About VRMs & Mosfets / Motherboard Safety with 125W+ TDP processors - Page 110 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

About VRMs & Mosfets / Motherboard Safety with 125W+ TDP processors

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1091 of 1100 (permalink) Old 08-15-2014, 08:11 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 39
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neet_za View Post

ecs A890gxm-a v1.0 died other week vrm popped, small black mark/hole (4th phase from the bottom

any advice, possible just to remove the damaged part? and hope it works? problem is i think it took the cpu with it...getting someone to test it for me.

Use a heatgun to heat the component and pull it off with a tweezer. Surround the area with foil to prevent damage. You can get a reducer for the heatgun so it only heats a small area.
Dukenukemx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1092 of 1100 (permalink) Old 11-24-2014, 07:46 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
LEOPEVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 4
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
I was able to transform a cheap mobo with 3+1 phase (ASUS M5A78L-M LX V2) in a powerfull overclock mobo, just using very cheap and small heatsinks ( i already had) and two tubes of artic alumina thermal adhesive, sorry for my english, i am from Colombia.

THIS IS THE MOBO WITHOUT VRM HEATSINKS:
CREATOR: gd-jpeg v1.0 (using IJG JPEG v80), quality = 90


HERE ATTACHING THE HEATSINKS TO THE CHOKES, DRIVERS AND MOSFETS WITH ARTIC ALUMINA THERMAL ADHESIVE, THIS PRODUCT IS AWESOME:





IN THE RED CIRCLES YOU CAN SEE THE GLUE (ARTIC ALUMINA:





HERE, HOW MOBO WAS BEFORE:



AND HERE, HOW LOOKS AFTER:




SOME BLACK SPRAY PAINT:





FINAL WORK WITH NEW NORTHBRIDGE AND SOUTHBRIDGE HEATSINKS, WITHOUT INTERFERING ANY PCIE EXPRESS PORT:


LEOPEVA is offline  
post #1093 of 1100 (permalink) Old 11-25-2014, 01:30 AM
Old dog, old tricks
 
ronnin426850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Europe
Posts: 9,738
Rep: 574 (Unique: 474)
ronnin426850 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1094 of 1100 (permalink) Old 11-25-2014, 02:22 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Undervolter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4,577
Rep: 519 (Unique: 255)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neet_za View Post

ecs A890gxm-a v1.0 died other week vrm popped, small black mark/hole (4th phase from the bottom

any advice, possible just to remove the damaged part? and hope it works? problem is i think it took the cpu with it...getting someone to test it for me.

15380bab_20140501_063754.jpeg


Ta Daaaaah! YES! Another victim of the infamous Nikos mosfets! Nikos, the bane of motherboards!

Ryzen 2600 - MSI B450 Gaming Plus - 16GB Corsair 3000Mhz C15 - GTX 750Ti
Undervolter is offline  
post #1095 of 1100 (permalink) Old 01-10-2015, 07:42 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
FreezeTime26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
Well , i actually have a 960gm vgs3 fx (Now i know this is a ****ty motherboard) and i have fx 6300 temps hot , idle like 47º/50º Celsius and underload like 68º/69º.
I should go for a : asrock 970 extreme 3 , asus m5a97 r.2.0 or a GA-970A-D3? Im low of budget now , i buy my pc like a week ago.
Here are the images btw. (Idle)
http://imageshack.com/a/img633/1369/rgUEZE.png
Running bf3
http://imageshack.com/a/img673/7283/fWuo9C.png

Somebody know a temporary solution?
Or i just cant use my pc because can explode the processor?

Sorry for my english , this is not my native language.
FreezeTime26 is offline  
post #1096 of 1100 (permalink) Old 03-29-2015, 05:13 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Tsine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 88
Rep: 0
I have a gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 REV 4 and i have this weird VRM vr vrout voltage max reading of 31 volts ...Is this a wrong reading or my VRMS gone bad ?


Tsine is offline  
post #1097 of 1100 (permalink) Old 07-26-2015, 08:06 PM
It's a me
 
Jayjr1105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,873
Rep: 134 (Unique: 111)
Is there any harm in using a 3+1 phase board for a basic build with an A8-7600? No overclocking and no major gaming will be done. Maybe flash based games and Minecraft (no mods)

If I had to do it all over again I would probably make sure I got at least a 4+1 board but maybe it's not such a big deal as it was 4 years ago with AM3 boards.

FYI the board in question is an Asus A88XM-E ( I actually counted the chokes and it look's like there's 5 total, so maybe it's 3+2?)

Also, does it make a difference that the Asus VRM's claim to be digital?

Official Delidded Crewman
The Ivy STABLE Club
Nvida GTX960 Owners Club
Raspberry Pi Owners Club
I <3 Mechanical KeyboardCPU Journey (Click to show)
Celeron 333MHz > Pentium 4 2.4GHz > Athlon XP 2800+ > Athlon 64 3400+ > Athlon II X2 250 > Athlon II X4 640 > Phenom II X4 840 > i5 2500K > i7 3770K
Jayjr1105 is offline  
post #1098 of 1100 (permalink) Old 07-26-2015, 08:12 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: India, Calcutta
Posts: 7,797
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jayjr1105 View Post

Is there any harm in using a 3+1 phase board for a basic build with an A8-7600? No overclocking and no major gaming will be done. Maybe flash based games and Minecraft (no mods)

If I had to do it all over again I would probably make sure I got at least a 4+1 board but maybe it's not such a big deal as it was 4 years ago with AM3 boards.

FYI the board in question is an Asus A88XM-E ( I actually counted the chokes and it look's like there's 5 total, so maybe it's 3+2?)

Also, does it make a difference that the Asus VRM's claim to be digital?
If they are 5, then it's 4+1.
jason387 is offline  
post #1099 of 1100 (permalink) Old 07-26-2015, 08:21 PM
It's a me
 
Jayjr1105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,873
Rep: 134 (Unique: 111)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jason387 View Post

If they are 5, then it's 4+1.


Official Delidded Crewman
The Ivy STABLE Club
Nvida GTX960 Owners Club
Raspberry Pi Owners Club
I <3 Mechanical KeyboardCPU Journey (Click to show)
Celeron 333MHz > Pentium 4 2.4GHz > Athlon XP 2800+ > Athlon 64 3400+ > Athlon II X2 250 > Athlon II X4 640 > Phenom II X4 840 > i5 2500K > i7 3770K
Jayjr1105 is offline  
post #1100 of 1100 (permalink) Old 11-05-2015, 12:08 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
pizzaslice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 19
Rep: 0
Hi, I have a question about two Z170 motherboards

Asus ROG Maximus Ranger VIII

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813132586

Asrock extreme 6

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157631

I was just wondering if anyone knew about the quality of each motherboard's MOSFETS and controllers and which motherboard was of the better quality in this respect.

Thanks

Also, where do you find this information?
pizzaslice is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off