Asrock FM2A85X-ITX - the ultimate FM2 ITX mobo to lust for? - Page 16 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Asrock FM2A85X-ITX - the ultimate FM2 ITX mobo to lust for?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #151 of 213 (permalink) Old 03-21-2013, 11:39 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
JunkoXan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3,486
Rep: 113 (Unique: 99)
2x 4gb

JunkoXan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 213 (permalink) Old 03-22-2013, 01:33 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
xorbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 116
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sannakji View Post

Is it better to use 2 4GB sticks of RAM or is one 8GB working solo ok to use?

Two. Unless you like half bandwidth. My trin laptop came with one stick. I doubled my gaming fps with a second stick of ram. It's just wrong to run with one stick.
xorbe is offline  
post #153 of 213 (permalink) Old 03-22-2013, 08:30 PM
 
Sannakji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,735
Thought so cheers lads. smile.gif
Sannakji is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #154 of 213 (permalink) Old 03-23-2013, 11:57 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
hakkafusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 23
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sannakji View Post

Is it better to use 2 4GB sticks of RAM or is one 8GB working solo ok to use?

Please, questions that can be answered on google's 1st result, use google =)
hakkafusion is offline  
post #155 of 213 (permalink) Old 03-24-2013, 12:59 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
JunkoXan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3,486
Rep: 113 (Unique: 99)
Quote:
Originally Posted by hakkafusion View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sannakji View Post

Is it better to use 2 4GB sticks of RAM or is one 8GB working solo ok to use?

Please, questions that can be answered on google's 1st result, use google =)


he can post on OCN about that question, to me it's a bit better to ask on here than looking on google.thumb.gif

JunkoXan is offline  
post #156 of 213 (permalink) Old 03-25-2013, 11:39 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Disco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 27
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fast93bird View Post

So here's an odd issue I've noticed with this board.....maybe someone has a pointer. I put the computer to sleep........and when I wake it up, no video. Have to reboot to get video back. Rather inconveniencing for a HTPC that I'd like to just put to sleep rather than shut down and physically turn on every time.

Yeah, I had problems with it returning from sleep. I backed off my OCs and it seems to have taken care of it. Think it may have been FSB OC specifically, maybe it was just the RAM.
I also had random freezes when just in Windows. Bringing my GPU down from 844 to 800 solved that one I hope.
Disco is offline  
post #157 of 213 (permalink) Old 03-26-2013, 10:19 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
abysal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 41
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthon View Post

So if I plug a PCI-E TV tuner is supposed to work well?

It should work; the issue with RAID & HBA controllers is that they usually have their own EPROM / Boot ROM which needs to be loaded in addition to the motherboards BIOS; and sometimes things don't work very well unless the motherboard and RAID / HBA vendor worked to test and verify things.

Your TV tuner most likely does not have it's own ROM and should be detected fine.

• i7 4790K @ 4.2GHz - 1.18v • Phanteks PH-TC14PE • ASUS Z97-Deluxe • G.Skill Sniper 16GB DDR3 @ 1866MHz •
• 512GB Samsung 830 SSD • 1TB Samsung 840 EVO SSD • 600GB VelociRaptor • 2 x Barracuda XT 2TB 7.2K •
• eVGA GTX 980s SC SLI • LG Blu-Ray BH14NS40 & LG DVD R/W GH24NS90 • ToughPower 1200 Watt •
• Cosmos II • 2 x Dell U2412M • Dell 2405FPW • Sound Blaster Z • Logitech G710+ & G500s •
• Windows 7 Ultimate x64 & Mint 17 •
abysal is offline  
post #158 of 213 (permalink) Old 04-03-2013, 04:21 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
AMv8(1day)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 361
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
Hey guys, don't know if you've seen it yet, but ASRock just released a BIOS update (1.4). The description is vague, but lets hope it resolves the "overheating while in BIOS" issue. I'll be throwing it onto mine in a bit. Will drop a line if I see any significant improvements.

By the way, has anyone with this board been experimenting with undervolting? Got any hard figures, both in volts achieved and Watt consumption at the socket? I've gotten my A6-5500 down to the mid 20's at idle, high 50's at full tilt. No clock changes, no GPU clock changes.

AMv8(1day) is offline  
post #159 of 213 (permalink) Old 04-04-2013, 09:43 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
xorbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 116
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Has anyone tried this board with Linux?

update: now testing this Asrock board + picoPSU + 5500 + openSUSE 12.3 (64 bit)
xorbe is offline  
post #160 of 213 (permalink) Old 04-18-2013, 10:06 AM - Thread Starter
iPuppet
 
MacClipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 600
Rep: 72 (Unique: 57)
Richland Here Soon?
Hopefully!

Rash of New FM2 BIOS outpouring from Asrock, all proclaiming...
Quote:
4/17/2013 - Update CPU code.

MacClipper is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off