Is the IHS on an FX 8350 completely sealed? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Is the IHS on an FX 8350 completely sealed?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-06-2020, 06:15 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
KingUniverse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 227
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Is the IHS on an FX 8350 completely sealed?

I just lapped the IHS on my FX 8350, and I used wetted sand paper, is the IHS sealed all the way around? I can see what looks like a small opening in the rubber sealant. I might just run a heat gun over it for a bit just in case, but does anyone know if the IHS is completely sealed? Thanks in advance!
KingUniverse is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-06-2020, 06:19 PM
OCN is bad civilization
 
Melan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: 0,0
Posts: 3,490
Rep: 122 (Unique: 91)
No. There should be a hole to let the air escape.
Melan is online now  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-06-2020, 06:25 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
KingUniverse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 227
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by Melan View Post
No. There should be a hole to let the air escape.
I just ran the heat gun over it, I'll let it sit for a good 24 hours before I put it back in the system, thanks!
KingUniverse is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-06-2020, 06:26 PM
OCN is bad civilization
 
Melan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: 0,0
Posts: 3,490
Rep: 122 (Unique: 91)
Don't seal the hole. It is there for a reason.
Melan is online now  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-06-2020, 06:43 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
KingUniverse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 227
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by Melan View Post
Don't seal the hole. It is there for a reason.
I didn't. I saw the video where K|NGP|N squirted a ton of grease in his hole and decided against it. There was some TIM caked in the hole after I was done lapping, but I cleaned it out, and sprayed some 99.9% ISO in there to help evaporate any water that might have gotten in. I hope no copper bits got in, but oh well 😎 This is hitting 5.2 or dying anyway, so YOLO.
KingUniverse is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off