ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 1048 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10471 of 40835 (permalink) Old 04-20-2017, 10:29 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
alt-echi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 12
Rep: 0
After updating to the latest 1002 BIOS, the fans connected on the motherboard keep fluctuating, the noise is quite bothersome (the noise of the changing fan speeds). This didn't happen with the original bios that the motherboard came with (0702).

Anyone else have this issue?
alt-echi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10472 of 40835 (permalink) Old 04-20-2017, 10:31 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
3930sabertooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 86
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
http://valid.x86.fr/b72y77

This is plain old Corsair Vengance LPX 2400mhz DDR4 CMK8GX4M2A2133C13, now its only an 8 gb kit but cas 14 and 2933Mhz at 1.3v thats not too shabby.

Do what you want when you want life's short!
3930sabertooth is offline  
post #10473 of 40835 (permalink) Old 04-20-2017, 10:35 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
FloppyDrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 173
Rep: 8 (Unique: 7)
Quote:
Originally Posted by nycgtr View Post

3200 multi or with blck. I have 4x8 gskill similar ram to you but I can only do 3200 with bclk
I have an 1800x which is not overclocked. The bus speed is at 99.98MHz. SOC is on Auto and ends up at 1.133v.
FloppyDrive is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10474 of 40835 (permalink) Old 04-20-2017, 10:44 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
huyee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 65
Rep: 3 (Unique: 2)
Hope this wasn't real and just reading error rolleyes.gif

I didn't pay attention so not really sure what caused it.

I'm using manual BCLK, P state oc for 3750
huyee is offline  
post #10475 of 40835 (permalink) Old 04-20-2017, 10:49 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
serfeldon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 39
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Well my board seems bricked. I was in the bios adjusting the fan curve and as i was adjusting a line everything froze. I rebooted with the start button and got Q-Code 0d. I have flashed the bios 3 times with bios flashback and it seems to get through the flash cycle (slow fast, faster flash, done), and cleared the cmos each time. reboot 0d. Removed cmos battery for 30 seconds. Removed all hardware cept for cpu,gpu, and 1 stick ram. 0d. tried 2 more times with different individual sticks of ram. 0d. That is about it right? Bricked? @elmor you heard of bricking while using Q-fan?

I purchased from newegg. Anyone have experience with them on returning a bricked motherboard? It has been 25 days since the purchase date.
serfeldon is offline  
post #10476 of 40835 (permalink) Old 04-20-2017, 10:52 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
skullbringer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 138
Rep: 26 (Unique: 15)
Quote:
Originally Posted by serfeldon View Post

Well my board seems bricked. I was in the bios adjusting the fan curve and as i was adjusting a line everything froze. I rebooted with the start button and got Q-Code 0d. I have flashed the bios 3 times with bios flashback and it seems to get through the flash cycle (slow fast, faster flash, done). reboot 0d. removed all hardware cept for cpu,gpu, and 1 stick ram. 0d. tried 2 more times with different individual sticks of ram. 0d. That is about it right? Bricked? @elmor you heard of bricking while using Q-fan?

I purchased from newegg. Anyone have experience with them on returning a bricked motherboard? It has been 25 days since the purchase date.

P.S. not sure if I tagged elmor correctly. What is the syntax for tagging someone,


there is mention button in the editor for tagging someone (middle right) @serfeldon

You might be able to do the good old revive method:
- take out the cmos battery
- take out the ram
- wait 30s
- short the cmos battery terminals on the board for 2s
- put everything back together
skullbringer is offline  
post #10477 of 40835 (permalink) Old 04-20-2017, 10:53 PM
HWiNFO Author
 
Mumak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Plains of Oblivion
Posts: 1,138
Rep: 259 (Unique: 108)
Quote:
Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post

@Mumak / members using "Sleep"

You may recall on earlier UEFI (0902) with older SMU FW I waited ~=/>90 secs after OS load to open HWiNFO or saw stuck data / VID 1.55V, OS Win 7.

Then I went UEFI 0079, with SMU FW 1.0.0.4a. I didn't need to wait ~=/>90 sec after OS load, OS Win 7. CPU clock was max, didn't deem as issue and all the rest appropriate. Then CPU clock went down as expected. Other monitoring tools similar experience, used one at a time, except Asus SW I did not test.

Then I went W10 Creators Edition, again similar experience as W7. Except on "Resume" from "Sleep", I am noting if I do not wait again ~=/>90 sec I could see VID 1.55V when CPU is not getting it. Other apps the same.

Seems like SMU FW bug? similar to earlier version of SMU FW?

Well, I'm not sure.. But it must be something else than HWiNFO, as it just pulls the values from CPU. So perhaps something with SMU or its interaction with OS..

HWiNFO Author
Mumak is offline  
post #10478 of 40835 (permalink) Old 04-20-2017, 10:54 PM
HWiNFO Author
 
Mumak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Plains of Oblivion
Posts: 1,138
Rep: 259 (Unique: 108)
Quote:
Originally Posted by huyee View Post

Hope this wasn't real and just reading error rolleyes.gif

I didn't pay attention so not really sure what caused it.

I'm using manual BCLK, P state oc for 3750

Definitively not real. Looks like a problem with SB-TSI calibration on board.

HWiNFO Author
Mumak is offline  
post #10479 of 40835 (permalink) Old 04-20-2017, 10:56 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
huyee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 65
Rep: 3 (Unique: 2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mumak View Post

Definitively not real. Looks like a problem with SB-TSI calibration on board.

Is that something I have to worry about? Like like dial down my OC and such?
huyee is offline  
post #10480 of 40835 (permalink) Old 04-20-2017, 10:58 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
serfeldon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 39
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by skullbringer View Post

there is mention button in the editor for tagging someone (middle right) @serfeldon

You might be able to do the good old revive method:
- take out the cmos battery
- take out the ram
- wait 30s
- short the cmos battery terminals on the board for 2s
- put everything back together

Thank you for tagging lesson.

I actually did remove the ram and battery for 30 seconds before the last flash, but i never shorted the battery terminals. I will try that in the morning. I am done for the night. Any other suggestions in the meantime would be great so I can try some stuff in the morning. Thanks
serfeldon is offline  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 members and 1 guests)
finalheaven
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off