ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 40016 (permalink) Old 03-03-2017, 04:25 PM
New to Overclock.net
RyzenChrist Level 1
 
RyzenChrist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Depths Of Hell
Posts: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominican View Post

anyone running DDR4 3000 To 3600 ?????

Looking to get F4-3000C16D-16GTZR

I am

http://valid.x86.fr/qmfrkd

Amd Ryzen R7 1700
Asus X370 Crosshair VI Hero
16GB Corsair Vengence LPX 3600
Amd Pro Duo X 2
Corsair AX1500I

Hwbot : RyzenChrist
RyzenChrist is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13 of 40016 (permalink) Old 03-03-2017, 07:01 PM
New to Overclock.net
ManofGod1000 Level 1
 
ManofGod1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 632
I have the Prime X370 Pro and I have to admit, this FID/DID * 200 has me completely lost. I want to clock my 1700x to 4Ghz but I have not a clue how to do it with this fid and did stuff. :/ Any help would be appreciated. All other boards, Intel and AMD that I have overclocked on were all simple multiplier values.
ManofGod1000 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 40016 (permalink) Old 03-03-2017, 07:09 PM
New to Overclock.net
RyzenChrist Level 1
 
RyzenChrist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Depths Of Hell
Posts: 212
Well hello bios 5803. I've been running 5704

Amd Ryzen R7 1700
Asus X370 Crosshair VI Hero
16GB Corsair Vengence LPX 3600
Amd Pro Duo X 2
Corsair AX1500I

Hwbot : RyzenChrist
RyzenChrist is offline  
post #15 of 40016 (permalink) Old 03-03-2017, 08:22 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
elmor is on a distinguished road elmor is on a distinguished road elmor is on a distinguished road
 
elmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by ManofGod1000 View Post

I have the Prime X370 Pro and I have to admit, this FID/DID * 200 has me completely lost. I want to clock my 1700x to 4Ghz but I have not a clue how to do it with this fid and did stuff. :/ Any help would be appreciated. All other boards, Intel and AMD that I have overclocked on were all simple multiplier values.

Where are you seeing this? Can you show a picture or screenshot? BIOS or software should give you multipliers in 0.25 steps.
elmor is offline  
post #16 of 40016 (permalink) Old 03-03-2017, 08:45 PM
New to Overclock.net
ManofGod1000 Level 1
 
ManofGod1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 632
Quote:
Originally Posted by elmor View Post

Where are you seeing this? Can you show a picture or screenshot? BIOS or software should give you multipliers in 0.25 steps.

It shows if I set the custom core ratio to manual. However, I figured out if I leave that alone, I can set the ratio to what I need, thanks. FX was *200 and I have to get used to the fact that Ryzen uses *100 like Intel does.
ManofGod1000 is offline  
post #17 of 40016 (permalink) Old 03-03-2017, 10:06 PM
New to Overclock.net
muffins Level 1
 
muffins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: CA, US
Posts: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sgt Bilko View Post

Thanks for this Elmor, will be using it when I get mine up and running.

I had an issue with my board, started off displaying an "8" or "B" Q-Code, I tried for several hours to get it to even post, manual never had any data of what those Q-Codes are or the 30 and 46 codes I would occasionally get.

Any ideas?
it might be the ram. i have corsairs vengeance led 3000mhz kit myself and i will get the 8 code and occasionally other random codes like 51 if i set my ram to anything other than 2133mhz. in ai tweaker i had set to docp standard which tried to set the xmp profile of 3000mhz. i tried pressure and resetting while applying pressure to the ihs too but the only thing that, at least so far, seems to work is the ram speeds. i'm also using a corsair h110i.

i saw another person on the asus offical crosshair vi forums claim a similar issue, code 8 but he said "pressure" caused it to boot so idk.

also have you tried updating the bios using the flashback thing?
muffins is offline  
post #18 of 40016 (permalink) Old 03-03-2017, 10:11 PM
either freeze or burn
mus1mus is on a distinguished road mus1mus is on a distinguished road mus1mus is on a distinguished road mus1mus is on a distinguished road mus1mus is on a distinguished road
 
mus1mus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: ILOILO - Philippines
Posts: 9,528
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackCY View Post

I would not buy any of those RAM. Look for some other better ones. 3000-3200 CL14-16 should be a good sweet spot for DDR4. Avoid Hynix.
EVGA RAM, seeing that first time, wouldn't touch. Corsair has Hynix so no either.

Hynix are not too bad. Can reach 3200 C15 with a little work and 2666 CL12 with some Voltage. Even Micron chips can be tuned for a sweet 2666MHz.


Nice thread @elmor
thumb.gif

D I S C L A I M E R
If you find a posting or message from me offensive, inappropriate, or disruptive, please ignore it.
If you don't know how to ignore a posting, complain to me and I will be only too happy to demonstrate...
mus1mus is offline  
post #19 of 40016 (permalink) Old 03-03-2017, 10:14 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
elmor is on a distinguished road elmor is on a distinguished road elmor is on a distinguished road
 
elmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by muffins View Post

it might be the ram. i have corsairs vengeance led 3000mhz kit myself and i will get the 8 code and occasionally other random codes like 51 if i set my ram to anything other than 2133mhz. in ai tweaker i had set to docp standard which tried to set the xmp profile of 3000mhz. i tried pressure and resetting while applying pressure to the ihs too but the only thing that, at least so far, seems to work is the ram speeds. i'm also using a corsair h110i.

i saw another person on the asus offical crosshair vi forums claim a similar issue, code 8 but he said "pressure" caused it to boot so idk.

also have you tried updating the bios using the flashback thing?

If you don't get any other code than 8 when attempting to power on it's not the memory.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mus1mus View Post

Hynix are not too bad. Can reach 3200 C15 with a little work and 2666 CL12 with some Voltage. Even Micron chips can be tuned for a sweet 2666MHz.


Nice thread @elmor
thumb.gif

Do you mean in general or specifically on AM4 platform? 2666 at low latency should work for Hynix but I wouldn't be so sure about higher frequency at the moment.
elmor is offline  
post #20 of 40016 (permalink) Old 03-03-2017, 10:15 PM
either freeze or burn
mus1mus is on a distinguished road mus1mus is on a distinguished road mus1mus is on a distinguished road mus1mus is on a distinguished road mus1mus is on a distinguished road
 
mus1mus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: ILOILO - Philippines
Posts: 9,528
Quote:
Originally Posted by elmor View Post


Do you mean in general or specifically on AM4 platform? 2666 at low latency should work for Hynix but I wouldn't be so sure about higher frequency at the moment.

In general (X99 on the early days) for now. But yeah, 2666 is a good place to for them. thumb.gif

D I S C L A I M E R
If you find a posting or message from me offensive, inappropriate, or disruptive, please ignore it.
If you don't know how to ignore a posting, complain to me and I will be only too happy to demonstrate...
mus1mus is offline  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off