ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 1810 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #18091 of 40623 (permalink) Old 06-01-2017, 11:56 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
1nterceptor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 34
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Quote:
Originally Posted by MuddyPaws View Post


Pardon my curiousity, is that wallpaper engine in the background? If it is, what background is that? Thx

Srry for the ot...

1nterceptor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #18092 of 40623 (permalink) Old 06-01-2017, 11:56 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ras5al6Ghul2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 21
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post

If you have corrupt SPD on the G.Skill RGB you could avoid RMA process by using methods in this thread, the posts by Voodoo Jungle should help you.

I had Trident Z F4-3200C14D-16GTZ non RGB DOA. Etailer had no stock for swap out, I RMA with G.Skill, etailer pay postage, ~2 weeks later had new kit.
As far as I can see, my SPD does not seem to be corrupt. I ran Typhoon Burner and it recognized both sticks of RAM. I am past my 30 day window, so there doesn't seem to be a way to avoid paying for the shipping. It's not even the cost shipping, it's the fact that I'm being asked to do so.
Ras5al6Ghul2 is offline  
post #18093 of 40623 (permalink) Old 06-01-2017, 11:56 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Targonis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 438
Rep: 31 (Unique: 21)
Quote:
Originally Posted by LittleVulpix View Post

I'm running at 2933 which is a heavily overlocked memory (18-17-17-17-38). It's actually a funny story because it's 4x16GB module whose original rating is CL15 / 2400. Somehow I've always been able to OC it well without issues even before agesa 1006/1004a, see https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/644tsy/my_ryzen_build_64gb_ddr4_cl15_2400mhz_ram/

I've since changed my settings slightly, using LLC4 only and a lower voltage because it's stable too.

At any rate, it's not the RAM I believe.

I ran realbench stresstest (2hours) as well as the intelburn test (overnight) and there were no issues. But when I start cs:go and play, the driver fails within ~15 minutes.

I actually even underclocked my GPU, but no, it happens anyway, which is why I think maybe something is different when you OC (even if you leave bclk @ normal). I'll try with HPET on and see what happens.

The GPU itself seems fine too, I stresstested it (with no overclock on the CPU) and it was running just fine. Also if I play on stock settings I can play just fine with no crashes.

I would still try to either go down one notch, or go to 2T instead of 1T, or Geardown enabled if on 1T and then see if you have more luck.
Targonis is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #18094 of 40623 (permalink) Old 06-01-2017, 12:09 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
LittleVulpix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 23
Rep: 4 (Unique: 2)
Actually with AGESA 1006, I was able to OC it to 3200MHz biggrin.gif But it was not stable. But hey it booted to windows, before it wouldn't even boot. Not bad for a non-samsung-die 64GB of ram whose original rating is 2400MHz tongue.gif
LittleVulpix is offline  
post #18095 of 40623 (permalink) Old 06-01-2017, 12:14 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
The Stilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,266
Rep: 749 (Unique: 286)
This is the maximum I can do, without the signaling becoming an issue. The inability to run at higher MEMCLKs isn't a huge loss, as these modules will do 3466MHz CL14 at 1.374V (actual) which is quite nice considering 24/7 use.





The Stilt is offline  
post #18096 of 40623 (permalink) Old 06-01-2017, 12:37 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 386
Rep: 34 (Unique: 24)
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordzed83 View Post


would b cheaper to import em from us god damn....

 

You will get smacked by unpredictable but always remarkably large import and export fees. 

Look in mainland Europe instead.

Bend over Britain.


Should I have another beer?

Untill you can no longer hold a glass without spilling. This is the quaffing hysteresis point where the beer intake is reduced to match the alcohol handling capacity of the imbibing entity.
dorbot is offline  
post #18097 of 40623 (permalink) Old 06-01-2017, 12:39 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ibeat117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 59
Rep: 4 (Unique: 3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post

This is the maximum I can do, without the signaling becoming an issue. The inability to run at higher MEMCLKs isn't a huge loss, as these modules will do 3466MHz CL14 at 1.374V (actual) which is quite nice considering 24/7 use.






There is a BIOS 9921?
ibeat117 is offline  
post #18098 of 40623 (permalink) Old 06-01-2017, 12:43 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
The Stilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,266
Rep: 749 (Unique: 286)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ibeat117 View Post

There is a BIOS 9921?

Forgot to sanitize that.
9921 is the internal, initial test version of bios which became 9943.
The Stilt is offline  
post #18099 of 40623 (permalink) Old 06-01-2017, 12:48 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Clukos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1,520
Rep: 142 (Unique: 86)
That Ryzen timing checker software, is there a place to download that?


Clukos is offline  
post #18100 of 40623 (permalink) Old 06-01-2017, 12:51 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
kaseki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 721
Rep: 75 (Unique: 37)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clukos View Post

That Ryzen timing checker software, is there a place to download that?

... and is there a Linux version?

Rig running Ryzen [email protected] GHz, [email protected] MT/s, Linux Mint 18.1 on Asus C6H
kaseki is offline  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 5 (2 members and 3 guests)
Dave001 , Ultimvtum
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off