ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 1031 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10301 of 40638 (permalink) Old 04-20-2017, 05:32 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
JimmiG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Uppsala, Sweden, EU
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post

According to what Elmor said, yes it is. Once AMD iron out their problems, the Vboot and DRAM voltage should track when on Auto (like it does on other platforms).

Will you be implementing this fix on the X370 Prime Pro, too? This board doesn't even have an option for Vboot voltage, so it's always at 1.2V with no way to change it. This severely limits which memory speeds you can use with this board. For example, I can't use 3200 @ C14 with my B-die RAM, due to cold boot problems. It's perfectly stable once you manage to get it to actually boot and have the 1.35V take effect but the 1.2V Vboot is making cold boots a pain.

If not, will you at least consider adding manual Vboot adjustments to the Prime UEFI? This board probably has the worst memory support of all X370 boards due to this bug (boards like the Taichi also have options for Vboot adjustment)
JimmiG is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10302 of 40638 (permalink) Old 04-20-2017, 05:39 AM
Hardware Rep
 
Raja@ASUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,430
Rep: 394 (Unique: 182)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoMbY View Post

Is there any chance you could build an auto-tuning for the ProcODT, and other settings, or maybe enable more ProcODT options (because the steps currently are so large, and different)?


These values should auto-sense or have a behind scenes table; the platform is just a bit raw right now. And no, you can't add values to this yourself. The values are limited by the divider network that AMD built into the CPU, and that's based on platform line impedance and DRAM specifications. In the ideal sense, for tweakers, adding some fine control into the architecture would be nice, but there are considerations that engineers take into account - often, the crazy tweakers are not their focus. Look at how difficult it is just getting people to use what we have...

Kaby Lake overclocking guide here

ASUS Z270 buyer's guide here


Broadwell-E overclocking guide read here
post #10303 of 40638 (permalink) Old 04-20-2017, 05:40 AM
Hardware Rep
 
Raja@ASUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,430
Rep: 394 (Unique: 182)
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimmiG View Post

Will you be implementing this fix on the X370 Prime Pro, too? This board doesn't even have an option for Vboot voltage, so it's always at 1.2V with no way to change it. This severely limits which memory speeds you can use with this board. For example, I can't use 3200 @ C14 with my B-die RAM, due to cold boot problems. It's perfectly stable once you manage to get it to actually boot and have the 1.35V take effect but the 1.2V Vboot is making cold boots a pain.

If not, will you at least consider adding manual Vboot adjustments to the Prime UEFI? This board probably has the worst memory support of all X370 boards due to this bug (boards like the Taichi also have options for Vboot adjustment)

I will know more about what the UEFI for that board does over the next few weeks, when I'm at HQ.

Kaby Lake overclocking guide here

ASUS Z270 buyer's guide here


Broadwell-E overclocking guide read here
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10304 of 40638 (permalink) Old 04-20-2017, 05:42 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 177
Rep: 12 (Unique: 7)
At least for me Vboot does not seem to help when booting completely cold, had it up to 1.45V. But if it fails it is only a little inconvenient to take a quick detour through the BIOS.

Following Rajas advice I did a small memtest session, seems fine:



53.3 also seems to be the optimum for my 8GB b-die 1DPC config.

I then tried to fine tune SoC voltage a bit and found a rather distinctive instability when it was too low (for me that was at 0.95V for the 3200 memory): no code 8 but just a soft reset like behaviour. Might be useful to determine the cause of an instability.

malitze is offline  
post #10305 of 40638 (permalink) Old 04-20-2017, 05:42 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
SpecChum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: England
Posts: 953
Rep: 59 (Unique: 29)
Quote:
Originally Posted by littlestereo View Post

Absolutely, it's within AMD's XFR voltage range

Please be careful with that kind of advice.

XFR is a very temporary boost to 1 core only so cannot be compared to running all cores at 1.45v.

The power involved will be drastically different at a given voltage.
SpecChum is offline  
post #10306 of 40638 (permalink) Old 04-20-2017, 05:42 AM
Hardware Rep
 
Raja@ASUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,430
Rep: 394 (Unique: 182)
Quote:
Originally Posted by malitze View Post

At least for me Vboot does not seem to help when booting completely cold, had it up to 1.45V. But if it fails it is only a little inconvenient to take a quick detour through the BIOS.

Following Rajas advice I did a small memtest session, seems fine:



53.3 also seems to be the optimum for my 8GB b-die 1DPC config.

I then tried to fine tune SoC voltage a bit and found a rather distinctive instability when it was too low (for me that was at 0.95V for the 3200 memory): no code 8 but just a soft reset like behaviour. Might be useful to determine the cause of an instability.

Cool. Thanks for sharing.

Kaby Lake overclocking guide here

ASUS Z270 buyer's guide here


Broadwell-E overclocking guide read here
post #10307 of 40638 (permalink) Old 04-20-2017, 05:43 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
JimmiG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Uppsala, Sweden, EU
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post

I will know more about what the UEFI for that board does over the next few weeks, when I'm at HQ.

Thanks. I thought the lack of Vboot and 1.2V DRAM training was a trick to sell more of the expensive boards, but if it's actually an AMD bug I guess maybe there was no malicious intent smile.gif
JimmiG is offline  
post #10308 of 40638 (permalink) Old 04-20-2017, 05:44 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ubardog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 172
Rep: 15 (Unique: 6)
@elmor

Properly the best quick example. To catch it in Bios is hard and TBH i got better thing to do but i feel i must catch it in action so back to Bios
https://1drv.ms/v/s!Ap54bdL_bUvmg2L5nIXUSsff7Zqz

EDIT
Phone is low on juice got a SS thou


Gonna flash a different bios remove battery ect and repeat with fully charged phone

Or is this read out errors i should ignore as well ?
Ubardog is offline  
post #10309 of 40638 (permalink) Old 04-20-2017, 05:46 AM
Hardware Rep
 
Raja@ASUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,430
Rep: 394 (Unique: 182)
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimmiG View Post

Thanks. I thought the lack of Vboot and 1.2V DRAM training was a trick to sell more of the expensive boards, but if it's actually an AMD bug I guess maybe there was no malicious intent smile.gif

Not really. The teams are, at times, quite separate in their approach to certain things. For all I know, it tracks on those boards. I won't know until I ask.

Kaby Lake overclocking guide here

ASUS Z270 buyer's guide here


Broadwell-E overclocking guide read here
post #10310 of 40638 (permalink) Old 04-20-2017, 06:11 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Missouri, USA
Posts: 2,655
Rep: 266 (Unique: 139)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reikoji View Post

Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)

Drat. 1 error in the 8hr 20m timeframe. Game over for 18-16-16-38!

Well i knew 18-16-16-38 was the tip of the ice berg. Will try 18-17-17-39 smile.gif 18-18-18-39 would be close to guaranteed I believe, its what I started with before I started trying reducing it.

The error is probably because I didn't close all useless backround processes too redface.gif.

Hello

If testing 64GB of memory GSAT is a much quicker option. 2 to 3 hours should uncover most any issue.
Praz is offline  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 5 (1 members and 4 guests)
xlollomanx
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off