3700X questions about PBO limits and performance boost - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

3700X questions about PBO limits and performance boost

post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-21-2020, 03:15 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
3700X questions about PBO limits and performance boost

Starting off by admitting I am new and having a hard time understanding PBO even after reading and watching hours of information...

Ryzen 3700X
Asus TUF B450m-Plus Gaming
16gb 3000mhz
Stock wraith prism cooler

Recently just bought a 3700X and looking into having PBO enabled, and since I am new to this I see a lot of people using Cinebench R20 as a benchmark for multi and single core scores.

After testing with PBO enabled (and nothing else) I get a slightly higher CB R20 multi score of 4800-4880 ranging in these numbers and while monitoring with HWiNFO I see my temps are peaking at 82c. I am getting 4ghz on all cores.

After testing with PBO set to "Auto" I realized my voltages stay static at 1.2v on all cores while 3.9ghz is maintaining on all cores but I am getting peaks of only 70c in temp.

I came across this reddit thread: https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comment...t_them_all_to/ and he talks about monitoring your PPT, TDC, EDC values and adjusting your PBO settings according to their peaks to essentially just raise them slightly above their limits which in return gives you more performance while lowering temperatures. A lot of people seem to be having success with this. I guess my question is, is doing something like this valid or is it hurting the chip? I don't want to hurt the chip by doing a manual OC or any thing else. As of right now I have everything on default except for DOCP (XMP profile) on the ram.