ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 1990 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #19891 of 44217 (permalink) Old 06-16-2017, 07:02 AM
Meddling user
 
gupsterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Lurking over a keyboard
Posts: 7,329
Rep: 782 (Unique: 359)
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post

Ill take a look at some of that stuff when I get time. Drive strength tuning can pay dividends, but how much depends on how good the training is to start with. If the training routines are good and consistent, then there's not going to be much in it. If not, tuning can help increase frequency margins and or lower voltage requirements.

Thank you smile.gif , I'd appreciate it as will others thumb.gif .
gupsterg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19892 of 44217 (permalink) Old 06-16-2017, 07:37 AM
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Gedling Nottingham
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordzed83 View Post

I Will try this after work and see if works THANKS smile.gif



I did it and it works thumb.gif
MuddyPaws is offline  
post #19893 of 44217 (permalink) Old 06-16-2017, 07:40 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Pilotasso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 187
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Ok so I made the upgrade from 9943 to 1401. The temperature readings seem out of whack, with Sense Mi Skew off they seem too high. when on, they seem too low. So basically Im blind to thermals now.
There was a performance hit (AIDA 64 & CINEBENCH) for the same settings. They are 3850Mhz for the CPU and 3200 for 4X8Mb RAM (see kits P/N below).

The only improvement I saw was that I tested 3466 with CL 16 successfully instead of CL 20. However performance was seemingly the same or worse than with 3200 CL16 (CL 14 works but gives me cold boot issues).


Case: Corsair 400C
PSU: SEASONIC 760W Platinum
CPU: AMD RYZEN 1700X
MOBO: ASUS CROSSHAIR HERO VI AM4
Cooler: NXZT Kraken X62 280mm AIO
RAM: 32 GB ,2 kits of 2X8 P/N F4-4266C19D-16GTZR
Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 1TB M.2+6GB WD 6Gb red
GFX: GTX 1080Ti MSI Gaming X

BIOS settings (for RAM 3200 Mhz)

Vcore=1.39
LLC=3
VSOC=1.15v
CLDO_VDDP=975
DRAM VOLTAGE=1.4V
DRAM VBOOT=1.45V
Geardown=ENABLED
Command rate=1T
ProcODT=53.3 ohm

PC specs:
CPU: AMD RYZEN 3900X (@ 1.35V)
RAM: 32 GB 4266Mhz (two 2x8 kits) of trident Z RGB @3600Mhz CL 14 CR=1T
MOBO: ASUS CROSSHAIR HERO VI AM4
GFX: GTX 1080Ti MSI Gaming X
Cooler: NXZT Kraken X62 280mm AIO
Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 1TB M.2+6GB WD 6Gb red
Pilotasso is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19894 of 44217 (permalink) Old 06-16-2017, 07:50 AM
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Gedling Nottingham
Posts: 429
here's mine



MuddyPaws is offline  
post #19895 of 44217 (permalink) Old 06-16-2017, 07:56 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 225
Rep: 22 (Unique: 10)
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordzed83 View Post

I Will try this after work and see if works THANKS smile.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by XEKong View Post

I think I found the answer to the freezing problems. It has to do with AHCI link power management. It's hidden by default. You will need to open the registry editor and perform the following.

HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Power\PowerSettings\0012ee47-9041-4b5d-9b77-535fba8b1442\0b2d69d7-a2a1-449c-9680-f91c70521c60

Change attributes from 1 to 2

HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Power\PowerSettings\0012ee47-9041-4b5d-9b77-535fba8b1442\dab60367-53fe-4fbc-825e-521d069d2456

And again change Attributes from 1 to 2.

Now go to Control Panel -> System and Security -> Power Options click on "Change Plan Settings" and then click on "Change advanced Power settings".

Now under "Hard disk" you should have AHCI Link Power Management - HIPM/DIPM and AHCI Link Power Management - Adaptive options.


Change "AHCI Link power management" To active, which means there is no power management for AHCI and finally change Adaptive to 0 milliseconds (Although if you enabled "active" this option has no effect).

Finally under "PCI Express" Change "Link State Power management" to OFF.

This solved my freezing problems.

Did above, both settings were already set, no need to change: AHCI line was set to active, adaptive = 0, PCI Link State = OFF

I only have very brief pauses, usually less than a second or two. Currently running memory 3466 and Aida Stress Testing.
noko59 is offline  
post #19896 of 44217 (permalink) Old 06-16-2017, 07:58 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
cookiedent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 22
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
is there any Solution to bring the CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 with Hynix and Micron Chips over 2400 MHz with BIOS 1401?
All Settings for Samsung doesnt work.
cookiedent is offline  
post #19897 of 44217 (permalink) Old 06-16-2017, 08:07 AM
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Gedling Nottingham
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by cookiedent View Post

is there any Solution to bring the CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 with Hynix and Micron Chips over 2400 MHz with BIOS 1401?
All Settings for Samsung doesnt work.

I'm running corsair 2666 @ 2933 also hynix
MuddyPaws is offline  
post #19898 of 44217 (permalink) Old 06-16-2017, 08:09 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Sufferage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Austria
Posts: 38
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordzed83 View Post

Ryzen cant do 13 15 17 19 on CL other timings are fine. So or your ram can do 3600cl14 or cl16

Actually, i'm running [email protected] with bios 9943, 2x8 samsung b-die, works fine on my end...

Apex Predator
(13 items)
CPU
Ryzen 1700X
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
Sapphire Radeon RX Vega 64
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ F4-3600C16D-16GTZ
Power Supply
Corsair Rm1000i
Cooling
Arctic Liquid Freezer 360
Cooling
Alphacool Eiswolf 240 GPX Pro ATI RX Vega
Case
Corsair Graphite Series 780T
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
AOC C3583FQ
Keyboard
Microsoft Sidewinder
Mouse
Logitech G400s
Audio
Creative X-Fi Titanium
CPU
Phenom II X6 1090T
Motherboard
Asus M4A89GTD Pro/USB3.0
GPU
MSI R9 290 Gaming 4G
RAM
Corsair XMS DDR3
Power Supply
Corsair TX650
Case
MS-Tech Crow²
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
AOC C3583FQ
Audio
Soundblaster X-fi Titanium
▲ hide details ▲
Sufferage is offline  
post #19899 of 44217 (permalink) Old 06-16-2017, 08:40 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
lordzed83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 1,626
Rep: 41 (Unique: 31)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sufferage View Post

Actually, i'm running [email protected] with bios 9943, 2x8 samsung b-die, works fine on my end...

Bet You got Geardown enabled ??
Quote:
Originally Posted by cookiedent View Post

is there any Solution to bring the CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 with Hynix and Micron Chips over 2400 MHz with BIOS 1401?
All Settings for Samsung doesnt work.

Solution is Sell the kit buy one on samsung. Thats what I did and it was best solution by looks of it. Zero problems with rams while people on Hynix and Micron are still trying to get Rated speed running.
lordzed83 is offline  
post #19900 of 44217 (permalink) Old 06-16-2017, 08:42 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
dwd504's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 14
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by cookiedent View Post

is there any Solution to bring the CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 with Hynix and Micron Chips over 2400 MHz with BIOS 1401?
All Settings for Samsung doesnt work.

I have the same chips. On 1401 I boot to 3200 easy and it trains instantly.

Try 16,17, 17, 17 38 timings and manually set procodt to 53.3 ohm. I have my dram voltage at 1.45 and SOC voltage at 1.18 (maybe 1.15?)
In tweakers paradise I have dram boot voltage also set to 1.45.

Under advanced, amd cbs, umc, common options I have boot attempts set to 4 (but this only took 1)

I don't even have to adjust cld0vddp to move a memory hole on these bios. Trained first try.

To ensure you arent experiencing voltage/temp issues related to low fan boot speeds (specifically if you use an AIO cooler) make sure to disable your cpu overclock before trying to train.

I have successfully gotten stable at 3333 Mhz at 17, 18, 18, 18, 39 timings but ultimately didn't keep it there because it effected my max overclock on the cpu for what I assume are voltage/thermal strain issues related to either vrm or imc.
dwd504 is offline  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 4 (1 members and 3 guests)
MBKsalt
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off