ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread - Page 2060 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ROG Crosshair VI overclocking thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #20591 of 40608 (permalink) Old 06-21-2017, 08:46 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
hotstocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 313
Rep: 12 (Unique: 10)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gadfly View Post

Ahhh... damn Gup! I too have had problems with Ambient temp increasing during the hot part of the day and pushing memory temps up. In my case I have a font mounted radiator and a top mounted radiator. I went with a shorter reservoir tube so that it was no longer blocking airflow to the the memory, and turned the front fans up to a higher speed, and that helped a lot.

Since the fan profiles are based on CPU temp, when Memory is heavily loaded, and the CPU is not the fans were ramping down to idle and the memory was getting warmer during the day. So I manually set the pull fans on the back of the radiator to a higher minimum on the fan curve, that knocked 10'C off the memory.

My Case:

What is a good memory temp? HWinfo is reporting high 40's to mid 50's C depending on load and ambient. Is that good for ddr4 at 1.41v?
hotstocks is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #20592 of 40608 (permalink) Old 06-21-2017, 09:04 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
kaseki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 721
Rep: 75 (Unique: 37)
Quote:
Originally Posted by EightCores View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by tarot View Post

thanks for that makes me happy i shelled out for the flare x(when it gets here) not one team extreme module on there which sucks for this ram that's going into a 1600x build but hey c14 2933 is not horrible at all

FROM THE G.SKILL SITE
https://www.gskill.com/en/press/view/g-skill-announces-flare-x-series-and-fortis-series-ddr4-memory-for-amd-ryzen

"AMD-Tuned DDR4-3200MHz CL14 64GB(4x16GB)

Not needing to sacrifice frequency for capacity, G.SKILL’s R&D team achieved an impressive overclock on a 64GB (4x16GB) kit to frequencies of DDR4-3200MHz at ultra-low timings of CL14-14-14-34. See below for a validation screenshot for the kit on the ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Hero motherboard and the AMD Ryzen™ 7 1700 processor:"

Is G.Skill saying that F4-3200C14Q-64GTZSW will run when AMD releases AGESA 1.0.0.6 in an official version for the C6H.... So when bios 1401 becomes an official release it will support the 64GB of F4-3200C14Q-64GTZSW memory with a D.O.C.P. setting or give us the settings to have it work?

I hand it working for a few hours with D.O.C.P. Standard for a few hours today the only setting I added were ProcODT_SM (68.8), Cmd2T (2T) with Gear Down (Disabled). It worked I booted it warm and cold and it kept working with intermittent Prime95 tests. The all of a sudden after rebooting for a fan modification it would fail immediately when Prime95 was run. I hand the setting saved exactly as they were when it was working but they no longer worked.

I guess I have two questions here:
1) Will F4-3200C14Q-64GTZSW work with no problems after the official release of AGESA 1.0.0.6 on the C6H?
2) Any Idea whey the 3200Mhz run failed (all the setting were auto except for the ones sited above)?

This was a March announcement, and we know the future for the following two months. I don't believe a 4 x 16 Flair X quad has been released. I'm not good at predicting the actual future.

Note that "TZ" in G.Skill nomenclature refers to TridentZ. Flare X has a different nomenclature (FX).

It is possible that 1.0.0.6 is not yet ready for prime time (as many here suspect), and this may lead to a yet higher numbered release candidate, or perhaps another AGESA version altogether. In either case, the result embedded in a BIOS would seem from what I've seen to end up designated something other than 1401.

Rig running Ryzen [email protected] GHz, [email protected] MT/s, Linux Mint 18.1 on Asus C6H
kaseki is offline  
post #20593 of 40608 (permalink) Old 06-21-2017, 09:50 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
FloppyDrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 173
Rep: 8 (Unique: 7)
Quote:
Originally Posted by EightCores View Post

Is G.Skill saying that F4-3200C14Q-64GTZSW will run when AMD releases AGESA 1.0.0.6 in an official version for the C6H.... So when bios 1401 becomes an official release it will support the 64GB of F4-3200C14Q-64GTZSW memory with a D.O.C.P. setting or give us the settings to have it work?
That press release is from March and the example they are showing has a bus speed of 120Mhz. They promised it would be at retail within weeks. Not sure if that Flare-X RAM will ever be released, since GSkill seems to have lost interest in Ryzen.
FloppyDrive is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #20594 of 40608 (permalink) Old 06-21-2017, 11:53 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Gadfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 454
Rep: 41 (Unique: 27)
Quote:
Originally Posted by hotstocks View Post

What is a good memory temp? HWinfo is reporting high 40's to mid 50's C depending on load and ambient. Is that good for ddr4 at 1.41v?

After 3 hours of HCI memtest I am at 38'C, After 2 hours of Aida stress test on system memory I am at 37'C, After 3 hours of gaming i am at 32'C

Before the airflow change I was was in the mid 50's under full load.
Gadfly is offline  
post #20595 of 40608 (permalink) Old 06-21-2017, 11:54 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
The Stilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,266
Rep: 749 (Unique: 286)
Quote:
Originally Posted by EightCores View Post



FROM THE G.SKILL SITE
https://www.gskill.com/en/press/view/g-skill-announces-flare-x-series-and-fortis-series-ddr4-memory-for-amd-ryzen

"AMD-Tuned DDR4-3200MHz CL14 64GB(4x16GB)

Not needing to sacrifice frequency for capacity, G.SKILL’s R&D team achieved an impressive overclock on a 64GB (4x16GB) kit to frequencies of DDR4-3200MHz at ultra-low timings of CL14-14-14-34. See below for a validation screenshot for the kit on the ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Hero motherboard and the AMD Ryzen™ 7 1700 processor:"

Is G.Skill saying that F4-3200C14Q-64GTZSW will run when AMD releases AGESA 1.0.0.6 in an official version for the C6H.... So when bios 1401 becomes an official release it will support the 64GB of F4-3200C14Q-64GTZSW memory with a D.O.C.P. setting or give us the settings to have it work?

I hand it working for a few hours with D.O.C.P. Standard for a few hours today the only setting I added were ProcODT_SM (68.8), Cmd2T (2T) with Gear Down (Disabled). It worked I booted it warm and cold and it kept working with intermittent Prime95 tests. The all of a sudden after rebooting for a fan modification it would fail immediately when Prime95 was run. I hand the setting saved exactly as they were when it was working but they no longer worked.

I guess I have two questions here:
1) Will F4-3200C14Q-64GTZSW work with no problems after the official release of AGESA 1.0.0.6 on the C6H?
2) Any Idea whey the 3200Mhz run failed (all the setting were auto except for the ones sited above)?

I can no longer stabilize my 2x16GB B-die kit at 3200MHz either on 1401 bios thumb.gif
9943 and earlier (with older PMU) work fine.
The Stilt is offline  
post #20596 of 40608 (permalink) Old 06-21-2017, 11:59 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Gadfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 454
Rep: 41 (Unique: 27)
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post

I can no longer stabilize my 2x16GB B-die kit at 3200MHz either on 1401 bios thumb.gif
9943 and earlier (with older PMU) work fine.

You are also running the G.Skill 3600 C15 dimms right?

Did you ever get them stable @3600? What timing are you using for 3600?
Gadfly is offline  
post #20597 of 40608 (permalink) Old 06-22-2017, 12:09 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
The Stilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,266
Rep: 749 (Unique: 286)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gadfly View Post

You are also running the G.Skill 3600 C15 dimms right?

Did you ever get them stable @3600? What timing are you using for 3600?

Sure, on 1401 I can stabilize them at 3600MHz but the performance is worse than at < 3066MHz.
The new PMU used in 1401 bios is no longer able to handle tight tRDRDSC, tRDRDSCL / tWRWRSCL or 1T command mode with GearDownMode disabled at high speeds (>= 3466MHz). With older PMUs it handled them just fine, however I wasn't able to stabilize 3600MHz in dual channel due to signaling issues (CAD options weren't available).

For example at 3466MHz setting just tRDRDSC from 1 to 5 CLKs will result in lower performance in HITMAN than 2933MHz with tRDRDSC at 1 CLK.

This is by no means ASUS's fault, it's just the characteristics of the new PMU firmware.
The Stilt is offline  
post #20598 of 40608 (permalink) Old 06-22-2017, 12:18 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
kazama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 69
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
This is why my timmings and oc become unstable with 1401, now on 9943 all working fine again, only the mem training fail some times (happen on 1401 too)
kazama is offline  
post #20599 of 40608 (permalink) Old 06-22-2017, 12:24 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Yviena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 163
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Is it not possible for Asus to use older PMU firmware in newer bioses or is this a AMD AGESA thing?
Yviena is offline  
post #20600 of 40608 (permalink) Old 06-22-2017, 12:28 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
The Stilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2,266
Rep: 749 (Unique: 286)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yviena View Post

Is it not possible for Asus to use older PMU firmware in newer bioses or is this a AMD AGESA thing?

That depends.
If the older PMU firmware is compatible with the AGESA "core" version used, then it is possible to create a hybrid version.
However since AGESA has received new features / adjustments in every new release version, it might well be that the older firmware is no longer compatible (at least fully) with the new "core". Ideally the changes will be made to the PMU firmware itself (if deemed necessary).
The Stilt is offline  
Reply

Tags
Bios5 , profiles to usb

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (1 members and 2 guests)
sotheray
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off