ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 1981 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #19801 of 44228 (permalink) Old 06-15-2017, 04:28 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Gettz8488's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 528
Rep: 3 (Unique: 1)
Anyone with a aio cooler? I'm curious as to what your temps look like under load primarily IBT

Asus Crosshair VII X470 with AMD Ryzen 2700X @ Stock, Bios 0601
EVGA SSC 1070
16 GB Corsair Vengeance 3200 cl 16
Samsung 960 evo x1, Samsung 850 evox1, 1TB HDD
EVGA 850 Gold fully modular PSU
Corsair H115I
Gettz8488 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19802 of 44228 (permalink) Old 06-15-2017, 04:42 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
badhairguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: St. Joseph, MO
Posts: 78
Rep: 5 (Unique: 2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gettz8488 View Post

Anyone with a aio cooler? I'm curious as to what your temps look like under load primarily IBT

H110i, [email protected], 1.4v (+1 step, i think it's 1.41 or something). Not IBT, but loops of CB15
~35C at idle, 68C max load temp @ tdie

badhairguy is offline  
post #19803 of 44228 (permalink) Old 06-15-2017, 04:43 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
tarot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 549
Rep: 22 (Unique: 17)
Quote:
Originally Posted by GraveNoX View Post

Make sure to set PLL to 1.8 manually (or 1.79 -> goes to 1.809) because on Auto with big core ratio, the temps will go nuts and PLL goes to 1.9+
thought that as well after reading oh 1900 pages smile.gif but on auto temps and volts are fine mine never goes over 1.83 according to hwinfo hard set to 1.8 it just sits at 1.83
tarot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19804 of 44228 (permalink) Old 06-15-2017, 04:48 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
CrazyElement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 60
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by XEKong View Post

I think I found the answer to the freezing problems. It has to do with AHCI link power management. It's hidden by default. You will need to open the registry editor and perform the following.

HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Power\PowerSettings\0012ee47-9041-4b5d-9b77-535fba8b1442\0b2d69d7-a2a1-449c-9680-f91c70521c60

Change attributes from 1 to 2

HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Power\PowerSettings\0012ee47-9041-4b5d-9b77-535fba8b1442\dab60367-53fe-4fbc-825e-521d069d2456

And again change Attributes from 1 to 2.

Now go to Control Panel -> System and Security -> Power Options click on "Change Plan Settings" and then click on "Change advanced Power settings".

Now under "Hard disk" you should have AHCI Link Power Management - HIPM/DIPM and AHCI Link Power Management - Adaptive options.


Change "AHCI Link power management" To active, which means there is no power management for AHCI and finally change Adaptive to 0 milliseconds (Although if you enabled "active" this option has no effect).

Finally under "PCI Express" Change "Link State Power management" to OFF.

This solved my freezing problems.

Is that really so , I remember back in the days , my notebook was doing those kinds of freezes like freeze for 2 sec or so then everything is fine , and whenever doing that I heard a click noise from the HDD( there was no ssd back in the days) , so after long searching I found that there is some kind of Power management activated for my HDD , after installing CrystalDiskInfo , I could easy stop that option and everything was fine , didn't know that same thing happens to the fastest SSD ever produced biggrin.gif . But good to know you found the solution... and yes its 1000% thats the cause.

CrazyElement is offline  
post #19805 of 44228 (permalink) Old 06-15-2017, 04:49 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
tarot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 549
Rep: 22 (Unique: 17)
Quote:
Originally Posted by badhairguy View Post

Im seeing the exact same thing. Averaged 175X on 9943, 1710-1715 on 1401. I even tried minimum processor state 100% because for some reason, I can't change to any other plan than Ryzen Balanced.

ok just tested that with high performance i gain 8 points in cb15...so yeah nothing i prefer it to throttle there really is not a lot in it but you are right it does take longer to ramp up.
i can also change plans without issue.
you could try resetting all plans to defaults and try again
tarot is offline  
post #19806 of 44228 (permalink) Old 06-15-2017, 04:50 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 87
Rep: 11 (Unique: 6)
Upgraded from 9943 today and tried 3600 MHz with 1401. It just works now! No chance hitting this with 9943 for me.

I didn't even adjust anything special, after clearing cmos and flashing I just enabled the DOCP Standard (or whatever its called) and I'm now running 3600 @ 16 16 16 16 36 1T.
Using 2 x 8 GB G.skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR.

1.35V boot and 1.35V running voltage. CPU is 1800X at 3.9 GHz. I have no clue about temps anymore since they are all over the place now.
SOC is at 1.11V.

Ypsi Desktop
(17 items)
Ypsi HTPC
(10 items)
Ypsi NAS
(14 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 3800X
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus X570 Master
GPU
MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X
RAM
G.Skill F4-3200C14D-32GVR
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 1TB
Power Supply
EVGA 850 P2
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15
Cooling
3 x Noctua NF-A12x25 PWM
Cooling
2 x Noctua NF-A20 PWM
Case
Cooler Master SL600M
Operating System
Windows 10 x64
Monitor
Acer Predator Z35
Keyboard
Func KB-460
Mouse
Logitech G MX518
Mousepad
Turtle Beach Drift 3525
Audio
Sennheiser HD 800S
Audio
RME ADI-2 DAC
CPU
Intel Xeon E3-1260L v5
Motherboard
Supermicro X11SSZ-TLN4F
GPU
MSI GTX 1050 Ti Gaming X
RAM
2 x 8 GB Samsung 2133 ECC
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 1 TB
Power Supply
Corsair RM750x
Cooling
Noctua NH-U9S
Cooling
3 x Noctua NF-S12A FLX
Case
Fractal Design Node 804
Operating System
Windows 10 x64
CPU
Intel Xeon E5-2630 v2
Motherboard
Supermicro X9SRL-F
RAM
4 x 16 GB Samsung 1600 ECC REG
Hard Drive
5 x 10 TB Seagate Ironwolf
Hard Drive
3 x 4 TB Western Digital Red
Hard Drive
2 x 4 TB Seagate NAS
Hard Drive
2 x 3 TB Western Digital Red
Power Supply
Corsair RM750x
Cooling
Noctua NH-U9DX i4
Cooling
5 x Noctua NF-A8 PWM
Case
Supermicro CSE-846TQ
Operating System
FreeNAS
Other
Intel X540-T1 10G NIC
Other
2 x LSI 9220-8i HBA
▲ hide details ▲
YpsiNine is offline  
post #19807 of 44228 (permalink) Old 06-15-2017, 04:54 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
tarot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 549
Rep: 22 (Unique: 17)
Quote:
Originally Posted by LuckyImperial View Post

That's warm, but I notice one of your cores is at 4GHz, so it's probably picking up junction temp for that core.

However, my 240x60mm custom loop runs around those temps at nearly full load with 3.9GHz on all cores.

you are pushing 1.41 v and that will equal about 68 from mine(same cooler) so i dropped llc to auto for 3.925 now it goes to 1.28 under full laod and tops out out 57 degrees.

i,m not sure that will work at 4g that extra 100mhz seems to need a nuclear powerplant
tarot is offline  
post #19808 of 44228 (permalink) Old 06-15-2017, 04:57 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
badhairguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: St. Joseph, MO
Posts: 78
Rep: 5 (Unique: 2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tarot View Post

you are pushing 1.41 v and that will equal about 68 from mine(same cooler) so i dropped llc to auto for 3.925 now it goes to 1.28 under full laod and tops out out 57 degrees.

i,m not sure that will work at 4g that extra 100mhz seems to need a nuclear powerplant

I know full well that I probably wont notice any difference at 3.9 vs 4.0GHz but there is a mental thing there where I can't make myself drop below 4 biggrin.gif:D

badhairguy is offline  
post #19809 of 44228 (permalink) Old 06-15-2017, 04:57 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
R71800XSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Earth planet / Game of thrones outdoor shooting CC (SPAIN), a cold day in a hotter city.
Posts: 257
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Quote:
Originally Posted by elmor View Post

AGESA 1006 RC4 official BIOS 1401

Just tested quickly 3600 memory and cold booting, seems good but you guys are going to have to help me test this before we have a judgement. Seems CPU temp reading from SIO now has -20*C offset for XFR enabled CPUs.

The bios 1401 seems to me the best so far without a doubt with Corsair CMK32GX4M2B3000C15R.

Advantage:
- Minor or equal timings that before Bios (cas12 is the minimum value so far, 16 is optimum for strap 3000).
- It can reach 3200 Mhz (although unstable, until now) with Hynix M 2x16 GB (only support at 3000 by manufacturer).
- Sometimes the pc boots well ...at once.

Downside:
- Sometimes at PC boot from current off (or due to a power outage), the memory timings are reset to the default values (2133 cas15).
- Temps OK, but it seems power (electric consumption and I(A)) is higher, which seems to generate more heat.
- Two or more attempts before PC boots (correctly -strap 2933- or incorrectly (with default values 2133 cas15).
- The mobo's LED and RGB led are still not working, is it so difficult?

Thanks for your support .thumb.gif

Warning: Settings with BIOS 7501 ; RYZEN 3900X + C6H ; M2: Samsumg 960 EVO M.2 PCIe Gen3. CPU: R9 3900X (3800) MHz with (Corsair Hidro Series H110i) ; Frequency: 100 ; BOOST CORE : ENABLE.
RAM: G.Skill F4-3200C14-32GTZ - Dual-Rank 4X16 GB); Timings -> 14,14,14,34,48,T1, tRFC=307.
DRAM: 1.35v DRAM Boot: 1.35v or Auto. VOLTAGES: Core: 1.25v , SOC: 1.05v. RESISTANCES: ProcODT: trying 48. CadBUS:24.
R71800XSS is offline  
post #19810 of 44228 (permalink) Old 06-15-2017, 05:11 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
roybotnik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 191
Rep: 20 (Unique: 9)
The CPU temp under the Asus C6H section in hwinfo is about 18C at idle for me, but after going to sleep and resuming it goes back to the way it was in previous releases, about 40C. Seems like CPU Tctl is still close to the same as it was before regardless. Not really sure what to make of the temp offset changes, pretty confusing lol.

Ryzen 1800X @ 4ghz 1.4V | Asus C6H | 2x16GB TridentZ 3200 C14 @ 1.35V | Vega FE Air w/ Morpheus
i7 8700K @ 5ghz 1.32V | Gigabyte Aorus Gaming 7 | 2x8GB TridentZ 3200 C14 @ 3600 C15 1.4V | MSI Gaming X 1080Ti
roybotnik is offline  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 6 (0 members and 6 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off