Sanity Check: I Believe My R5 3600 Die Is Incorrectly Soldered To The IHS Out Of The Factory - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Sanity Check: I Believe My R5 3600 Die Is Incorrectly Soldered To The IHS Out Of The Factory

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 35 (permalink) Old 05-25-2020, 08:21 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 20,030
Rep: 894 (Unique: 644)
How did you apply the thermal paste?

My stock 3600 gets to about 56c using Prime95 blend cooled by a Noctua U12S with 2 fans.

2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
470
GPU
5700
RAM
3466/14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
55/2160
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 35 (permalink) Old 05-25-2020, 09:53 PM
Watercooler
 
Socks keep you warm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 3,367
Rep: 145 (Unique: 124)
Quote: Originally Posted by MuzzleFuzzle View Post
Ok, I guess I see what your saying, then let's just ignore the 8700k result.

Still 91°C seems fine for stock settings, (im gonna sound like a broken record)280mm aio, max fans, max pump, 70 watts power draw?
Must be something wrong with your aio dude. You're right those temps are crap, just don't compare different architectures is all!
I would be looking at testing a different cooler.

I like to have fun.
https://stats.foldingathome.org/donor/110855
https://www.trueachievements.com/gamer/II+TH3PRO+II
16 Threads is Good
(10 items)
CPU
Intel Core I9 9900K 4.8Ghz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Elite
GPU
Aorus 2080Ti Xtreme Waterforce WB 11GB
RAM
Trident Z
Hard Drive
Samsung 250 SSD
Power Supply
Cooler Master Silent Pro Hybrid
Cooling
Watercooling Custom
Case
900D
Operating System
Windows 10 x64
Monitor
28" ACER 4K Monitor
▲ hide details ▲


Socks keep you warm is offline  
post #13 of 35 (permalink) Old 05-25-2020, 10:02 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mongoled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ayia Napa, Cyprus
Posts: 797
Rep: 30 (Unique: 23)
Ambient temps ??

Can see that your "Mainboard" temperature is minimum 38C and peaking at 59C.

Ive never seen such high temps on my MSI while ambient temps are around 30C.

Does your case lack ventilation?

What is the orientation of the fans ?

Your temps do look high, but without the above mentioned vectors the temps could be correct.

I.e.

Low air flow
Wrong fan flow orientation
CPU that runs hotter than most other 3600

All these together will make it look like your CPU may have a problem, but we are lacking some critical information.

@rdr09

Dude are you at the north pole ?


SeaSonic X750 Gold 750W
MSI X370 XPOWER Gaming Titanium | Ryzen 5 3600 2016SUS BCLK @107.5625 | EDC @3
Viper Steel Series PVS416G413C9K @ 3800/1900 mhz | 1.552v | 14-15-14-12-26-38-247-16-1T
Asus GTX 780 DCII OC @ 1332/3522 mhz, 1.3v | Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
EK-FB MSI X370 XPower RGB Monoblock 1/2" ID | Swiftech D5 MCP655 | EK-XRES 100
Alphacool NexXxoS UT60 280 | 4 x Scythe GT AP-15 @ 5v
Thermochill PA120.3 | 1 x NF-A12x15 | 2 x ML120 | PWM
mongoled is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 35 (permalink) Old 05-25-2020, 11:51 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 20,030
Rep: 894 (Unique: 644)
Quote: Originally Posted by Socks keep you warm View Post
Must be something wrong with your aio dude. You're right those temps are crap, just don't compare different architectures is all!
I would be looking at testing a different cooler.
This or indeed something wrong with the cpu itself.

Quote: Originally Posted by mongoled View Post
Ambient temps ??

CPU that runs hotter than most other 3600

@rdr09

Dude are you at the north pole ?

Closer to the equator but when i game i turn the ac on cos my card is reference like first screenshot. Second ss was optimized default running Prime95 with ram set to docp.

CPU cooler is Noctua U12S with 2 fans and MX-4 for thermal paste.

EDIT: OP, your 3600 might be similar to this one. He undervolted and oc'ed.

https://www.overclock.net/forum/246-...3v-w-b450.html
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	GAME TEMP 41 3666.PNG
Views:	18
Size:	475.4 KB
ID:	349446  

Click image for larger version

Name:	p95 stock.PNG
Views:	32
Size:	1.10 MB
ID:	349448  


By Built-in Benchmark Queen:
My 2.5 years old delidded 7980xe @ 4600mhz all core with 49ns memorylatency (4000c16 twekaed) is faster than 3950x max overclocked on water in every scenario. Pretty good for a ancient cpu
In gaming it has no chance vs my new 10900k @ 5400mhz and 4600c16 tweaked memory. ~35ns memorylatency.
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
470
GPU
5700
RAM
3466/14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
55/2160
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by rdr09; 05-26-2020 at 12:32 AM.
rdr09 is offline  
post #15 of 35 (permalink) Old 05-26-2020, 03:37 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 418
Rep: 10 (Unique: 9)
I have a 3600 on an average aftermarket cooler(about halfway between a prism and a hyper212) I only reach 95c in p95 with pbo maxed out, it does seem like you're pushing higher temps than expected to me. Maybe the cooler doesn't mount right for a 3600(I see you've remounted it several times so I doubt you've mounted it wrong). The chiplet is in the corner of the IHS maybe you're not getting good pressure? Do you have another cooler to test with?


edit: re read the post and see you've already tried stock cooler, 85c+ does seem too much for the aftermarket cooler though for 88w ppt.
2600ryzen is online now  
post #16 of 35 (permalink) Old 05-26-2020, 05:12 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mongoled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ayia Napa, Cyprus
Posts: 797
Rep: 30 (Unique: 23)
Quote: Originally Posted by rdr09 View Post
This or indeed something wrong with the cpu itself.



Closer to the equator but when i game i turn the ac on cos my card is reference like first screenshot. Second ss was optimized default running Prime95 with ram set to docp.

CPU cooler is Noctua U12S with 2 fans and MX-4 for thermal paste.

EDIT: OP, your 3600 might be similar to this one. He undervolted and oc'ed.

https://www.overclock.net/forum/246-...3v-w-b450.html
Dude, I thought most people were in general agreement that the CPU temperature for quoting Ryzen temps is Tctl/Tdie.

No wonder I thought you were at a very cool location as you are not quoting Tctl/Tdie, where as the OP is, bit sneaky that



** EDIT **
Added image for OP to compare, my Belkin watt-o-meter measured 209-210W
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	prime95-for-MuzzleFuzzle.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	2.01 MB
ID:	349498  


SeaSonic X750 Gold 750W
MSI X370 XPOWER Gaming Titanium | Ryzen 5 3600 2016SUS BCLK @107.5625 | EDC @3
Viper Steel Series PVS416G413C9K @ 3800/1900 mhz | 1.552v | 14-15-14-12-26-38-247-16-1T
Asus GTX 780 DCII OC @ 1332/3522 mhz, 1.3v | Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
EK-FB MSI X370 XPower RGB Monoblock 1/2" ID | Swiftech D5 MCP655 | EK-XRES 100
Alphacool NexXxoS UT60 280 | 4 x Scythe GT AP-15 @ 5v
Thermochill PA120.3 | 1 x NF-A12x15 | 2 x ML120 | PWM

Last edited by mongoled; 05-26-2020 at 05:40 AM.
mongoled is offline  
post #17 of 35 (permalink) Old 05-26-2020, 10:23 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 20,030
Rep: 894 (Unique: 644)
Quote: Originally Posted by mongoled View Post
Dude, I thought most people were in general agreement that the CPU temperature for quoting Ryzen temps is Tctl/Tdie.

No wonder I thought you were at a very cool location as you are not quoting Tctl/Tdie, where as the OP is, bit sneaky that



** EDIT **
Added image for OP to compare, my Belkin watt-o-meter measured 209-210W
My bad. The Tdie, or is it the Tctl, has a +offset from the cpu temp. OP used the package temp in occt, which is an equivalent of the tdie temp in HWINFO.

The op in this thread was having the same issue and found out that he can undervolting and oc the chip. I was thinking it might be the same here. It seems newer 3600 can oc really well.

https://www.overclock.net/forum/246-...3v-w-b450.html

By Built-in Benchmark Queen:
My 2.5 years old delidded 7980xe @ 4600mhz all core with 49ns memorylatency (4000c16 twekaed) is faster than 3950x max overclocked on water in every scenario. Pretty good for a ancient cpu
In gaming it has no chance vs my new 10900k @ 5400mhz and 4600c16 tweaked memory. ~35ns memorylatency.
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
470
GPU
5700
RAM
3466/14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
55/2160
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #18 of 35 (permalink) Old 05-26-2020, 10:39 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mongoled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ayia Napa, Cyprus
Posts: 797
Rep: 30 (Unique: 23)
Quote: Originally Posted by rdr09 View Post
My bad. The Tdie, or is it the Tctl, has a +offset from the cpu temp. OP used the package temp in occt, which is an equivalent of the tdie temp in HWINFO.

The op in this thread was having the same issue and found out that he can undervolting and oc the chip. I was thinking it might be the same here. It seems newer 3600 can oc really well.

https://www.overclock.net/forum/246-...3v-w-b450.html
Yup those new CPUs look very exciting



Have a setup for a customer coming from Amazon.de with a 3600, curious to see how it runs on the X470 board I will be pairing it with.


SeaSonic X750 Gold 750W
MSI X370 XPOWER Gaming Titanium | Ryzen 5 3600 2016SUS BCLK @107.5625 | EDC @3
Viper Steel Series PVS416G413C9K @ 3800/1900 mhz | 1.552v | 14-15-14-12-26-38-247-16-1T
Asus GTX 780 DCII OC @ 1332/3522 mhz, 1.3v | Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
EK-FB MSI X370 XPower RGB Monoblock 1/2" ID | Swiftech D5 MCP655 | EK-XRES 100
Alphacool NexXxoS UT60 280 | 4 x Scythe GT AP-15 @ 5v
Thermochill PA120.3 | 1 x NF-A12x15 | 2 x ML120 | PWM
mongoled is offline  
post #19 of 35 (permalink) Old 05-26-2020, 12:54 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 15
Rep: 0
I've repasted my AIO again with a different method:
Imagine the IHS of the CPU is your numpad on your keyboard:

I've always just put a pea sized dot where the 5 key is. (center of IHS)
This time I put small dots where 1,2,3,4,6,7,8,9 are, and a medium dot where 5 is.
I got 86°C max with 83°C average. 2-3°C~ improvement over the best temps I got before.

It's still terrible, but at least I'm not bouncing off of TJmax anymore.
It should run cooler, given the cooler I have and the settings I have set, but I'm kinda burned out working on this thing.

For now this is good enough, and I'm done working on it.
Thanks to everyone for their input and help!
MuzzleFuzzle is offline  
post #20 of 35 (permalink) Old 05-26-2020, 11:19 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mongoled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ayia Napa, Cyprus
Posts: 797
Rep: 30 (Unique: 23)
Quote: Originally Posted by MuzzleFuzzle View Post
I've repasted my AIO again with a different method:
Imagine the IHS of the CPU is your numpad on your keyboard:

I've always just put a pea sized dot where the 5 key is. (center of IHS)
This time I put small dots where 1,2,3,4,6,7,8,9 are, and a medium dot where 5 is.
I got 86°C max with 83°C average. 2-3°C~ improvement over the best temps I got before.

It's still terrible, but at least I'm not bouncing off of TJmax anymore.
It should run cooler, given the cooler I have and the settings I have set, but I'm kinda burned out working on this thing.

For now this is good enough, and I'm done working on it.
Thanks to everyone for their input and help!
Can you post a HWInfo64 screen shot, while running prime95 for a few minutes ?

If 86C is running AVX2/FMA3 than that is not that bad!

I posted to you a screenshot of my rig running prime95 smallest FFTs so you could compare and I have a custom watercooled rig.

Good that you found a way to improve you temperatures



But you never answered some of the basic questions I asked, like what is the ambient temperature, whats the airflow like in your case etc etc

SeaSonic X750 Gold 750W
MSI X370 XPOWER Gaming Titanium | Ryzen 5 3600 2016SUS BCLK @107.5625 | EDC @3
Viper Steel Series PVS416G413C9K @ 3800/1900 mhz | 1.552v | 14-15-14-12-26-38-247-16-1T
Asus GTX 780 DCII OC @ 1332/3522 mhz, 1.3v | Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
EK-FB MSI X370 XPower RGB Monoblock 1/2" ID | Swiftech D5 MCP655 | EK-XRES 100
Alphacool NexXxoS UT60 280 | 4 x Scythe GT AP-15 @ 5v
Thermochill PA120.3 | 1 x NF-A12x15 | 2 x ML120 | PWM
mongoled is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off