ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 1638 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #16371 of 40650 (permalink) Old 05-20-2017, 08:06 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
LBManiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 53
Rep: 3 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluej511 View Post

Have you changed anything else in that BIOS? Maybe the VDDP to 975mv? For me i just couldnt get it to do anything good, even factory settings were a bust haha. You should notice improvement in latency and therefore performance, everyone suggested it and for me was 700% coverage HCI stable.

Running 7 Memtests now so will see how it holds up. I feel I've been lucky since day one as never had any stability issues with ryzen or memory smile.gif I just like to have the latest shiny bios cause I'm like that smile.gif

LBManiac is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16372 of 40650 (permalink) Old 05-20-2017, 08:07 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: France/Armenia/US/Lebanon
Posts: 4,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by elmor View Post

Send me a PM and I'll help you get back.
Extreme Tweaker/DRAM Timings will overwrite CBS menu items.

The VRM still works, but the CPU now uses an internally generated voltage instead of the external VRM on the MB. So you can change the value, but it won't affect anything inside the CPU. Only the CLDO_VDDP value works.

Damn, old bug is back.
The setting is saved, but you need to power off once first before it actually applies. For example set the value and save + reboot. Go into BIOS again and power off your system, then power on again and the value should be applied.
Probably the same problem as in AIDA, try tRDRD_Sc = 1

On EC FW from 0003? Send me a PM to get back to normal.
Did increasing SOC Voltage work?

Send me a PM.
Supply voltage for the memory PHY.

Elmor, any reason my corsair lpx settings on 1107 won't work AT ALL on 9943? changing dram boot to 1.45 gives me an instant f9 and keeps looping f9, i have to hold the power button then reset cmos. All ive tried was keeping the same settings and it was f9 on cold boot and on restart. Ive gone back to 1107 for now as its fully stable, Hynix 2x8gb btw.
bluej511 is offline  
post #16373 of 40650 (permalink) Old 05-20-2017, 08:07 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: France/Armenia/US/Lebanon
Posts: 4,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by LBManiac View Post

Running 7 Memtests now so will see how it holds up. I feel I've been lucky since day one as never had any stability issues with ryzen or memory smile.gif I just like to have the latest shiny bios cause I'm like that smile.gif

You probably have the corsair ver 4.39 which is Samsung, compared to 5.39 which is Hynix, would be my only theory.
bluej511 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16374 of 40650 (permalink) Old 05-20-2017, 08:13 PM
OC...D
 
Jpmboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 26,198
Rep: 1273 (Unique: 561)
Quote:
Originally Posted by aerotracks View Post

Previously highest stable mem clocks with 1107 BIOS, 1766MHz 14-15 Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)

With the new BIOS it's looking a little better, finally able to break the 1800MHz mark biggrin.gifWarning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrZoner View Post

Here is my C6H BIOS 9945 story. It definitely works a lot better with setting up the DRAM. CMOS defaults + setting DRAM to 3200 and it trained and booted right up. The automatic timings were a bit loose but close (16-16-16-38). I then entered in the G.Skill's 14-14-14-34 timings manually, which worked just fine. After that I decided to kick up the DRAM speed past 3200 and got it running at 3466 with the 14-14-14-34. I have also left nearly all the bios options at the defaults this time around:


The AIDA numbers are nearly impossible to tell apart from DRAM set to 3200 MHz and 18-14-14-34 timings, the latency is the only stat not within the margin of error running the benchmark. I am getting 71.3ns latency, before it was 77.6ns

9945 BIOS Options (Click to show)
Ai Overclock Tuner [Manual]
Custom CPU Core Ratio [Manual]
> FID [220]
> DID [11]
Memory Frequency [DDR4-3466MHz]
Core Performance Boost [Disabled]
CPU Core Voltage [Manual mode]
- CPU Core Voltage Override [1.38750]
CPU SOC Voltage [Manual mode]
- VDDSOC Voltage Override [1.08750]
DRAM Voltage [1.40000]
DRAM CAS# Latency [14]
DRAM RAS# to CAS# Read Delay [14]
DRAM RAS# to CAS# Write Delay [14]
DRAM RAS# PRE Time [14]
DRAM RAS# ACT Time [34]
DRAM VBoot Voltage [1.40000]
HWINFO under IBT load (Click to show)
AIDA (Click to show)

1800X, 32 GB of G.Skill FlareX (4x8), other hardware specs in my previous posts if you care ...


yeah - something is not right with aid64 membench. Compared to aerotrack's post, with an 1800x at higher clocks, ram at higher freq, and very similar timings the 6-core above is doing the same numbers. Should scale with thread count, but it is not at all. Or it is just not a good measure with ryzen.

ASUS Z370/Z390 Motherboard Support Thread, Coffee Lake OC Guide
Rampage VI Apex / 7980XE / 2 Titan V / 32GB 4000C16/Corsair AX1500i/Intel 900P

GPUs For Sale
X299
(26 items)
x99
(18 items)
Z370 Z390
(23 items)
CPU
7980XE
CPU
7740X
CPU
9900X
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage VI Apex
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus G9
Motherboard
Rampage VI Extreme Omega
GPU
2x Nvidia Titan V
GPU
GTX 1080
RAM
G. Skill 2x(2x8GB) 3600c15 @4000c16
RAM
Team Group
RAM
Two 4x8GB GS 3600c16 kits @ 4000c16
Hard Drive
INtel Optane 900P
Hard Drive
2x256 Plextor Raid 0
Hard Drive
WD Raptor
Hard Drive
Samsung Sm 961
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
EVGA 850 G3
Cooling
Aquacomputer GiGant 1680 (4x420)
Cooling
Koolance EXC-800
Case
Microcool Banchetto 101 (Alu)
Case
Corsair 570X
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
ROG Swift
Keyboard
Ducky
Mouse
Spatha
CPU
6950X
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage V Extreme-10
GPU
Titan Xp
GPU
Titan Xp
RAM
G Skill 8x8GB 3200c14 @3400c13
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro
Optical Drive
ASUS BR/DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
2x360 Aq Copper Rads
Cooling
Aquaero 6
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U (9-fan mora)
Cooling
Ek Full Cover MB waterblock
Case
CaseLabs Mercury S8
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
AGON 32 inch
Keyboard
Das Pro
Mouse
Logitech G700
CPU
8700K
CPU
9700K
CPU
8086K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus X Apex
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus XI Extreme
GPU
GTX 1080
GPU
GTX 1070Ti FTW2
GPU
Titan V
RAM
2x8 GB G.Skill 4400c19
RAM
G.Skill 3600c16 4x6GB
Hard Drive
Intel 750
Optical Drive
PLextor DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
Corsair HX 1200i
Power Supply
Seasonic Titanium 850W
Cooling
360Rad + Chiller
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U
Case
Corasir 570
Operating System
Win 10
Operating System
Windows 7 Pro
Monitor
55" 4K
Keyboard
HyperX Alloy FPS Pro
Mouse
SteelSeries Rival
▲ hide details ▲


Jpmboy is offline  
post #16375 of 40650 (permalink) Old 05-20-2017, 08:13 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
LBManiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 53
Rep: 3 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluej511 View Post

You probably have the corsair ver 4.39 which is Samsung, compared to 5.39 which is Hynix, would be my only theory.

No its Hynix for sure, current screen looks like this


Windows still doesn't read correct mem speed though, must be a new bug, seen plenty of mentions

LBManiac is offline  
post #16376 of 40650 (permalink) Old 05-20-2017, 08:15 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: France/Armenia/US/Lebanon
Posts: 4,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by LBManiac View Post

No its Hynix for sure, current screen looks like this

Ah very lucky, if i may make a suggestion (so youre not sitting there all night haha)

Open up 16 memtest windows (16 threads) and put around 850-870 on each, will be done MUCH faster. I got mine to 700% in 2hrs i believe (fell asleep so not sure), seems to be the fastest way to do it.
bluej511 is offline  
post #16377 of 40650 (permalink) Old 05-20-2017, 08:17 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
LBManiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 53
Rep: 3 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluej511 View Post

Ah very lucky, if i may make a suggestion (so youre not sitting there all night haha)

Open up 16 memtest windows (16 threads) and put around 850-870 on each, will be done MUCH faster. I got mine to 700% in 2hrs i believe (fell asleep so not sure), seems to be the fastest way to do it.

i'm going to stick on deep space 9 and probably does off lol, will see what it sits at when wake up tongue.gif

PS thanks for the tip on the timings and voltage, the 1.45v sorted the issue

LBManiac is offline  
post #16378 of 40650 (permalink) Old 05-20-2017, 08:31 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
aerotracks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 996
Rep: 92 (Unique: 56)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jpmboy View Post

yeah - something is not right with aid64 membench. Compared to aerotrack's post, with an 1800x at higher clocks, ram at higher freq, and very similar timings the 6-core above is doing the same numbers. Should scale with thread count, but it is not at all. Or it is just not a good measure with ryzen.

Might be my ancient version of AIDA redface.gif

How did you manage to display memory clock in CPU-Z?

aerotracks is offline  
post #16379 of 40650 (permalink) Old 05-20-2017, 08:41 PM
Always Learning
 
finalheaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,104
Rep: 74 (Unique: 38)
Quote:
Originally Posted by aerotracks View Post

Might be my ancient version of AIDA redface.gif

How did you manage to display memory clock in CPU-Z?

For some reason I think CPU-Z shows refclk/blck based overclocks, but not if you just set it to 3333 or higher without increasing refclk/blck.
finalheaven is offline  
post #16380 of 40650 (permalink) Old 05-20-2017, 08:51 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
neoark's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 21
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by elmor View Post

@Kanukio should wait for 24 hours from this post until he/she/it can click the links in this post.

http://www.mediafire.com/file/7jch56t5uohnnbz/CROSSHAIR-VI-HERO-ASUS-9943.zip

If Hynix AFR 4x16GB or Samsung B 4x8GB, you might have more luck with this http://www.mediafire.com/file/2stmu39om14oa6b/CROSSHAIR-VI-HERO-ASUS-9945.zip

Will this work better for: http://www.corsair.com/en-us/vengeance-led-32gb-2-x-16gb-ddr4-dram-3200mhz-c16-memory-kit-white-led-cmu32gx4m2c3200c16 ? I can't get it more than 2666 with 1107 firmware !!
neoark is offline  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off