ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 1978 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #19771 of 44828 (permalink) Old 06-15-2017, 12:11 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
dwd504's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 14
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
I'm confused here. I don't remember reading anything about sense skew for non-x cpu's. I thought that was only a relevant setting for x variants.
dwd504 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19772 of 44828 (permalink) Old 06-15-2017, 12:18 PM
OC...D
 
Jpmboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 27,518
Rep: 1340 (Unique: 582)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DSDV View Post

so i tried enter 14 14 14 34 and 3200Mhz manualy but still it only boots in fail safe mode frown.gif
(F4-3200C14D-32GTZ)

any other suggestions ... what PROCODT do i have to set for 2 DS BDie DIMMS ?

PS: what does VRM spread Spectrum do ?

http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php/775324-VRM-Spread-Spectrum-What-does-it-do-What-platforms?s=fe0c8f45917f1a096c1bf2310f591191&p=7957084&viewfull=1#post7957084

after entering the timings, manually set the dram voltage and SOC too - right? Remember, the 14-14-14 from gskill is not the first three timings in bios. If that fails, Load opt defaults chenge bclk to 100, select 3200 ram, set 1.35-1.4V VDIMM, soc to 1.1-1.15V, use the default timings for the initial training, then chang to 14-14-14 and note the correct timing parameter. GSkill lists CAS(CL)- tRCD- tRP- tRAS on the sticks, set thew appropriate timing and leave the others on Auto (eg, match up the fields in bios with GSkill's spec timings.

ASUS Z370/Z390 Motherboard Support Thread, Coffee Lake OC Guide
X299
(33 items)
x99
(17 items)
Z370
(20 items)
CPU
7980XE
CPU
7740X
CPU
10980XE
CPU
10980XE @ 4.8
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage VI Apex
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus G9
Motherboard
Rampage VI Extreme Omega
GPU
3x Nvidia Titan V
GPU
GTX 1080
GPU
2 2080Ti FE / EK Vector Blocks
RAM
G. Skill 2x(2x8GB) 3600c15 @4000c16
RAM
Two 4x8GB GS 3600c16 kits @ 4200c17
Hard Drive
INtel Optane 900P
Hard Drive
2x256 Plextor Raid 0
Hard Drive
WD Raptor
Hard Drive
Samsung Sm 961
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
EVGA 850 G3
Power Supply
Seasonic Platinum 1300W
Cooling
Aquacomputer GiGant 1680 (4x420)
Cooling
Koolance EXC-800
Cooling
2x Koolance -3K3U
Case
Microcool Banchetto 101 (Alu)
Case
Corsair 570X
Case
Lian Li
Case
Case Labs
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
ROG Swift
Monitor
AOC 144Hz
Monitor
TCL 55" 4K60
Keyboard
Ducky
Mouse
Spatha
CPU
6950X
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage V Extreme-10
GPU
AsRock Radeon VII / Blkski Block
RAM
G Skill 8x8GB 3200c14 @3400c13
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro
Optical Drive
ASUS BR/DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
2x360 Aq Copper Rads
Cooling
Aquaero 6
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U (9-fan mora)
Cooling
Ek Full Cover MB waterblock
Case
CaseLabs Mercury S8
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
AGON 32 inch
Keyboard
Das Pro
Mouse
Logitech G700
CPU
8700K
CPU
8086K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus X Apex
GPU
Titan Xp
GPU
Titan Xp
RAM
2x8 GB G.Skill 4400c19
RAM
G.Skill 3600c16 4x6GB
Hard Drive
Intel 750
Optical Drive
PLextor DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
Corsair HX 1200i
Power Supply
Seasonic Titanium 850W
Cooling
360Rad + Chiller
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U
Case
Corasir 570
Operating System
Win 10
Operating System
Windows 7 Pro
Monitor
55" 4K
Keyboard
HyperX Alloy FPS Pro
Mouse
SteelSeries Rival
▲ hide details ▲


Jpmboy is offline  
post #19773 of 44828 (permalink) Old 06-15-2017, 12:27 PM
Tinkerer
 
RossiOCUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 190
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Remind me guys, do I need to set the sense mi skew on BIOS 9945 with an X ryzen?
RossiOCUK is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19774 of 44828 (permalink) Old 06-15-2017, 12:29 PM
Always Learning
 
finalheaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,138
Rep: 76 (Unique: 39)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ex0cet View Post

I've been doing some deep testing with BIOS 1401.

BTW I'm using 4 Samsung B sticks x 8GB (Rated at 4266mhz CL19)

This are my findings, in comparison with BIOS 9945:

*BIOS 9945 would boot to Windows on 3466mhz CL14, with ProcODT on auto. This is not the case for the BIOS 1401, as it will only boot on 3466mhz CL14 if I use ProcODT 48ohms or 53.3 ohms. (The magic number is between those two values for me)

*BIOS 1401 with ProcODT on auto will only work up to the 3333 memory multiplier. Anything beyond that memory multiplier will require a manual setting of 48ohms or 53.3ohms.

*On both the 1401 and 9945 BIOSes, 3466mhz CL14 / 3466mhz CL16 will boot but it isn't stable for proper use, it will eventually crash when benchmarking, it doesn't seem to matter what voltages or values I play with.

*3333mhz CL14 seems stable on both the 1401 and 9945 bioses.

*I have a Ryzen 1700 CPU currently stable @3,9Ghz with 1,375v LLC 4 on BIOS 1401. (Previously I needed a little more voltage than that to achieve stability, same settings but ~1.4v)

I echo the same regarding booting up with 3466 with ProcODT on auto. I had to manually set the ProcODT to 53.3 in order to boot up with 3466 14-14-14-14-34-1T with 32 gb (4x8). However, 1401 was a huge improvement because it was not stable previously at 3466:14-14-14-34-1T. Overall 1401 has been excellent for me.
finalheaven is online now  
post #19775 of 44828 (permalink) Old 06-15-2017, 12:34 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ex0cet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 73
Rep: 16 (Unique: 13)
Ex0cet is offline  
post #19776 of 44828 (permalink) Old 06-15-2017, 12:37 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ex0cet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 73
Rep: 16 (Unique: 13)
Quote:
Originally Posted by finalheaven View Post

I echo the same regarding booting up with 3466 with ProcODT on auto. I had to manually set the ProcODT to 53.3 in order to boot up with 3466 14-14-14-14-34-1T with 32 gb (4x8). However, 1401 was a huge improvement because it was not stable previously at 3466:14-14-14-34-1T. Overall 1401 has been excellent for me.

Hi there!

Indeed. Although not stable yet for me.

Would you be so kind to please remind me about your voltages and special CPU/memory settings within BIOS? Maybe I can learn or use a thing or two. smile.gif

Thank you.
Ex0cet is offline  
post #19777 of 44828 (permalink) Old 06-15-2017, 12:45 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
lordzed83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 1,628
Rep: 41 (Unique: 31)
@gupsterg

PAss !!!! First time crashed but did proper cmos clear profile load and BOOM
And In my case its down to SoC of 1.137 with llc2 and 400khz More Crash Less Crash. All about that ONE SWEET SPOT. I must ahve been super lucky I found it 2 months ago lol.



Tahts with my 3549cl16 settings


IBT Very Highx10 is good enough for ME. Even my [email protected] most of the time would not pass but never crashed in my use.

Other thing is that 3417cl14 gives 0.25 Gflops more than 3549cl16 smile.gif


So THIS IS IT GUYS Max juice my 1700x + Team Group 3733 can go.
lordzed83 is offline  
post #19778 of 44828 (permalink) Old 06-15-2017, 12:54 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
SpecFree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 67
Rep: 0
Anyone experiencing rather high CPU+SOC wattage? or even CPU core current?

im hitting 82A on CPU core current.
and about 112W on CPU+SOC.

both in cinebench
SpecFree is offline  
post #19779 of 44828 (permalink) Old 06-15-2017, 01:03 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
lordzed83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 1,628
Rep: 41 (Unique: 31)
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpecFree View Post

Anyone experiencing rather high CPU+SOC wattage? or even CPU core current?

im hitting 82A on CPU core current.
and about 112W on CPU+SOC.

both in cinebench
You call that HIGH ???Check my screenshot at maximum smile.gif

Anyway guys i got somethign Special for You My CB11.5 collection since i started to save it over platforms since My phenom II 720. Used to have scores from My Overclocked Duron 700 Athlon XP and Athlon 64 but freaking HDD died and took them with it frown.gif Overclocking since 286sx biggrin.gif


lordzed83 is offline  
post #19780 of 44828 (permalink) Old 06-15-2017, 01:10 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
XEKong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 149
Rep: 6 (Unique: 5)
Quote:
Originally Posted by finalheaven View Post

I have only had this problem during (some) stress tests. It has never occurred in real usage including any games. It is a weird/odd issue though. I am running windows 10 with an NVMe drive.

I think I found the answer to the freezing problems. It has to do with AHCI link power management. It's hidden by default. You will need to open the registry editor and perform the following.

HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Power\PowerSettings\0012ee47-9041-4b5d-9b77-535fba8b1442\0b2d69d7-a2a1-449c-9680-f91c70521c60

Change attributes from 1 to 2

HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Power\PowerSettings\0012ee47-9041-4b5d-9b77-535fba8b1442\dab60367-53fe-4fbc-825e-521d069d2456

And again change Attributes from 1 to 2.

Now go to Control Panel -> System and Security -> Power Options click on "Change Plan Settings" and then click on "Change advanced Power settings".

Now under "Hard disk" you should have AHCI Link Power Management - HIPM/DIPM and AHCI Link Power Management - Adaptive options.


Change "AHCI Link power management" To active, which means there is no power management for AHCI and finally change Adaptive to 0 milliseconds (Although if you enabled "active" this option has no effect).

Finally under "PCI Express" Change "Link State Power management" to OFF.

This solved my freezing problems.
XEKong is offline  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 7 (1 members and 6 guests)
her9019
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off