Ryzen 3600, x570, where to start OCing cpu? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Ryzen 3600, x570, where to start OCing cpu?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-03-2020, 08:41 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 290
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Ryzen 3600, x570, where to start OCing cpu?

Coming from an intel i5-2500k and i5-6600k, it was as simple as just raising the multiplier and calling it a day.
On this Ryzen I'm not sure what's going on it seems memory is a huge factor, and that you can impact performance if you don't do it correctly.
So I am in the process of learning to OC the memory and trying to tighten the timings.
Ryzen 3600, x570 Asus Tuf Gaming board, regular cooler master heatsink, and GSkill 3600mhz 2x8 GB Hynix D, 16-19-19-39 so far at 3733, 16-19/20-19-39.

Now I've seen some people said theyve oc'd to 4.2Ghz but this is a little confusing as I have seen my cores hit 4.2 from boost and seem to stay at that speed while benching, so what am I missing?
This machine is 95% gaming, and then just browsing, watching streams, etc.

TheGlow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-03-2020, 09:03 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 20,037
Rep: 894 (Unique: 644)
Not sure if you've visited this thread but you are prolly the third member i've advised to check it out.

https://www.overclock.net/forum/10-a...arch-20-a.html

If your CPU is new, then it might oc at a lower voltage.

As far as oc'ing, i just set the following:

1. CPU Core Ratio - from Auto > 40, 41, 42, so on . . .
2. VDDCR CPU - Set to Manual > For 4GHz (40) maybe try 1.2v and so on (Sometimes i use OFFSET)
3. DiGi VRM > LLC > For 4GHz probably not needed just lv in Auto. Higher like 4.2GHz try Level 3, so on.

____________

For RAM

https://www.overclock.net/forum/13-a...l#post28481176

NOTE: You can jump straight to 4.3GHz if you like. Keep it under 1.32v.

By Built-in Benchmark Queen:
My 2.5 years old delidded 7980xe @ 4600mhz all core with 49ns memorylatency (4000c16 twekaed) is faster than 3950x max overclocked on water in every scenario. Pretty good for a ancient cpu
In gaming it has no chance vs my new 10900k @ 5400mhz and 4600c16 tweaked memory. ~35ns memorylatency.
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
470
GPU
5700
RAM
3466/14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
55/2160
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by rdr09; 06-03-2020 at 09:08 AM.
rdr09 is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-03-2020, 10:58 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 290
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Thanks. I did as suggested, auto was showing VDDCR CPU already at 1.3 so I figure thats ok, so I set to 1.3, tried ratio at 42, llc on Level 3, booted fine, ran cinebenchr20. Went back and kicked it up to 4.4Ghz, cinebench score went up only a couple of points, like only 6. So I'm not sure if I should finish tightening/messing with my memory timings for stock first or try it all again at 4.4. It does look like my temps have shot up to 81c since im on air, so I dont know if id want to stay at this.

TheGlow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-03-2020, 11:22 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 20,037
Rep: 894 (Unique: 644)
Quote: Originally Posted by TheGlow View Post
Thanks. I did as suggested, auto was showing VDDCR CPU already at 1.3 so I figure thats ok, so I set to 1.3, tried ratio at 42, llc on Level 3, booted fine, ran cinebenchr20. Went back and kicked it up to 4.4Ghz, cinebench score went up only a couple of points, like only 6. So I'm not sure if I should finish tightening/messing with my memory timings for stock first or try it all again at 4.4. It does look like my temps have shot up to 81c since im on air, so I dont know if id want to stay at this.
Try to play with 4.2GHz oc first by lowering the voltage. It might boot lower than 1.3v. For 4.4GHz, you prolly gonna need higher level of LLC - try 4. Even 4.4GHz might not need 1.3v.

Your chip is like the other 3600 in that thread. The older ones are luck to get 4.2GHz like mine.

That 3733 MHz on the RAM is very good. If you can get that stable that would be a big plus. Seek help in the other thread.

Use Aida 64 free version to check memory latency.

By Built-in Benchmark Queen:
My 2.5 years old delidded 7980xe @ 4600mhz all core with 49ns memorylatency (4000c16 twekaed) is faster than 3950x max overclocked on water in every scenario. Pretty good for a ancient cpu
In gaming it has no chance vs my new 10900k @ 5400mhz and 4600c16 tweaked memory. ~35ns memorylatency.
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
470
GPU
5700
RAM
3466/14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
55/2160
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-03-2020, 03:49 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 290
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by rdr09 View Post
Try to play with 4.2GHz oc first by lowering the voltage. It might boot lower than 1.3v. For 4.4GHz, you prolly gonna need higher level of LLC - try 4. Even 4.4GHz might not need 1.3v.

Your chip is like the other 3600 in that thread. The older ones are luck to get 4.2GHz like mine.

That 3733 MHz on the RAM is very good. If you can get that stable that would be a big plus. Seek help in the other thread.

Use Aida 64 free version to check memory latency.
Ok, good to hear. Yea, I just got this 3600 last week Thursday, so I expect its a newer batch when it came back in stock at Amazon. Although I've seen places "find" old stock before.
And because I mounted it already I cant see the chip to confirm 100%.

RAM Im still messing around with. User error, mixed 2 numbers from DRAM Calc, so it didnt post. so I started manually making changes, i had latency at 68.5ms. Took a break, tried again today and for whatever damn reason latency jumped back up to 77+ and even rolling everything back and retrying the previous known good sub 70ns configs, no dice.
So I'll work on that some more, then try a 4.2GHz and see how stuff is for a bit, then try 4.4. Thankx.

TheGlow is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-04-2020, 02:00 AM
AMD OVERLOCKER
 
rastaviper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: CYPRUS
Posts: 719
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
There must be like a dozen topics about ocing of the 3600/x.
Just spend some time checking the main points at each one and if there are still some questions, feel free to ask.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6003 using Tapatalk

  • Ryzen 3600x @4490mhz, Mugen Rev.B, v1.46, 3rd position at HWBOT
  • Gigabyte Aorus Elite x570
  • G-SkillLL F4-3200C15D-16GTZ Trident Z Series CL15 Bdies @3733 15-14-13-1T 1.46v
Official Ryzen 5 3600x Owner!
rastaviper is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-04-2020, 06:08 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 290
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by rastaviper View Post
There must be like a dozen topics about ocing of the 3600/x.
Just spend some time checking the main points at each one and if there are still some questions, feel free to ask.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6003 using Tapatalk
Yea, just trying to get my bearings. In my experience with my previous intels it was just raise multiplier. Did it post? stress it. did it survive? Bump up voltage. Check heats until you hit whichever your comfortable with.
Here there seems a lot more with voltages, tie in with memory, fclk's, LLC, etc. There is an awful lot going on. Also at least with the intels I think i had heard if something wasnt safe it wouldnt post or it would shut down, yet I've seen a few random mentions of you are capable of killing hardware. LIke my old i5-2500k is 3.3GHz, 3.7GHz with boost and I've had it on a 4.2OC for almost 9 years, no performance degradation, yet I've seen a couple random mentions amd's can start to go bad.
So mostly just concerned to get the latest than hope a 1 year old post is still correct. Settings that looked good then might not be in light of new info/time passing.

TheGlow is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off