

3) Is there another chipset that would better suit me that I'm not considering?

This is hardware I want to attach to the motherboard: