Burn an Athlon 4000+ on a M2A-VM - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Burn an Athlon 4000+ on a M2A-VM

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-18-2020, 05:48 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
3pac_do's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Burn an Athlon 4000+ on a M2A-VM

Good morning all !

I found an old tower dating from 2005 which I no longer use and which I wanted to have a little fun with before it went into a can or went back to dust.

After having discussed with a friend around a glass of thermal paste (at least that is necessary for our overheating neurons) we concluded that we should try to overclock it within its limits or even transform it into a radiator for the winter.

So to start the config:

Cpu: AMD Athlon 64 X2 4000+ (original but clean cooler with new thermal paste!)

Motherboard: Asus M2A-VM flashed with the latest bios (ver 5001) and new thermal paste for the northbridge

Ram: 2X2go Corsair Dominator

Gpu: MSI 1030 oc

Psu: Advance 480w

OS: Windows 10 pro 2004 brand new

So I already managed a first oc at 2.6Ghz 10.5X247 = 2593Ghz with the vcore in auto I believe which gives after 1 hour of occt in a room at 30 degrees in the south 59 degrees for the proco and 63 degrees for the northbridge.

But I would like to go even further because it will not warm me this winter!

I have tried a 2.8Ghz oc by raising the vcore to 1.45v but I can't get anything stable and it freezes after 5min of use not even under occt.

So I ask for your help to succeed in pushing the limits of this tower and making it one last glorious time before a probable recycling.

Thank you for reading and pondering with me !
(sorry for bad english i'm a French guys)
3pac_do is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-18-2020, 07:16 PM
Retired
 
tubnotub1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,415
Rep: 293 (Unique: 213)
2.6 was the upper limit for most Windsor/Brisbane CPUs back in the day, it might be all the chip is capable of. I know the Denmark cores on the Opteron 165 were *extremely* sought after because quite a few steppings would regularly do 2.8 on high-end air/water, but damned if I can remember the intricacies of overclocking on 939, that was a decade and a half ago. All I can remember from back then was the stepping of the CPU I had (CCBBE 0617 FPMW) and that the Asus A8N32 SLI Deluxe, DFI LANParty nF4 SLI-DR and the EVGA nF4 SLI were all really solid boards. Damn, what a walk down memory lane.

You might want to look into memory straps/dividers though in the bios. As you FSB OC you are also OCing the RAM, so setting a FSB divider that brings your RAM closer in line w/ it's stock speeds can ensure that the limit you are bumping up against is the CPU itself and not the RAM.

Edit: Wow, googling my old stepping and overclock.net pulled up an old post I made w/ my settings. Here is what they were on my Opty 165 @ 2.8.

Model Opteron 165
Type Toledo
Core 90nm
Stepping CCBBE
Date 0617
Code FPMW
Rev E
Mhz 2800
Gain 1000
HTXMulti= 311*9
Vcore 1.47
Mobo EVGA NF41 SLI
Cooling Water
Stable 8 Hours Prime

Thread with other people's results: https://www.overclock.net/forum/10-a...-thread-3.html

Originally Posted by Fishie36:
"Wow there's a lot of pwnage going on. But I still don't know how to do it."
Originally Posted by TransfuSe:
"I had a wet dream about his rig once. I woke up and I was stuck to my bed."
Originally Posted by Fatal05:
"In 'collage', people tend to use their BIOS."
DEUS EX MACHINA
(14 items)
CPU
AMD R9 3900 XT (4.5/4.4) @ 1.325
Motherboard
MSI X570 Unify
GPU
EVGA RTX 2080 Super XC Ultra (2040/8250)
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z Neo 16 GB @ 1900 (16-20-21-36-1T)
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 1 TB
Power Supply
EVGA Supernova 750 G2
Cooling
NZXT Kraken X62
Case
Lian Li PC 011 Dynamic
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Monitor
AOC Q27G1WG4
Keyboard
Corsair K70 Rapidfire Mk.2 SE
Mouse
Logitech G600
▲ hide details ▲



Last edited by tubnotub1; 07-18-2020 at 07:22 PM.
tubnotub1 is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-18-2020, 07:28 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Fight Game's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 43
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
I'm not sure there was a strap for the memory on those boards. I had (still have actually) a DFI lanparty SLI-DR. If I recall, my poor hynix memory was the reason I could only get my opteron 165, and the previous single core (3000+ ??) to 2.7ghz.

Asus Crosshair VI Hero 370 motherboard
AMD 3600x cpu @ 4425mhz with Arctic 240 aio
Powercooler 5700XT Red Devil video
Ballistix 4x8gb ram @ 3800mhz/1900 IF
Samsung 970 Pro NVMe M.2 ssd
Corsair 750 power supply
MSI 34" 3440x1440 curved monitor
Fight Game is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-19-2020, 12:34 AM
Retired
 
tubnotub1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,415
Rep: 293 (Unique: 213)
Memory straps might have been from another platform, I honestly can't remember, but I know all of the boards I owned on 939 had memory dividers that you could utilize to decrease the effective speed of the RAM when you were FSB overclocking, sometimes they were presented as ratios, sometimes as a mhz value, 100 for 1/2 HTT, 133 for 2/3 etc. If you haven't done so already 3pac_do use a memory divider to drop your ram below 200mhz to rule it out as a limiting factor, also keep in mind 2.8 at your current multiplier would put your HTT link at 1066 which might necessitate you dropping the HTT multiplier from 4 to 3.

Originally Posted by Fishie36:
"Wow there's a lot of pwnage going on. But I still don't know how to do it."
Originally Posted by TransfuSe:
"I had a wet dream about his rig once. I woke up and I was stuck to my bed."
Originally Posted by Fatal05:
"In 'collage', people tend to use their BIOS."
DEUS EX MACHINA
(14 items)
CPU
AMD R9 3900 XT (4.5/4.4) @ 1.325
Motherboard
MSI X570 Unify
GPU
EVGA RTX 2080 Super XC Ultra (2040/8250)
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z Neo 16 GB @ 1900 (16-20-21-36-1T)
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 1 TB
Power Supply
EVGA Supernova 750 G2
Cooling
NZXT Kraken X62
Case
Lian Li PC 011 Dynamic
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Monitor
AOC Q27G1WG4
Keyboard
Corsair K70 Rapidfire Mk.2 SE
Mouse
Logitech G600
▲ hide details ▲


tubnotub1 is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-19-2020, 03:54 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
3pac_do's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Hello guys
Thanks for your quick answer
Today i was able to reach 2.8Ghz !
I increase the voltage of my ram to 2.10V and the memory clock frequency to 800Mhz and bam a stable oc !
I increase the fsb to 266Mhz and the Vcore to 1.45v
What do you think of this tension to this frequency ?
My oc is now stable but i have a little problem of overheating, my cpu go to 82degres and my northbridge drop to 85degres !
i can't do anything to cool down my cpu but i can put a little fan on the northbridge radiator to cool down a lil
I really want to exceed the 3Ghz
Stay tune and a lot of thanks man !
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Bios 1.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	2.90 MB
ID:	361156  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Bios 2.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	3.06 MB
ID:	361158  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Temp.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	4.27 MB
ID:	361160  

Click image for larger version

Name:	The Machine.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	2.30 MB
ID:	361162  

3pac_do is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-19-2020, 04:21 PM
Retired
 
tubnotub1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,415
Rep: 293 (Unique: 213)
I think the max recommended temp for 939 dual cores was upper 60s lower 70s. At 80c+ that chip is going to be cooked pretty quickly, and the only thing you can really do to fix that will be to run w/ your case open or change coolers. You might be able to find a dirt-cheap 939 cooler on the internet, something like a Zalman CPNS9500 which is what I was using on 939 before I went to water.

Originally Posted by Fishie36:
"Wow there's a lot of pwnage going on. But I still don't know how to do it."
Originally Posted by TransfuSe:
"I had a wet dream about his rig once. I woke up and I was stuck to my bed."
Originally Posted by Fatal05:
"In 'collage', people tend to use their BIOS."
DEUS EX MACHINA
(14 items)
CPU
AMD R9 3900 XT (4.5/4.4) @ 1.325
Motherboard
MSI X570 Unify
GPU
EVGA RTX 2080 Super XC Ultra (2040/8250)
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z Neo 16 GB @ 1900 (16-20-21-36-1T)
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 1 TB
Power Supply
EVGA Supernova 750 G2
Cooling
NZXT Kraken X62
Case
Lian Li PC 011 Dynamic
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Monitor
AOC Q27G1WG4
Keyboard
Corsair K70 Rapidfire Mk.2 SE
Mouse
Logitech G600
▲ hide details ▲


tubnotub1 is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-19-2020, 04:47 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
3pac_do's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Oh it’s seems low 70 degres but okay
I already run on open case and i can’t buy anything...the only thing i can do it’s to run on a hard climatised room
I know these Zalman are fire, I have two of them and i reach 3.6Ghz on a Q6600 at an acceptable temp with it !
I have a lot of ventirad in my home but i am on holydays at my grandparents and i have no pc parts...
Really thanks to your reply !
3pac_do is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-19-2020, 04:57 PM
Overclocking Enthusiast
 
ozlay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 5,911
Rep: 289 (Unique: 227)
You can try setting the ram speed lower. To 667 or 533. Also you there might be a fsb hole. So you might have to jump 10-50 to get around it. That is what i had to do to get the fsb over 300.

Rikka
(9 items)
CPU
Intel I5-7600k
Motherboard
Asrock Z270M Extreme 4
GPU
Titan X
RAM
Gskill Royal
Hard Drive
970 Evo
Hard Drive
Optane 900p
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Snow
Case
enthoo evolv matx tempered glass
Operating System
windows 10 pro
▲ hide details ▲


ozlay is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-20-2020, 09:35 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
3pac_do's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Hello there !
Today i take my pc in a climatised room with 20 degres (i think 35 before lol) and i put it on its side to facilitate the heat dissipation
I put the fsb to 267Mhz and i downgrade the tension to 1.4250v to make less heat and i put the memory to 667Mhz
Now with these modification i have 2.8Ghz stable and cooler !
I have 64 degres max for the cpu and 68 degres for the northbridge
So 2.8Ghz is valid but i want to make 3Ghz
Thanks all !
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2A597BF7-1B81-4882-AFA6-BF913D429B24_1595262899964.jpeg
Views:	3
Size:	1.00 MB
ID:	361260  

3pac_do is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-22-2020, 06:05 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
3pac_do's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Hello all !
My motherboard(M2A-VM) has an option for setting +1.2VNBSB to between 1.2-1.5 volts, and I'm curious what exactly that is doing and if I should even mess with it or just keep it at Auto ?
Thanks for light me !
3pac_do is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off