ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 1595 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #15941 of 40901 (permalink) Old 05-19-2017, 05:48 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
district9prawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 63
Rep: 6 (Unique: 5)
Booted into the 3333 dram ratio with 100 bclk on 9943. Some sub timings still look too tight but they are all accessible thumb.gif

After the flash and reboot I got stuck on Q-code 4f. Cleared cmos again and all good.

i9-7920X @ 4.8Ghz / Asus Rampage VI Apex / 32GB G.Skill Trident Z @ 3733 / Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti FE / Samsung 960 EVO 512GB / EK Water Cooling / Corsair 600C / Seasonic Prime
district9prawn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15942 of 40901 (permalink) Old 05-19-2017, 05:51 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
virpz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 463
Rep: 27 (Unique: 25)
Quote:
Originally Posted by leareynl View Post

When I use a 100 MHz bclk, when at full load, I get a slight drop on 12v rail.
And I go way over 100 watts on power usage.
I have a 1700x at 4ghz at 1.417v

But when I use a 125 bclk (what I run with usually) at full load I don't go over 80 watts and my 12v rail stays the same voltage.
I have a somewhat crappy psu compared to yours, 1kw cooler master m2 silent pro.

I don't know why a different bclk uses less power but its worth a shot maybe on your end.
Also, I know from experience that the measurement on the 12v rail is very unreliable.

To be absolutely sure, use a multimeter.

My video card 12v sensor says I have only 11.51v going in to it and it drops to 11.3 under load.
But its just lying because I measured it with a multimeter, it stays around 12v.

Yes.
The first board I had was the Prime X370, my second was the Taichi and now the C6H.
When I noticed the +12V droop on software with the Prime I had it confirmed with the DMM. I then went to check my lane distribution and since everything was correct I assumed my PSU was going bananas. But then I got the Taichi, everything there was rock solid as it used to be, confirmed the +12V under load with a DDM. Now I got the C6H and that +12V behavior droop is going on again but then my system is nowhere close to extrapolate my PSU lane ratings, had solid +12V regulation with the Taichi. I must assume it is something with the asus boards or asus boards + the maxrevo.

I would appreciated to have a word from the [email protected] on this behavior.
virpz is offline  
post #15943 of 40901 (permalink) Old 05-19-2017, 05:54 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
biohaufen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 7
Rep: 2 (Unique: 1)
Seems to be a quite fast booting version. (9943)
But I can no longer boot with more than 2400MHz on my Micron memory.
With 1201 it was possible to run it at around 2780MHz, while it's stock speed is 2666MHz.
But sadly, it doesn't even boot with the XMP profile. :/

If anyone is interested, I'm using Crucial Ballistix Tactical 16GB 2666MHz.

@elmor : Maybe you could test this version with some Crucial memory in house? redface.gif

EDIT:

Nevermind! 9945 works perfectly with my Crucial sticks! thumb.gif
Even 2800MHz is possible now. smile.gif
biohaufen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15944 of 40901 (permalink) Old 05-19-2017, 05:55 PM
Always Learning
 
finalheaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,105
Rep: 74 (Unique: 38)
@elmor
What is the difference between 9943 and 9945? Is it 1T 2T?
finalheaven is online now  
post #15945 of 40901 (permalink) Old 05-19-2017, 05:56 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
leareynl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 72
Rep: 4 (Unique: 3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by virpz View Post


I would like to have a word or two from the [email protected] on this behavior.

Sorry for the misinterpretation, please check my edit smile.gif

it could be that due to some bug the VRM handling is different due to the spread spectrum when BCLK is on auto.
And due to this issue it could be that the Taichi set it specifically to 100 if auto is selected.
You always get some strange number like 99.8 or 101.3 or something like that when you have it on auto on the CH6 and also I have tried this on the gigabyte gaming K5 board.
Try to put it manually on 100 or even try 125.
leareynl is offline  
post #15946 of 40901 (permalink) Old 05-19-2017, 06:02 PM
hsn
New to Overclock.net
 
hsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 113
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
set boot on 3466

but why cpuz cannot read speed ram?
hsn is offline  
post #15947 of 40901 (permalink) Old 05-19-2017, 06:14 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
district9prawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 63
Rep: 6 (Unique: 5)
Quote:
Originally Posted by hsn View Post

set boot on 3466

but why cpuz cannot read speed ram?

Same problem here. Hwinfo64 and aida64 are working fine though.

i9-7920X @ 4.8Ghz / Asus Rampage VI Apex / 32GB G.Skill Trident Z @ 3733 / Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti FE / Samsung 960 EVO 512GB / EK Water Cooling / Corsair 600C / Seasonic Prime
district9prawn is offline  
post #15948 of 40901 (permalink) Old 05-19-2017, 06:31 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
R71800XSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Earth planet / Game of thrones outdoor shooting CC (SPAIN), a cold day in a hotter city.
Posts: 246
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
AMD (and ASUS) reveals Ryzen for laptops with new Vega graphics architecture (Computex 2017)

http://www.trustedreviews.com/news/amd-ryzen-mobile-laptops-vega-performance-price-release-date

Warning: OLD Settings with 1701 (Click to show)
RYZEN 1800X + C6H + BIOS 1701
Hard disk (first): Samsumg 960 EVO M.2 PCIe Gen3.
CPU: R7 1800X (3600) MHz (Corsair Hidro Series H110i)
BCLK Frequency: auto
Core ratio: auto
BOOST CORE: disable.
RAM:
G.Skill F4-3200C14-32GTZ - Dual-Channel/Dual-Rank/Two-DIMM) set in A2-B2.
DRAM Speed: 3333 MHz with 14-14-14-14-28-42-1T ()
Latency : 71.5 ns (AIDA64 eng.)
DRAM: 1.375v
DRAM Boot: 1.375v
DRAM Power Phase Control: Extreme
DRAM current: 120%
P States (ZenStates 0.2.2) with HPET off: (actually disable)
P0: 37x 1.35v // P1: 35,25x 1.25v // P2: 22x 0.9v
VOLTAGES:
Core: 1.35v
SOC: 1.05v
PLL: 1.80v
SB: Auto
VDDP: Auto
VTTDR (1/2 DRAM): Auto or 0.6930v
RESISTANCES:
ProcODT_SM: 80 ohms (again), and T1.
RttNom: RZQ/7 // RttWr: RZQ/3 // RttPark: RZQ/1
ClkDrv: 20 ohms // AddrCmdDrv: 20 ohms // CsOdtDrv: 20 ohms // CkDrv: 20 ohms (changed and trying)
AMD Ryzen...
R71800XSS is offline  
post #15949 of 40901 (permalink) Old 05-19-2017, 06:33 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: France/Armenia/US/Lebanon
Posts: 4,627
So tempted to try out this new BIOS but system is stable already, id love to know if it fixes the random f9>boot loop issue. I may wait a while to see what it actually does, if its just bug fixes, ill pass haha.
bluej511 is offline  
post #15950 of 40901 (permalink) Old 05-19-2017, 06:38 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
elguero's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 81
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Finally!

With this bios now I can get my Hynix TridenZ to 3200 MHz! in 1T mode, the last bios I was able to do that was on a 2T mode!

Now I only wish for all the RGB leds to come back to life!

elguero is offline  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 15 (3 members and 12 guests)
finalheaven , hotbrass , Zamoldac
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off