[Official] MSI X370 XPOWER GAMING TITANIUM AM4 Owners Club - Page 224 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Official] MSI X370 XPOWER GAMING TITANIUM AM4 Owners Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2231 of 2239 (permalink) Old 10-08-2019, 10:55 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mongoled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ayia Napa, Cyprus
Posts: 477
Rep: 17 (Unique: 13)
ABBA is here

http://download.msi.com/bos_exe/mb/7A31v1MO.zip

Lets see how it goes .......


SeaSonic X750 Gold 750W
MSI X370 XPOWER Gaming Titanium | Ryzen 5 3600X 1924SUT
GSkill TridentZ F4-3600C15D-16GTZ @ 3800/1900 mhz | 1.44v | 15-17-10-15-42-28-266-16-1T
Asus GTX 780 DCII OC @ 1332/3522 mhz | 1.3v | Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
EK-FB MSI X370 XPower RGB Monoblock 1/2" ID | Swiftech D5 MCP655 | EK-XRES 100
Alphacool NexXxoS UT60 280 | 4 x Scythe GT AP-15 @ 5v
Thermochill PA120.3 | 1 x SST-FN123 | 2 x Scythe GT AP-15 | @ 5v
mongoled is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2232 of 2239 (permalink) Old 10-08-2019, 11:54 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mongoled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ayia Napa, Cyprus
Posts: 477
Rep: 17 (Unique: 13)
Okz,

Looking good so far!

Flashed successfully
Boost speeds working as per product description (4 out of 6 cores hit 4400 MHz as per HWInfo64, Ryzen Master 25 MHz behind...)
Peak Voltage for single core boost down to 1.456v before would be 1.48x
BCLK now working (saw single core boost frequency of 4441 mhz)
Can now boot with PCIe settings on Auto (before I had to set to all GEN2)
No more WHEA errors (still not got round to pushing RAM/IF), seems that those were causing issues, the slight delay I was seeing when accessing storage devices has now gone (especially mechanical drives!)

Once I updated the new BIOS I uninstalled both the Chipset drivers and Ryzen Master using revounistaller (portable).

I then shut down the PC using

Code:
shutdown.exe -s -t 0
Back to dialling in the settings in my sig to see if these settings are still stable or need tweaking


SeaSonic X750 Gold 750W
MSI X370 XPOWER Gaming Titanium | Ryzen 5 3600X 1924SUT
GSkill TridentZ F4-3600C15D-16GTZ @ 3800/1900 mhz | 1.44v | 15-17-10-15-42-28-266-16-1T
Asus GTX 780 DCII OC @ 1332/3522 mhz | 1.3v | Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
EK-FB MSI X370 XPower RGB Monoblock 1/2" ID | Swiftech D5 MCP655 | EK-XRES 100
Alphacool NexXxoS UT60 280 | 4 x Scythe GT AP-15 @ 5v
Thermochill PA120.3 | 1 x SST-FN123 | 2 x Scythe GT AP-15 | @ 5v
mongoled is offline  
post #2233 of 2239 (permalink) Old 10-09-2019, 12:58 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 18,662
Rep: 863 (Unique: 631)
Quote: Originally Posted by wmunn View Post
I hate to say it, but you are far better off running an x470 or x570 board at this point. The newer boards run ram so much better. that and all the bios issues, it's just not worth it.
Could it be your particular RAM? Just got a cheap MSI A320M Pro E with a R5 1600 and it is running a GSkill 3200 CL16 at spec using DOCP without issue. Two clicks in the BIOS. It automatically set the DRAM vcore to 1.36v (stock 1.35v), which I had to manually do in 2 Asus boards.

[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2234 of 2239 (permalink) Old 10-09-2019, 01:09 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mongoled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ayia Napa, Cyprus
Posts: 477
Rep: 17 (Unique: 13)
So IF frequency of 1900 is not possible with this BIOS.

The default values of VDDP/VDDG for this BIOS are 1.0979/1.1481, previous BIOS default values were 0.9002/1.0976.

I dialled in new values for VDDP/VDDG as per old BIOS settings, but still cannot post with IF frequency of 1900 mhz.

3733/1866 works fine however, so I am now going to dial in my old settings with a BCLK clock of 101 mhz

SeaSonic X750 Gold 750W
MSI X370 XPOWER Gaming Titanium | Ryzen 5 3600X 1924SUT
GSkill TridentZ F4-3600C15D-16GTZ @ 3800/1900 mhz | 1.44v | 15-17-10-15-42-28-266-16-1T
Asus GTX 780 DCII OC @ 1332/3522 mhz | 1.3v | Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
EK-FB MSI X370 XPower RGB Monoblock 1/2" ID | Swiftech D5 MCP655 | EK-XRES 100
Alphacool NexXxoS UT60 280 | 4 x Scythe GT AP-15 @ 5v
Thermochill PA120.3 | 1 x SST-FN123 | 2 x Scythe GT AP-15 | @ 5v
mongoled is offline  
post #2235 of 2239 (permalink) Old 10-09-2019, 03:04 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
wmunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 106
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by rdr09 View Post
Could it be your particular RAM? Just got a cheap MSI A320M Pro E with a R5 1600 and it is running a GSkill 3200 CL16 at spec using DOCP without issue. Two clicks in the BIOS. It automatically set the DRAM vcore to 1.36v (stock 1.35v), which I had to manually do in 2 Asus boards.
I have several different kits of ram, and all of them ran vastly better on b450 aorus pro wifi than on the xpower titanium.

It is so much easier to not just hit the rated clocks, but far surpass them on the newer board. With the titanium board, it was difficult to get ram working at all, let alone at rated clock or above.

When I first got the titanium, I went through several kits trying to get one running at 3200, and never was able to fully achieve that.
G.skill fortis 2x8gb 2400
G.skill titan Z rgb 2x8gb 3200
corsair vengeance 2x8gb 3200 (from qvl)
G.skill ripjaws series 5 2x8gb 3200

the highest any of these would go was 2933 on the trident z kit. The fortis was the most stable but only ran 2400
(This same fortis kit easily hits 3400 on the b450 aorus pro)
My feeling on the titanium was that there were a few golden sample boards out there people were having very good results with, and quite a few that just were not up to snuff no matter how hard you tried. It is telling the titanium was a one and done product with MSI, as they never made a newer model.

CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard
Gigabyte B450 Aorus Pro Wifi
GPU
Gigabyte GTX 1660 OC
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3200 8GB x 2
Hard Drive
Intel P600 1TB Nvme
Power Supply
Corsair RM750i
Cooling
Phanteks PH-TC14PE_ 140mm UFB CPU Cooler
Case
Fractal Design Define R5
▲ hide details ▲
wmunn is offline  
post #2236 of 2239 (permalink) Old 10-09-2019, 04:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 18,662
Rep: 863 (Unique: 631)
Quote: Originally Posted by wmunn View Post
I have several different kits of ram, and all of them ran vastly better on b450 aorus pro wifi than on the xpower titanium.

It is so much easier to not just hit the rated clocks, but far surpass them on the newer board. With the titanium board, it was difficult to get ram working at all, let alone at rated clock or above.

When I first got the titanium, I went through several kits trying to get one running at 3200, and never was able to fully achieve that.
G.skill fortis 2x8gb 2400
G.skill titan Z rgb 2x8gb 3200
corsair vengeance 2x8gb 3200 (from qvl)
G.skill ripjaws series 5 2x8gb 3200

the highest any of these would go was 2933 on the trident z kit. The fortis was the most stable but only ran 2400
(This same fortis kit easily hits 3400 on the b450 aorus pro)
My feeling on the titanium was that there were a few golden sample boards out there people were having very good results with, and quite a few that just were not up to snuff no matter how hard you tried. It is telling the titanium was a one and done product with MSI, as they never made a newer model.
That sucks for a board that cost a lot relatively speaking. I forgot to add that my A320 came with a BIOS from January 2019 and still with it. The ram is . . .

https://www.newegg.com/g-skill-16gb-...-941-_-Product

The board gave two options in the feature "Memory Try it!". That is exactly what it says in BIOS. One with CL16 and the other CL14 3200 MHz both. I chose the former knowing my kit is CL16. I may try the CL14 later.

Weird thing is, this kit, unlike my FlareX 3200, needs the use of Calculator just for 3200 MHz speed with both my Asus boards. DOCP will only allow 2933 MHz. So, I really like this MSI board.

[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #2237 of 2239 (permalink) Old 10-09-2019, 06:43 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mongoled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ayia Napa, Cyprus
Posts: 477
Rep: 17 (Unique: 13)
Looks like the ABBA BIOS is a no go for peeps pushing memory bandwidth and latency.

So far after 5+ hours I have not been able to get 3733/1867 to post reliably, im seeing what ive seen other people talk about in other threads that when the PC posts correctly it is stable in Windows running benchmarks etc etc.

But cold booting, warm booting issues occur where they were not happening with the old BIOS.

Boost speeds on the new BIOS are consistant, CPU runs cooler and voltages are lower, however, RAM/IF overclocking has gone bye bye bye

................

SeaSonic X750 Gold 750W
MSI X370 XPOWER Gaming Titanium | Ryzen 5 3600X 1924SUT
GSkill TridentZ F4-3600C15D-16GTZ @ 3800/1900 mhz | 1.44v | 15-17-10-15-42-28-266-16-1T
Asus GTX 780 DCII OC @ 1332/3522 mhz | 1.3v | Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
EK-FB MSI X370 XPower RGB Monoblock 1/2" ID | Swiftech D5 MCP655 | EK-XRES 100
Alphacool NexXxoS UT60 280 | 4 x Scythe GT AP-15 @ 5v
Thermochill PA120.3 | 1 x SST-FN123 | 2 x Scythe GT AP-15 | @ 5v
mongoled is offline  
post #2238 of 2239 (permalink) Old 10-10-2019, 11:36 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mongoled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ayia Napa, Cyprus
Posts: 477
Rep: 17 (Unique: 13)
@theBee2112

There is a ABBA BIOS available, did you load that ?

SeaSonic X750 Gold 750W
MSI X370 XPOWER Gaming Titanium | Ryzen 5 3600X 1924SUT
GSkill TridentZ F4-3600C15D-16GTZ @ 3800/1900 mhz | 1.44v | 15-17-10-15-42-28-266-16-1T
Asus GTX 780 DCII OC @ 1332/3522 mhz | 1.3v | Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
EK-FB MSI X370 XPower RGB Monoblock 1/2" ID | Swiftech D5 MCP655 | EK-XRES 100
Alphacool NexXxoS UT60 280 | 4 x Scythe GT AP-15 @ 5v
Thermochill PA120.3 | 1 x SST-FN123 | 2 x Scythe GT AP-15 | @ 5v
mongoled is offline  
post #2239 of 2239 (permalink) Old 10-17-2019, 02:33 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mongoled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ayia Napa, Cyprus
Posts: 477
Rep: 17 (Unique: 13)
So after spending 60+ hours attempting to tune this BIOS to have similar memory performance as the previous BIOS due to the reduction in RAM/IF frequency that I can achieve, I have returned back to the previous BIOS.

I thought I had got to an 'acceptable' level of performance that passed the various stress tests I had run on the system only to come up short when running any sort of disk access benchmarks which would result in a blue screen.

This is because of the instablity in the IF frequency at 1885 mhz where as on previous bios 1900 mhz has no such issues.

Other things I noticed.

Memory throughput and latency is around 600-800 mb and 0.8-1.2 ns less when compared like for like with previous BIOS.

Any benefits of BCLK (which were considerable) are lost because of new instabilites that are introduced to the system

"Precision Boost Override 2" is effectively defunkt on ABBA, at least on previous BIOS boost speeds over 4400 mhz are achievable, I was getting up to 4465 mhz, on ABBA the best i could achieve is 4425 mhz.

That I can find features in the BIOS that are only meant to be relative to X570 platform shown how much attention MSI staff have paid to these 'updated' BIOS.

When I communicated my findings i was told that my RAM is not in the QVL list and to purchase RAM that was, this was irrespective of the fact that I sent to them (MSI Germany) information that showed with the same components and previous BIOS that there were no issues with the RAM I was using.

Am unsure as to if MSI will get their act together with proper support for the X370 platform with regards to actually spending time in developing the BIOS rather than just putting one out there just to appease the masses.

Will wait to see if MSI will provide a NON BETA 1.0.0.4 bios if they continue with the neglect it will be the first and last time I purchase from MSI.....

SeaSonic X750 Gold 750W
MSI X370 XPOWER Gaming Titanium | Ryzen 5 3600X 1924SUT
GSkill TridentZ F4-3600C15D-16GTZ @ 3800/1900 mhz | 1.44v | 15-17-10-15-42-28-266-16-1T
Asus GTX 780 DCII OC @ 1332/3522 mhz | 1.3v | Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
EK-FB MSI X370 XPower RGB Monoblock 1/2" ID | Swiftech D5 MCP655 | EK-XRES 100
Alphacool NexXxoS UT60 280 | 4 x Scythe GT AP-15 @ 5v
Thermochill PA120.3 | 1 x SST-FN123 | 2 x Scythe GT AP-15 | @ 5v
mongoled is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off