ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 1989 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #19881 of 44228 (permalink) Old 06-16-2017, 06:15 AM
Old dog, likes new tricks
 
Bart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,405
Rep: 82 (Unique: 67)
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordzed83 View Post

I Will try this after work and see if works THANKS smile.gif
Report back when you find out man. Hope it works!!

Bart is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19882 of 44228 (permalink) Old 06-16-2017, 06:19 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
ninogui's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 113
Rep: 0
Hi all

First build ever of CH6 + 1700 and first ever wc aio lol, an upgrade after 10 (yes ten) years of faithful q6600 services

I am waiting for the arctic 240 am4 bracket but meanwhile have it temporarily on the supplied wraith cooler. Because the arctic 240 is coming with 4 (lower end) fans I am using 2 of them up front plus a corsair ml140 bottom front and back out

went straight to 9943 because of flareX 3200, xmp settings added manually, 34-14-14-14 cr1 at 1.373 (1.300 entered in bios), amd balanced power profile on w10
I have still to install the amd/ryzen asus utils, just messing with the bios, aida64 osd running in the back

On this temporary setup and on windows performance mode 37.5x at 1.373/1.393 cpuvolt (1.300 entered in bios) 1.221 soc (1.100 entered in bios) seems prime stable although vrms´s in the 60-68ºc, cpu at 48-51 or less, chipset 48-51.
This gives me 1653 in cinebench cpu. Is this minimally good for 24/7 ?

Just to see what would happen also tried 102 bclk on top, with the same voltages all over but crashed at boot, so I went back on that for the time being

- Are the values shown in bios real, and if so regardless of the normal fluctuations are they typically always higher than what you think you are entering ?

- Maybe a bit off topic but I will believe a lot of people here must have a 240 rad mounted at front. For my fractal S case (and household - dusty) the best setup would be rad front bottom and fan on front top to help the vrm, but besides threat of bubbles is the pump - that will be higher up - going to struggle some more by not benefiting from gravity ?


thks guys



CH6 Ryzen 1700 malaysia, 2x8GB FlareX F4-320014D-16GFX, Msi 1060 OC, 960Evo 250GB + alphacool passive cooler
Arctic liquid freezer 240 4 fan config, Seasonig prime 650 gold hybrid mode, a bunch of additional disks
Fractal design define S + 4 Corsair ML140, phanteks led strip, Teufel 5.1 speakers, Asus PB240 ips
ninogui is offline  
post #19883 of 44228 (permalink) Old 06-16-2017, 06:20 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ricey20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 215
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
I'm getting some CPU thread errors while running memtest86 at stock CPU settings. Is there something I can do to stabilize it?
Ricey20 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19884 of 44228 (permalink) Old 06-16-2017, 06:22 AM
Hardware Rep
 
Raja@ASUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,430
Rep: 394 (Unique: 182)
Quote:
Originally Posted by gupsterg View Post

I agree smile.gif. I have seen too high or low causes either RAM stability test fail or intermittent boot issue.

Any chance of guidance on spoilers i) & ii) in this post?

Thanks smile.gif.

Ill take a look at some of that stuff when I get time. Drive strength tuning can pay dividends, but how much depends on how good the training is to start with. If the training routines are good and consistent, then there's not going to be much in it. If not, tuning can help increase frequency margins and or lower voltage requirements.

Kaby Lake overclocking guide here

ASUS Z270 buyer's guide here


Broadwell-E overclocking guide read here
post #19885 of 44228 (permalink) Old 06-16-2017, 06:38 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ticas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 12
Rep: 0
I just hit 3600mhz after so many tries i lost count frown.gif( but with one caveat i run Command Rate 2T. As you can see the write and the copy are low compered to 3500mhz 1T on bios 1107 (They where write ~53k and copy ~45k) Is there any way to improve or change the CR to 1T ?
i run 3600 16-16-16-16-38 1,35v and CLDO_VDDP - 956 and ProcODT 60ohm.


R5 1600 @ 3.8 Ghz [email protected] DDR4 16gb 8Gb*2 3600Mhz @ 3466Mhz
Ticas is offline  
post #19886 of 44228 (permalink) Old 06-16-2017, 06:45 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: France/Armenia/US/Lebanon
Posts: 4,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordzed83 View Post

I Will try this after work and see if works THANKS smile.gif

In HP mode for me its already set to active and 0ms so might be a balanced power mode problem (and why i think hp mode is still the best to use for ryzen, there is SO many options that change between hp and balanced its more then core parking and link state).

I always by default said pcie link management to off as well. I have no freezing issues but then again i dont use an nvme drive.
bluej511 is offline  
post #19887 of 44228 (permalink) Old 06-16-2017, 06:47 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: France/Armenia/US/Lebanon
Posts: 4,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by DSDV View Post

Btw anyone has the problem that when trying flash back to 1201 its says its not a propper bios version 0.o

Thats normal, just use usb flashback, name the file C6H.CAP all in caps. Make sure to format your usb to fat32, if it goes solid then you have a problem, in my case my sandisk cruzerblade didnt work at all but my sandisk ultra 3.0 did.
bluej511 is offline  
post #19888 of 44228 (permalink) Old 06-16-2017, 06:51 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Missouri, USA
Posts: 2,655
Rep: 266 (Unique: 139)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DSDV View Post

im one of the ppl which are afraid to break my hardware if i set the odt too high after i saw the video.

What happens if i set it too high for a 24/7 build ?

I understand volage and multiplier for my cpu for the basic overclockig but tha tons of options this asus mainboard scare me a little o.0

Hello

ODT set excessively high or low will result in increasing instability or a no-boot situation. Noting more. As ODT values are moved further from the optimal setting the current for the associated rail will also increase accordingly instead of remaining at zero. However this is a very small change in current and the system will fail to operate long before any appreciable current materializes.
Praz is offline  
post #19889 of 44228 (permalink) Old 06-16-2017, 06:56 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Decoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 343
Rep: 8 (Unique: 8)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricey20 View Post

I'm getting some CPU thread errors while running memtest86 at stock CPU settings. Is there something I can do to stabilize it?

In my limited experience, having soc voltage to "auto" will fix this, if you previously used a negative offset for soc voltage. Or, you will have to reduce the offset value until you no longer see any errors.
Decoman is offline  
post #19890 of 44228 (permalink) Old 06-16-2017, 06:57 AM
AMD Overclocker
 
DSDV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 64
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Praz View Post

Hello

ODT set excessively high or low will result in increasing instability or a no-boot situation. Noting more. As ODT values are moved further from the optimal setting the current for the associated rail will also increase accordingly instead of remaining at zero. However this is a very small change in current and the system will fail to operate long before any appreciable current materializes.

so its a "safe to play with" option

thanks smile.gif thats really helpfull

with kind regards
sorry for my bad english :/
DSDV is offline  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (0 members and 4 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off