ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 1614 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #16131 of 40632 (permalink) Old 05-20-2017, 06:13 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
benjib1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Hey does anyone know why my vcore voltage is around 1.39-1.41 under light use? Just watching a DVD or single core cinebench does that. Voltage set to auto in bios 1201, and am using Zenstates with the top field voltage set at 1.35 (p0?) Oddly,full load vcore shows correct 1.35 in HWinfo64 under the mobo vcore reading. Not sure if I should trust the CPU readings or the mobo's in hwinfo64..? It did the same when I OCd via p states in bios before also. Should I be concerned? Want my beast to last.
benjib1980 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16132 of 40632 (permalink) Old 05-20-2017, 06:20 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
NFHSMatrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 14
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by NFHSMatrix View Post

My results: wheee.gif

Quote:
Originally Posted by Praz View Post

Hello

Why single channel?

Quote:
Originally Posted by NFHSMatrix View Post

there was not enough money for
there was not enough money for dual:blushsmil

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jpmboy View Post


running a single 16GB stick?
sure there is.

I use one channel 8Gb stick from Kingston 2400MHz @ 3033MHz
NFHSMatrix is offline  
post #16133 of 40632 (permalink) Old 05-20-2017, 06:23 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
BoMbY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 270
Rep: 35 (Unique: 13)
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post

The memory controller FW used in 1.0.0.6 still has room for improvements.
If the CLDO_VDDP is out of whack then it will fail memory training all together. I've yet to see any kind of improvement in stability from VDDP adjustment.

I'm not sure what the programming rules for tCWL are in this specific version, but make sure it is in sync with tCL on dual rank modules. Also if you're running high VDDCR_SoC voltages, try lowering it a bit (< 1.100V). Other than that there is not much you can do about it.

Thanks, tCWL seems to okay (equal to tCL). tFAW is 33 on auto, but the XMP profile recommends 39. With lower SOC voltage, I usually get more errors, not less. 1.10v has more errors than 1.18v

BoMbY is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16134 of 40632 (permalink) Old 05-20-2017, 06:25 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Flyn08's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 46
Rep: 0
Ok guys, i'm a bit scared. Is the sensor broken or what?
ryzen 1700x stock with 240mm aio cooler offset -0.1500

Flyn08 is offline  
post #16135 of 40632 (permalink) Old 05-20-2017, 06:30 AM
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 6,734
Rep: 730 (Unique: 342)
Quote:
Originally Posted by RS87 View Post

Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
AMD Ryzen Processor and AMD Ryzen Master Over-clocking User’s Guide

Figure 11: AMD Ryzen Master application - Memory Overclocking Example
In the above example the memory clock is adjusted from default 1200MHz (DDR4-2400) to
1333MHz (DDR4-2666) while timings have been increased from 17-17-17-17-39 to 18-18-18-18-
40. Memory voltage was also adjusted from default 1.20V up to 1.296V and SOC Voltage was set
to 1.20V
. Note that Memory VTT voltage will automatically be set to half of Memory voltage
(MEM VDDIO).


EXTREME OVERCLOCKING GUIDE
ASUS CROSSHAIR VI
HERO


4. Safe voltage ranges
Note that the listed values are not guaranteed and only for reference.
Ambient recommended - Ambient max -LN2 recommended - LN2 max
CPU Core Voltage 1.40V Up to 1.45V 1.80V Up to 1.95V
SOC Voltage 1.15V Up to 1.20V 1.20V Up to 1.25V
DRAM Voltage1 1.40V Up to 1.90V 1.80V Up to 1.90V
1.8V PLL Voltage 1.80V Up to 2.10V 3.00V Up to 3.20V
1.05V SB Voltage 1.05V Up to 1.40V 1.30V Up to 1.40V
1.8V Standby Voltage 1.80V Up to 2.10V 2.10V Up to 2.30V
2.5V SB Voltage 2.50V Up to 2.80V 2.70V Up to 2.80V

Just to clear thing up a bit I thought I'd copy and past a couple of tid bits from the guides we have at our disposal. The first is AMD's guide and the second is Elmor's guide.[/

I appreciate your time for posting this, I have read those guides wink.gif , but I will roll with The Stilt's suggestion in SOC <1.10V wink.gif . Like I said before higher SOC maybe masking UEFI deficiencies in maturity.

This CPU (sample 3) prior to 9943 2933MHz was max strap I could use. Using BCLK I could get max 3126MHz posted into OS. Even pumping CPU 1.55V / SOC 1.1V I could not get 3200MHz strap/higher RAM with lower strap+BCLK tweaking. I did not do further testing as I thought I will wait for new UEFI.

Usual 3.8GHz OC for this CPU is ~+193mV, SOC: 1.05V VBOOT/VDIMM: 1.35V, ProcODT, etc [Auto] and I got 3333MHz now on UEFI 9943.








Gonna do some MemTest next.

@mumak

Just got a -239°C DIMM temp in latest HWiNFO, maybe down to CPU-Z open for screen grab at the time, not had errors reads for a while on past builds.
gupsterg is offline  
post #16136 of 40632 (permalink) Old 05-20-2017, 06:32 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
widonwaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 45
Rep: 0
My actual experience on 9945 Bios:
- RAM: 4x8Gb Corsair Vengeance LED 3200 . Running 3066Mhz, DRAM 1.35v, Auto SOC, Manual Timings 16-18-18-36 . Anything higher does not post (3200, 3333) even setting DRAM Votls to 1.45 .
- Pstates: there is a strange behaviour here. P0 actually never fires, even on cpu 100% load. Actually if I set P1 the same as P0 (max OC), it does not fire P2 state, while if i set P1 Auto, it works at 3000Mhz (even full load, as said p0 does not fire), but at idle p2 works (Auto, 2000Mhz). CPU voltages spike from 0.41 up to 1.35 (this is weird too).
widonwaker is offline  
post #16137 of 40632 (permalink) Old 05-20-2017, 06:33 AM
Gaming enthusiast
 
Ironcobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 741
Rep: 34 (Unique: 29)
After 9943 I cannot change memory settings at all. Writing this i have my bios set to ddr4000 and still only running at 2133???? Nothing I mess with changes anything with the mem, Is anyone else experiencing this?

Origin: Ironcobra80
Steam: Ironcobra
Ryzen
(17 items)
CPU
AMD RYZEN 1800x
Motherboard
CROSSHAIR VI HERO
GPU
Asus strix 1080 ti
RAM
Gskill TridentZ RGB
Hard Drive
Crucial M100
Hard Drive
crucial mx300
Hard Drive
wd black
Power Supply
XFX P1-650X-CAH9 650W MODULAR
Cooling
Cooling by Noctua
Cooling
corsair h115i
Case
Corsair Carbide 540
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
LG OLED65C6P
Keyboard
Varmilo 87 Bluetooth
Mouse
logitech g900
Mouse
logitech G440
Audio
Marantz sr7010 and Elemental Designs home theater
▲ hide details ▲
Ironcobra is offline  
post #16138 of 40632 (permalink) Old 05-20-2017, 06:34 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: France/Armenia/US/Lebanon
Posts: 4,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironcobra View Post

After 9943 I cannot change memory settings at all. Writing this i have my bios set to ddr4000 and still only running at 2133???? Nothing I mess with changes anything with the mem, Is anyone else experiencing this?

Clear cmos and/or try to reflash it.
bluej511 is offline  
post #16139 of 40632 (permalink) Old 05-20-2017, 06:34 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
widonwaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 45
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironcobra View Post

After 9943 I cannot change memory settings at all. Writing this i have my bios set to ddr4000 and still only running at 2133???? Nothing I mess with changes anything with the mem, Is anyone else experiencing this?
This usually happen if your system is not stable and default values are applied
widonwaker is offline  
post #16140 of 40632 (permalink) Old 05-20-2017, 06:35 AM
Gaming enthusiast
 
Ironcobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 741
Rep: 34 (Unique: 29)
Quote:
Originally Posted by widonwaker View Post

This usually happen if your system is not stable and default values are applied

I am running stock everything, ill try to clear cmos

Origin: Ironcobra80
Steam: Ironcobra
Ryzen
(17 items)
CPU
AMD RYZEN 1800x
Motherboard
CROSSHAIR VI HERO
GPU
Asus strix 1080 ti
RAM
Gskill TridentZ RGB
Hard Drive
Crucial M100
Hard Drive
crucial mx300
Hard Drive
wd black
Power Supply
XFX P1-650X-CAH9 650W MODULAR
Cooling
Cooling by Noctua
Cooling
corsair h115i
Case
Corsair Carbide 540
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
LG OLED65C6P
Keyboard
Varmilo 87 Bluetooth
Mouse
logitech g900
Mouse
logitech G440
Audio
Marantz sr7010 and Elemental Designs home theater
▲ hide details ▲
Ironcobra is offline  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 5 (1 members and 4 guests)
GraveNoX
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off