ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 1613 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #16121 of 40901 (permalink) Old 05-20-2017, 05:55 AM
Gaming enthusiast
 
Ironcobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 741
Rep: 34 (Unique: 29)
Can someone help a novice out here. I have been trying to follow this thread for a while. I was able change my dram freq to 3200 in every bios before the new 9945. After flashing to 9945 I am unable to change my memory frequency at all. No matter what settings I try this is the only mode that shows in windows. It is completely stock bios nothing is touched other than changing frequency to 3600 to match my sticks. Is there something i am doing wrong?


Origin: Ironcobra80
Steam: Ironcobra
Ryzen
(17 items)
CPU
AMD RYZEN 1800x
Motherboard
CROSSHAIR VI HERO
GPU
Asus strix 1080 ti
RAM
Gskill TridentZ RGB
Hard Drive
Crucial M100
Hard Drive
crucial mx300
Hard Drive
wd black
Power Supply
XFX P1-650X-CAH9 650W MODULAR
Cooling
Cooling by Noctua
Cooling
corsair h115i
Case
Corsair Carbide 540
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
LG OLED65C6P
Keyboard
Varmilo 87 Bluetooth
Mouse
logitech g900
Mouse
logitech G440
Audio
Marantz sr7010 and Elemental Designs home theater
▲ hide details ▲
Ironcobra is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16122 of 40901 (permalink) Old 05-20-2017, 05:55 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Missouri, USA
Posts: 2,655
Rep: 266 (Unique: 139)
Praz is offline  
post #16123 of 40901 (permalink) Old 05-20-2017, 06:00 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
anugrah23's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 3
Rep: 0



It works on 9945. Not sure how stable. But I was able to run multiple CB benches. Getting average of 1729 at 3.9GHz and 3200MHz CL14, but I was also running other programmes and ****, I used Process Lasso Real-time priority. I'm using the v5.39 LPX from Corsair.
anugrah23 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16124 of 40901 (permalink) Old 05-20-2017, 06:01 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
NFHSMatrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 14
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
there was not enough money for
Quote:
Originally Posted by Praz View Post

Hello

Why single channel?
there was not enough money for dual:blushsmil
NFHSMatrix is offline  
post #16125 of 40901 (permalink) Old 05-20-2017, 06:01 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
JtotheK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 6
Rep: 0
No chance to get my 3600mhz b-dies over 3200mhz. Meh.
JtotheK is offline  
post #16126 of 40901 (permalink) Old 05-20-2017, 06:02 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
DDMM1517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 13
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)


[email protected]+1.4v+soc1.2v
DDMM1517 is offline  
post #16127 of 40901 (permalink) Old 05-20-2017, 06:08 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
RS87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Southampton, England
Posts: 195
Rep: 30 (Unique: 19)
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluej511 View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post

Yes. I believe SOC voltage rail is to IMC as well.

Personally 1.1V is the most I have given CPU sample 3 as I was really trying to see if I could get 3200MHz strap working. What I regard as my best all round CPU (CPU sample 2) in regard to core/ram clocking 1.05V is the MAX I have given it for testing. The Stilt also posted this:-

Yea i read what he wrote ages ago, I''m thinking though that it might have to do with the issue Asus had with bricking BIOSes considering he wrote that when the issue was going on? Could be wrong but not sure.

I ran it at 1.15v because its what it needed to boot at 3200mhz (and wasnt reliable at that) on BIOS 1107 (same cpu mind you) i need 1.0v of SoC and it boots even more reliably then before. Even with tighter timings i haven't touched SoC. So yea it might be due to the IMC but why would a simple BIOS update let it work at 3200mhz with less SoC then it did before haha.

Unless some timings we can't change are astronomically high and it's letting boot i have no idea anymore. It seems to be more voodoo then actual science

AMD Ryzen Processor and AMD Ryzen Master Over-clocking User’s Guide

Figure 11: AMD Ryzen Master application - Memory Overclocking Example
In the above example the memory clock is adjusted from default 1200MHz (DDR4-2400) to
1333MHz (DDR4-2666) while timings have been increased from 17-17-17-17-39 to 18-18-18-18-
40. Memory voltage was also adjusted from default 1.20V up to 1.296V and SOC Voltage was set
to 1.20V
. Note that Memory VTT voltage will automatically be set to half of Memory voltage
(MEM VDDIO).


EXTREME OVERCLOCKING GUIDE
ASUS CROSSHAIR VI
HERO


4. Safe voltage ranges
Note that the listed values are not guaranteed and only for reference.
Ambient recommended - Ambient max -LN2 recommended - LN2 max
CPU Core Voltage 1.40V Up to 1.45V 1.80V Up to 1.95V
SOC Voltage 1.15V Up to 1.20V 1.20V Up to 1.25V
DRAM Voltage1 1.40V Up to 1.90V 1.80V Up to 1.90V
1.8V PLL Voltage 1.80V Up to 2.10V 3.00V Up to 3.20V
1.05V SB Voltage 1.05V Up to 1.40V 1.30V Up to 1.40V
1.8V Standby Voltage 1.80V Up to 2.10V 2.10V Up to 2.30V
2.5V SB Voltage 2.50V Up to 2.80V 2.70V Up to 2.80V

Just to clear thing up a bit I thought I'd copy and past a couple of tid bits from the guides we have at our disposal. The first is AMD's guide and the second is Elmor's guide.



RS87 is offline  
post #16128 of 40901 (permalink) Old 05-20-2017, 06:08 AM
OC...D
 
Jpmboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 26,281
Rep: 1273 (Unique: 561)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Praz View Post

Hello
Why single channel?
Quote:
Originally Posted by NFHSMatrix View Post

there was not enough money for
there was not enough money for dual:blushsmil

running a single 16GB stick?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JtotheK View Post

No chance to get my 3600mhz b-dies over 3200mhz. Meh.
sure there is.

ASUS Z370/Z390 Motherboard Support Thread, Coffee Lake OC Guide
GPUs For Sale
X299
(27 items)
x99
(18 items)
Z370
(19 items)
CPU
7980XE
CPU
7740X
CPU
9900X
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage VI Apex
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus G9
Motherboard
Rampage VI Extreme Omega
GPU
2x Nvidia Titan V
GPU
GTX 1080
GPU
2 2080Ti FE / EK Vector Blocks
RAM
G. Skill 2x(2x8GB) 3600c15 @4000c16
RAM
Team Group
RAM
Two 4x8GB GS 3600c16 kits @ 4000c16
Hard Drive
INtel Optane 900P
Hard Drive
2x256 Plextor Raid 0
Hard Drive
WD Raptor
Hard Drive
Samsung Sm 961
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
EVGA 850 G3
Cooling
Aquacomputer GiGant 1680 (4x420)
Cooling
Koolance EXC-800
Case
Microcool Banchetto 101 (Alu)
Case
Corsair 570X
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
ROG Swift
Keyboard
Ducky
Mouse
Spatha
CPU
6950X
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage V Extreme-10
GPU
Titan Xp
GPU
Titan Xp
RAM
G Skill 8x8GB 3200c14 @3400c13
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro
Optical Drive
ASUS BR/DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
2x360 Aq Copper Rads
Cooling
Aquaero 6
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U (9-fan mora)
Cooling
Ek Full Cover MB waterblock
Case
CaseLabs Mercury S8
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
AGON 32 inch
Keyboard
Das Pro
Mouse
Logitech G700
CPU
8700K
CPU
8086K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus X Apex
GPU
GTX 1070Ti FTW2
RAM
2x8 GB G.Skill 4400c19
RAM
G.Skill 3600c16 4x6GB
Hard Drive
Intel 750
Optical Drive
PLextor DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
Corsair HX 1200i
Power Supply
Seasonic Titanium 850W
Cooling
360Rad + Chiller
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U
Case
Corasir 570
Operating System
Win 10
Operating System
Windows 7 Pro
Monitor
55" 4K
Keyboard
HyperX Alloy FPS Pro
Mouse
SteelSeries Rival
▲ hide details ▲


Jpmboy is online now  
post #16129 of 40901 (permalink) Old 05-20-2017, 06:09 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
The Stilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,270
Rep: 750 (Unique: 286)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoMbY View Post

Any other hints for using 2x16 GB Dual Ranked Samsung B dies with 1.0.0.6? I can boot just fine with 80 or 96 ProcODT, with up to 3200/100 @ 14-14-14-34 timings at least, but no matter what I do, including for example 18-18-18-38 timings, and fiddling with the RTTs, I always run into a random bit errors after some time. Could the CLDO_VDDP also help with that?

The memory controller FW used in 1.0.0.6 still has room for improvements.
If the CLDO_VDDP is out of whack then it will fail memory training all together. I've yet to see any kind of improvement in stability from VDDP adjustment.

I'm not sure what the programming rules for tCWL are in this specific version, but make sure it is in sync with tCL on dual rank modules. Also if you're running high VDDCR_SoC voltages, try lowering it a bit (< 1.100V). Other than that there is not much you can do about it.
The Stilt is offline  
post #16130 of 40901 (permalink) Old 05-20-2017, 06:09 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
RaptormanUSMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 148
Rep: 11 (Unique: 6)
Just updated to 9943 this morning. Everything seems good to go so far. Changed my ram out to my Corsair CMD16GX4M2B3600C18 Kit. Running well at 3600MHz 18-19-19-19-39 1T 1.35V.

Asus Crosshair VI Hero
AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
32GB DDR4
PNY GeForce GTX 1080Ti FE
MSI GeForce GTX 1080Ti FE
Samsung 950 PRO 512GB SSD
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 8TB HDD
RaptormanUSMC is offline  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 10 (2 members and 8 guests)
BLUuuE , pschorr1123
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off