ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 1615 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #16141 of 40949 (permalink) Old 05-20-2017, 06:37 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Firefreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 37
Rep: 0
Yiiihaaaa!

I'm now able to boot at 3200 memory speed with my 2x16Gb Corsair CMK32GX4M2B3200C16 kit.

3200 memory setting, 1,4v DRAM boot, 1.35v DRAM, 1,2v SOC Voltage, 16-18-18-18-36-1T, 90 Ohm ODT.

Using BIOS 9943.

Finally a happy Ryzen camper... smile.gif
Firefreak is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16142 of 40949 (permalink) Old 05-20-2017, 06:42 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
RS87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Southampton, England
Posts: 195
Rep: 30 (Unique: 19)
Quote:
Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by RS87 View Post

Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
AMD Ryzen Processor and AMD Ryzen Master Over-clocking User’s Guide

Figure 11: AMD Ryzen Master application - Memory Overclocking Example
In the above example the memory clock is adjusted from default 1200MHz (DDR4-2400) to
1333MHz (DDR4-2666) while timings have been increased from 17-17-17-17-39 to 18-18-18-18-
40. Memory voltage was also adjusted from default 1.20V up to 1.296V and SOC Voltage was set
to 1.20V
. Note that Memory VTT voltage will automatically be set to half of Memory voltage
(MEM VDDIO).


EXTREME OVERCLOCKING GUIDE
ASUS CROSSHAIR VI
HERO


4. Safe voltage ranges
Note that the listed values are not guaranteed and only for reference.
Ambient recommended - Ambient max -LN2 recommended - LN2 max
CPU Core Voltage 1.40V Up to 1.45V 1.80V Up to 1.95V
SOC Voltage 1.15V Up to 1.20V 1.20V Up to 1.25V
DRAM Voltage1 1.40V Up to 1.90V 1.80V Up to 1.90V
1.8V PLL Voltage 1.80V Up to 2.10V 3.00V Up to 3.20V
1.05V SB Voltage 1.05V Up to 1.40V 1.30V Up to 1.40V
1.8V Standby Voltage 1.80V Up to 2.10V 2.10V Up to 2.30V
2.5V SB Voltage 2.50V Up to 2.80V 2.70V Up to 2.80V

Just to clear thing up a bit I thought I'd copy and past a couple of tid bits from the guides we have at our disposal. The first is AMD's guide and the second is Elmor's guide.[/

I appreciate your time for posting this, I have read those guides wink.gif , but I will roll with The Stilt's suggestion in SOC <1.10V wink.gif . Like I said before higher SOC maybe masking UEFI deficiencies in maturity.

.

No worries and I agree with that too. 1.2v is safe but it certainly seems general consensus from the pros and from general users this past 12 hours hours that 1.1v is optimum especially with the latest update. Lets quash the SoC talk here and now! biggrin.gif



RS87 is offline  
post #16143 of 40949 (permalink) Old 05-20-2017, 06:45 AM
Not New to Overclock.net
 
Naeem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Always Near My PC
Posts: 288
Rep: 6 (Unique: 5)
anyone else here got G.Skill TridentZ RGB F4-3000C16Q-32GTZR ?

AMD Master Race PC
(13 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 1800X @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
RX Vega 64 Liquid
RAM
32GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3066MHZ
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
Power Supply
Corsair AX860
Cooling
Corsair H100I
Case
Corsair 460X RGB
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus MG278Q 1440p , 144HZ FreeSync
Keyboard
Corsair K30
Mouse
Razer Deathadder 2013
Mouse
Razer SPHEX
▲ hide details ▲


Naeem is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16144 of 40949 (permalink) Old 05-20-2017, 06:45 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Targonis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 438
Rep: 31 (Unique: 21)
Elmor, as I mentioned in my reply, CPU-Z was showing 1T for my memory(memory is definitely 2T). I also saw this in HWInfo. I went back into the BIOS for 9945, made sure that I had 2T set in both the UMC options as well as the timing controls(since you can set it in both places). So no Auto, clearly 2T was set, but it is showing up as 1T in Windows. I then switched to 9943, checked the settings again, and also see that the BIOS setting for command rate is being ignored, and is setting things to 1T.

This would explain why I am not able to hit faster than 2933 for my memory. Every screenshot others have posted shows a 1T command rate as well, which I know is not scientific proof, but at least does not shoot down my observation that the BIOS options for command rate are being ignored.
Targonis is offline  
post #16145 of 40949 (permalink) Old 05-20-2017, 06:48 AM
Gaming enthusiast
 
Ironcobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 741
Rep: 34 (Unique: 29)
Cleared cmos and still cant change any settings for my memory

Origin: Ironcobra80
Steam: Ironcobra
Ryzen
(17 items)
CPU
AMD RYZEN 1800x
Motherboard
CROSSHAIR VI HERO
GPU
Asus strix 1080 ti
RAM
Gskill TridentZ RGB
Hard Drive
Crucial M100
Hard Drive
crucial mx300
Hard Drive
wd black
Power Supply
XFX P1-650X-CAH9 650W MODULAR
Cooling
Cooling by Noctua
Cooling
corsair h115i
Case
Corsair Carbide 540
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
LG OLED65C6P
Keyboard
Varmilo 87 Bluetooth
Mouse
logitech g900
Mouse
logitech G440
Audio
Marantz sr7010 and Elemental Designs home theater
▲ hide details ▲
Ironcobra is offline  
post #16146 of 40949 (permalink) Old 05-20-2017, 06:50 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Targonis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 438
Rep: 31 (Unique: 21)
false
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironcobra View Post

After 9943 I cannot change memory settings at all. Writing this i have my bios set to ddr4000 and still only running at 2133???? Nothing I mess with changes anything with the mem, Is anyone else experiencing this?

This is the typical result of memory not training. If memory fails to train at the settings you put in, the BIOS reverts your memory to 2133, resets the failCNT to 1, and ProcODT to Auto. The positive about this is that you don't need to clear the CMOS before you try again.
Targonis is offline  
post #16147 of 40949 (permalink) Old 05-20-2017, 06:51 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Frikencio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Spain
Posts: 593
Rep: 23 (Unique: 18)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firefreak View Post

Yiiihaaaa!

I'm now able to boot at 3200 memory speed with my 2x16Gb Corsair CMK32GX4M2B3200C16 kit.

3200 memory setting, 1,4v DRAM boot, 1.35v DRAM, 1,2v SOC Voltage, 16-18-18-18-36-1T, 90 Ohm ODT.

Using BIOS 9943.

Finally a happy Ryzen camper... smile.gif

Try SOC Voltage to 1.1v, it works on my AVERAGE 1700 that cannot do more than 3.9OC. You should be fine.

SOC Voltage 1.10v @ 3200Mhz RAM 14-14-14-34-48-1T

Ryzen
(14 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
NVIDIA Geforce GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z RGB DDR4 3200
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO NVMe 500Gb
Power Supply
EVGA Supernova G2 750W 80 Plus Gold Modular
Cooling
Corsair Cooling Hydro Series H115i
Case
NZXT H440
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
LG 29UM58-P
Keyboard
Razer BlackWidow Chroma
Mouse
Logitech G903
Mousepad
Logitech Powerplay
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
▲ hide details ▲
Frikencio is offline  
post #16148 of 40949 (permalink) Old 05-20-2017, 06:52 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
elmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 796
Rep: 297 (Unique: 130)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Targonis View Post

Elmor, as I mentioned in my reply, CPU-Z was showing 1T for my memory(memory is definitely 2T). I also saw this in HWInfo. I went back into the BIOS for 9945, made sure that I had 2T set in both the UMC options as well as the timing controls(since you can set it in both places). So no Auto, clearly 2T was set, but it is showing up as 1T in Windows. I then switched to 9943, checked the settings again, and also see that the BIOS setting for command rate is being ignored, and is setting things to 1T.

This would explain why I am not able to hit faster than 2933 for my memory. Every screenshot others have posted shows a 1T command rate as well, which I know is not scientific proof, but at least does not shoot down my observation that the BIOS options for command rate are being ignored.

Did you also set Geardown to Disabled?
elmor is offline  
post #16149 of 40949 (permalink) Old 05-20-2017, 06:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
RS87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Southampton, England
Posts: 195
Rep: 30 (Unique: 19)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Targonis View Post

Elmor, as I mentioned in my reply, CPU-Z was showing 1T for my memory(memory is definitely 2T). I also saw this in HWInfo. I went back into the BIOS for 9945, made sure that I had 2T set in both the UMC options as well as the timing controls(since you can set it in both places). So no Auto, clearly 2T was set, but it is showing up as 1T in Windows. I then switched to 9943, checked the settings again, and also see that the BIOS setting for command rate is being ignored, and is setting things to 1T.

This would explain why I am not able to hit faster than 2933 for my memory. Every screenshot others have posted shows a 1T command rate as well, which I know is not scientific proof, but at least does not shoot down my observation that the BIOS options for command rate are being ignored.
Quote:
Originally Posted by elmor View Post

If setting Command Rate or Geardown, please note Geardown = Enable is only possible with Command Rate = 1T (default at 2666+). Additionally CAS Latency is required to be an even number when Geardown is Enabled, some of you might have noticed.

Maybe I have misinterpreted this wrong but does Elmor mean anything above 2666MHz will default to 1T? Also, relative to many users on here, I'm a noob but I thought 2T means the memory takes double the time to process it's calculations than 1T, so if that is right (and i could very well be wrong), why would you complain about 2T when you are being forced into a better and faster 1T? Please do correct me if I'm wrong, this is all a big learning curve for me, no offence will be taken.



RS87 is offline  
post #16150 of 40949 (permalink) Old 05-20-2017, 06:53 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Targonis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 438
Rep: 31 (Unique: 21)
Quote:
Originally Posted by elmor View Post

Did you also set Geardown to Disabled?

I left Geardown alone, didn't touch it. Should I set Geardown to disabled then?
Targonis is offline  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (1 members and 3 guests)
3200MHz
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off