ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 1024 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10231 of 40628 (permalink) Old 04-19-2017, 07:31 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
kaseki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 721
Rep: 75 (Unique: 37)

Thanks. I'm (very) familiar with that page. I want the (presently grayed) 2 x 16 DDR 3200 that G. Skill lists in their FlairX page and the Asus C6H QVL compatible memory list calls out: F4-3200C16Q-32GFX.

The comparable TridentZ DRAM could be used, (as some here have done), but I think their height will interfere with my Noctua NH-D15. I can make a careful measurement once my board arrives.

Rig running Ryzen [email protected] GHz, [email protected] MT/s, Linux Mint 18.1 on Asus C6H
kaseki is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10232 of 40628 (permalink) Old 04-19-2017, 08:10 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Reikoji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 872
Rep: 46 (Unique: 21)
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaseki View Post

Thanks. I'm (very) familiar with that page. I want the (presently grayed) 2 x 16 DDR 3200 that G. Skill lists in their FlairX page and the Asus C6H QVL compatible memory list calls out: F4-3200C16Q-32GFX.

The comparable TridentZ DRAM could be used, (as some here have done), but I think their height will interfere with my Noctua NH-D15. I can make a careful measurement once my board arrives.

id say the qvl is a good refrence starting point, but there are unlisted kits that can work fine, and listed kits that havent performed as expected. tho there are mixed reasons why they didnt work out.

that 32gb kit tho... c16 for 3200mhz isnt samsung B die right, unless those are special? it may be a flare x but id be skeptical about that running 32gb 3200mhz at its rated timings and speed. not yet anyway. id guess they arent on sale yet because they dont, and thats just a placeholder for may update if it makes things right.

Don't forget to ground yourself smile.gif

Reikoji is offline  
post #10233 of 40628 (permalink) Old 04-19-2017, 08:28 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
muffins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: CA, US
Posts: 205
Rep: 14 (Unique: 10)
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaseki View Post

Thanks. I'm (very) familiar with that page. I want the (presently grayed) 2 x 16 DDR 3200 that G. Skill lists in their FlairX page and the Asus C6H QVL compatible memory list calls out: F4-3200C16Q-32GFX.

The comparable TridentZ DRAM could be used, (as some here have done), but I think their height will interfere with my Noctua NH-D15. I can make a careful measurement once my board arrives.
just because its on the QVL and / or works for someone else, doesn't mean it will work for you. if you take the time and go through this thread, you can find countless posts of individuals with one kit, even kits on the QVL, working for some, but not others.

ram compatibility will be heavily influenced on the quality of your processor and the tweaks asus has done with the crosshair. one kit may work for one, but won't work for another with the same exact everything because either the processor, the motherboard, or a mixture of both. for example, my g.skill flare x 2x8gb 16gb 3200mhz kit will NOT work at 3200mhz correctly. i have cold boot issues. cold boot issues at 3200 with 0902 and 1002 along with bios from 0079 and onward made worse. at first i thought it was the quality of the IMC on my 1800x, but if i go and toss my 1800x and flare x kit into a gigabyte gaming 5 it works out-of-the-box no problems. zero cold boot issues. stable. yet elmor and others with the SAME flare x kit, processor, and motherboard (crosshair), have no issues. my kit will only function at 2933 100% on the crosshair.

you'll see the same with samsung based trident kits and so on. so be worry with ANY kit. even if its on the QVL. there is NO GUARANTEE it will work FOR you.
muffins is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10234 of 40628 (permalink) Old 04-19-2017, 09:24 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
alucardis666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,269
Rep: 24 (Unique: 20)
Anyone care to share their bios template for 3.9, 4.0, and 4.1? I'd love to test some setting but honestly don't know where to start. Trying to maximize my efficiency now and get a nice 24/7 OC with the least amount of volts. thumb.gif

Sorry if this has been posted already. Any guides or info would greatly be appreciated and Rep'd! biggrin.gif

Intel i7 8700k @ 5.2Ghz|| NZXT X62 || GIGABYTE AORUS GAMING 5 || EVGA GTX 1080Ti FTW3 HYBRID || 32GB G.SKILL TridentZ RGB 3200Mhz || Samsung 960 Pro 512GB M.2 & XP941 256GB M.2 || EVGA 220-P2-1600-X1|| Phanteks Enthoo Evolv TG || Samsung UN55KS9000 4k HDR TV || Martin Logan Vision X || SteelSeries Wireless H || Logitech G710+ & Logitech MX Master ||
alucardis666 is offline  
post #10235 of 40628 (permalink) Old 04-19-2017, 09:27 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Reikoji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 872
Rep: 46 (Unique: 21)
samsung b wont always work out of the box 2x8mb or otherwise, but they are just way less likely to cause frustrations.

Don't forget to ground yourself smile.gif

Reikoji is offline  
post #10236 of 40628 (permalink) Old 04-19-2017, 09:28 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Reikoji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 872
Rep: 46 (Unique: 21)
Quote:
Originally Posted by alucardis666 View Post

Anyone care to share their bios template for 3.9, 4.0, and 4.1? I'd love to test some setting but honestly don't know where to start. Trying to maximize my efficiency now and get a nice 24/7 OC with the least amount of volts. thumb.gif

Sorry if this has been posted already. Any guides or info would greatly be appreciated and Rep'd! biggrin.gif

1800x?

Don't forget to ground yourself smile.gif

Reikoji is offline  
post #10237 of 40628 (permalink) Old 04-19-2017, 09:28 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
RS87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Southampton, England
Posts: 195
Rep: 30 (Unique: 19)
Quote:
Originally Posted by alucardis666 View Post

Anyone care to share their bios template for 3.9, 4.0, and 4.1? I'd love to test some setting but honestly don't know where to start. Trying to maximize my efficiency now and get a nice 24/7 OC with the least amount of volts. thumb.gif

Sorry if this has been posted already. Any guides or info would greatly be appreciated and Rep'd! biggrin.gif

I wouldnt worry too much just yet, theres gonna be a big bios update, based on AMD updates, next month at some point (dont ask when or it will be held back another day wink.giftongue.gif). This will hopefully include better memory frequencies which means all the settings we are all playing with now might mean nothing in a months time.



RS87 is offline  
post #10238 of 40628 (permalink) Old 04-19-2017, 09:36 PM
Hardware Rep
 
Raja@ASUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,430
Rep: 394 (Unique: 182)
Quote:
Originally Posted by malitze View Post

Mine is the F4-3200C14D16GTZKW on 0081 - BCLK Auto - 3200 - 14-14-14-34 @ 1.35V, 1.4V boot - SoC tested both Auto and 1.0V.

Will not POST with: 36.9 or lower as well as 80 or higher. Around 53.3 will POST after change, only tested 53.3 power on from soft off, works fine most of the time. Although this morning it failed for the first time, it was unusually cold here, maybe related. None of the settings in this range will work after power was cut completely, need to take a detour through BIOS (which I don't actually mind though).


A few things to note for you and anyone else testing ProcODT:

1) Dialling in ProcODT requires checking if the memory is fully stable by using a memory stress test. Around 400% of coverage with HCI Memtest is good for checking this. Once you can pass that, POST should work.

2) The DRAM BOOT voltage needs to be set on some configs, to help cold BOOT. Make sure you've set that on your system.


3) For some 8GB modules used in 1DPC format, 53.3 is optimum.

I cannot reiterate how long step one can take to dial in. Once you get there, it does help, though.

Kaby Lake overclocking guide here

ASUS Z270 buyer's guide here


Broadwell-E overclocking guide read here
post #10239 of 40628 (permalink) Old 04-19-2017, 09:50 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
alucardis666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,269
Rep: 24 (Unique: 20)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reikoji View Post

1800x?

1700. It's in my sig. wink.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by RS87 View Post

I wouldnt worry too much just yet, theres gonna be a big bios update, based on AMD updates, next month at some point (dont ask when or it will be held back another day wink.giftongue.gif). This will hopefully include better memory frequencies which means all the settings we are all playing with now might mean nothing in a months time.

Interesting! Thanks for the info. thumb.gif

Intel i7 8700k @ 5.2Ghz|| NZXT X62 || GIGABYTE AORUS GAMING 5 || EVGA GTX 1080Ti FTW3 HYBRID || 32GB G.SKILL TridentZ RGB 3200Mhz || Samsung 960 Pro 512GB M.2 & XP941 256GB M.2 || EVGA 220-P2-1600-X1|| Phanteks Enthoo Evolv TG || Samsung UN55KS9000 4k HDR TV || Martin Logan Vision X || SteelSeries Wireless H || Logitech G710+ & Logitech MX Master ||
alucardis666 is offline  
post #10240 of 40628 (permalink) Old 04-19-2017, 10:44 PM
Null
 
geoxile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 6,297
Rep: 159 (Unique: 129)
Quote:
Originally Posted by elmor View Post

Set voltages are accurate, software readouts can fluctuate a bit. There's no need for concern except when using p-states + offset and get a recovery of AMD CBS settings.

If you give me exact values you set (starting from CMOS defaults) and a detailed problem description I can try to pursue a solution for your problems.
Can you give me exact BIOS settings (Overclocking profiles, Save to FAT32 USB, Ctrl+F2)? It could also be an OS issue, not sure if you'd be willing to try a clean OS install though.
Can you give me exact settings and I'll try to replicate?

Sorry, I haven't been paying attention but what's this about fluctuating voltages at start-up and need for concern with p-states + offset? Should p-state overclocking be avoided for now?

geoxile is offline  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off